*bump update!!!!*

I hope everyone had a fantastic Thanksgiving/Black Friday (OMG. People are CRAZY)/Regular weekend (for my lovely non-Americans).

It’s like the five days where Tim wasn’t at work flew by faster than one when he is there. I really enjoyed having him around for more than a few minutes in the morning and a few hours in the evening. I kind of forgot what that was like…

I wanted to make this Thanksgiving special…to make it memorable…to make it ours. I don’t know why I struggle so much with the “last” of everything. Thanksgiving was the first last holiday Tim and I will have together before the sprout comes into our lives as a real, live, baby (versus one who kicks me spontaneously in random places all along my torso). I can’t believe Christmas is right around the corner…because I thought about all of these holidays as SO FAR AWAY.

Yet here they are.

Flying before my eyes.

It scares me.

Baby sprout will be here sooner than I realize. I just know it.

Funny, I passed a milestone on Thanksgiving day. I hit the third trimester.

The very last one.

The one where, on my pregnancy app on my phone, I can see that I only have 12 weeks left instead of only being 12 weeks pregnant – and I vividly remember being 12 weeks pregnant and dying to tell everyone “the news.”

Seriously, where does the time go?

I can tell you where the belly goes, though.

OUT.

Holy moly, Batman.

I feel like I’m growing by the minute. Everything feels tight and full and getting up from a lying down or a seated position requires five minutes and a fork lift.

28 weeks, 3 days

Compare this most recent picture to this one at 20 weeks!

OMG!

My belly now dwarfs my boobs (sad face)

Also: my butt is increasing exponentially in size.

Triple sad face.

20 weeks

At 28…almost 29 weeks, pregnancy is beginning to become uncomfortable. My back hurts a lot, especially if I stay in one position for too long. I’m hoping my continuation of light weights will help…Also? My belly button looks like an alien ready to pop out of a secret hiding place. The skin around it is all stretched out and firm and it is only a matter of time before the whole thing comes out to say hello.

Did I mention I have the world’s deepest belly button? So this non-deepness is really saying something about what is going on inside…

And for you foodies, here’s a little bit on our Thanksgiving smorgasbord:

I felt bad because I A: meant to buy sparkling apple juice or some other kind of beverage to have with our meal, but my pregnant brain completely forgot and I was lamenting before we ate all, “I meant to…but I forgot! We can’t just have water!!!”

So, Tim made…lemonade.

(the irony here is palpable)

And did we eat?

Oh, yes, we ate.

This plate was the only plate of food I had. There was no room for going back for anything else…except pie.

Because who doesn’t love pie?

And these two pies? Homemade crusts and freaking fantastic.

The whole cooking of the meal was really….non-eventful. We spent a few hours on Wednesday, baking the pies and prepping things for Thursday and let me – the worst cook ever – tell you: THAT WORKS. Instead of flying around the kitchen like chickens with our heads cut off, we leisurely prepared the food and everything came out on time and I even had time to put on a dress.

Success.

Guess what else we did over the weekend?

That fun comes at you tomorrow.

23 Responses to “*bump update!!!!*”


  1. 1 Cindy November 28, 2011 at 11:42 am

    I hear you about the “lasts” thing- I’m way sentimental like that myself. From experience, you probably won’t mind so much once the sprout arrives. You’ll have your moments of nostalgia, but you’ll love the kiddo so much it won’t matter, At least that was my experience.

    Congrats on your belly surpassing your boobs! No worries- if you’re breast feeding your boobs will likely handily dwarf your stomach soon after the birth. 🙂 Do you need/want maternity clothes? I have 2 big boxes I won’t be needing any more. If you’ll be in town for Christmas I could leave them with Tim’s mom.

    • 2 Jessica November 28, 2011 at 11:46 am

      I’m sure we’ll feel that way post sprout…it’s just hard to imagine right now…

      I have zero maternity clothes…but we won’t be in Rochester over Christmas. Sad!! Thank you so much for the offer though – that is really sweet of you!

  2. 3 JessSutera November 28, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    You seriously look AWESOME, my friend. Just now, seeing you at 28 weeks and I literally said to myself “finally, she looks pregnant!” And a very healthy pregnant I have to say! I’m also envious of your Thanksgiving Day plate, I would’ve killed for some roasted brussels!! Yummy!

  3. 5 Maureen November 28, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Are you allowed to drink soda when you are pregnant? I mean, I would be sad not being able to have a beer but I could live with it if I could just have a Coke. The Thanksgiving dinner looks good!

  4. 7 jobo November 28, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    aw! you look fantastic! don’t doubt that for a second. And it sounds like a perfect 5 days with Tim! Yay!

  5. 9 ruggedgrace November 28, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Two things I love:

    #1. You got to eat your heart out on Thanksgiving without giving it a second thought. I mean, feasting for two > ANYTHING EVER.

    #2. Your hips are all “hey guess what! We’re going to remain tiny and you’ll be back to your normal size before you leave the hospital!”…I actually hate you a little.

    • 10 Jessica November 29, 2011 at 11:34 am

      1: I didn’t even do it justice…the eating my heart out. Pregnancy fail

      2: I wish I felt like that regarding my hips! It seems like ALL the “other” weight is going to my hips and thighs…*sigh*

  6. 11 lifestartsnow November 28, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    girl, this is a true bump! w00t!! and i love the pictures of the nursery. the colors are great and you put so much effort in!!

  7. 13 hellesbelles86 November 28, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    I am really excited for tomorrow to see the nursery! I have a craft room that is going to become our nursery and I’m scouring the web for inspiration so I really REALLY can’t wait to see yours. Also? You look wonderful and perfectly tiny for 28 and a half weeks 🙂

    • 14 Jessica November 29, 2011 at 11:35 am

      The pictures…I’ll totally be posting them as soon as I finish replying to everyone! 🙂

      Let me know what you think!!

      And thank you….you’re too nice 🙂

  8. 15 Shannon November 28, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    You look fab! Hardscape and I had a talk last night about you….I’ll admit it. I know you struggle with the last of EVERY moment and as much as we are ohmygodcan’twaitwantbaby you are making me appreciate our “us” only time. We have it so easy with a 9 year old. I do remember the days of baby and haven’t forgotten it all but it has been a long time. We may not get the years that you adn Tim have under your belts but I’m stopping and thinking there isn’t much time for us either. Thank you for that.

  9. 17 Angelia Sims November 28, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I can’t believe it! Finally! You look about 5 months pregnant not 28 weeks. LOL.

    The time is flying by…can’t wait to see nursery pics!

  10. 21 nysoonergirlnergirl November 29, 2011 at 8:39 am

    I hope I look as amazing as you do if I’m ever lucky enough to have a kid. Seriously, you’re rocking that bump!

  11. 23 Txtingmrdarcy December 1, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Confession: I want your bump. And your gorgeous hair. You look absolutely wonderful. 🙂 I know it might not FEEL terribly sexy, but there is definitely a beauty in being curvaceous and womanly and motherly. You only get to go through it a few times, relish that. And eat LOTS OF PIE.

    *hugs*


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


