thankfulness and gluttony

You *have* to do a Thankful post on Thanksgiving.

It’s only natural.

(if you’re American, I mean)

So, today we’re going to be thankful and – of course – a glutton.

(and for the gluttons, our Thanksgiving menu is at the bottom)

***allow me to preface this by saying there are a billion things I’m thankful for…like my family and my health and all that snazzy jazz…I’m just focusing on the most obvious today***

This Thanksgiving, Tim and I are going at it solo. As in: it’s just the two of us. I have been looking forward to the holidays like a kid misses Christmas (totally appropriate…albeit cornball). I have no idea why the “last” of each passing holiday is holding so much sentiment for me. I mean, duh. After this year we’ll have a baby and it will be the first of everything. I guess I’m just feeling nostalgic about ending a chapter in Tim and my life.

It has just been the two of us for seven years. This chapter has been absolutely amazing and I am a million times thankful for everything we have gotten to experience together. The seven years where it has been “just us” has given each of us time to get to know the other person – for better and for worse – and to grow together as a couple. That is paramount for me. I wouldn’t want to raise a child with someone I barely knew…who still had skeletons in their closet.

Tim and I have swept the corners clean and I know – more so now than at any other point in our relationship thus far – that we are ready to start this new chapter. The one where we’ll be parents. Where our names will change to mom and dad. Where life has a completely different meaning because a tiny life will be growing right before our eyes, discovering the world, experiencing things for the very first time.

I am so, so, so, SO happy that the person who I will share all of these “firsts” with will be Tim. I couldn’t imagine someone who will be a better father. I wish I could find the words to explain his excitement.

He’s bursting at the seams…he cannot wait to meet the sprout…even though he knows it’s going to be a major adjustment and it’ll probably cause us to be snippy and irritated due to the lack of sleep and general ignorance when it comes to an infant.

Still, February cannot come fast enough and, yet, he’s trying to contain himself (somewhat) so that I am able to enjoy this part. The pregnancy part.

I’m grateful for him giving that to me. The one time in my life I’ll just be pregnant without any other little ones running around. Life is on the precipice of going into an absolute tailspin and it’s like I want to savor the holidays this year to just breathe. To take it all in before our lives are turned upside-down. Honestly, even though we’re far, far away from family, I really couldn’t have asked for a better place to have this last bit of solitude with just Tim and me. We love Colorado. Colorado agrees with us and allows us to take a deep breath and just…..exhale.

Lastly, I am, of course, thankful for the sprout. Even though his “creation” wasn’t exactly planned, I’m happy it happened. ‘t feels like I know him already…even though I haven’t met him yet. The feeling really is something that one cannot explain or understand.

It just is.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!! I hope you all have a wonderful day (even if you aren’t celebrating)!

PS: for the curious foodies out there, here is our last time twosome T-Day menu:

Cheese and crackers to eat…whenever (because…YUM)

Deviled Eggs

Turkey breast (as in we only bought a breast)

Candied Yams

Italian Peas

Stuffing x 2 (Tim’s Nana’s and a recipe from a family friend that I LOVE – love her stuffing and her. I’ve never made it before…can’t wait!)

Roasted Brussels sprouts

Cranberry sauce (we go jellied, y’all)

Pumpkin and Pecan pie (with homemade crust – it’s the only way to go)

The BEST, though, is the day after. I mean, I might look forward to the day after Thanksgiving sandwiches more than the actual meal. Tim and his family introduced me to this and OMG. DROOLING.

How to you make this awesome sandwich?

Take a fresh croissant with cold (it all must be cold!) leftover stuffing, turkey and cranberry sauce and layer it all together between the flaky pastry.

It is to die for.

If you’re all, “Ewww….naasstay….” I dare you to try it and tell me you hated it.

I have that much faith in this post-turkey-day-sandwich.

7 Responses to “thankfulness and gluttony”


  1. 1 becomingcliche November 24, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Life is definitely different after the baby arrives. Good, but different. If you’re anything like me, this time next year you will be wondering what you ever did before the little guy came into your lives. Best wishes!

  2. 2 Angelia Sims November 24, 2011 at 11:53 am

    It’s really cool to be part of the excitement of you two becoming parents. It reminds me of my pregnancy – long, long ago. But thrilling just the same.

    Enjoy your yummy meal and fabulous time together.

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

  3. 3 Maureen November 24, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    I LOVE those sandwiches. When I lived in Vegas, a sandwich shop would actually make them for people to order. They also added cole slaw and thousand island-type dressing. OMG sooo goood. Happy last Thanksgiving sans baby.

  4. 4 Papa Guy November 25, 2011 at 1:35 am

    OK missy, what the hell are Italian Peas? We don’t have those down here in backwardass Texas…and I am sooo full.

  5. 5 Daniela November 25, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Holy Sh…, what would I give for some Pumpkin Pie!! I wouldn’t even mind if it was bought. Would you please send me some over here? πŸ™‚

  6. 6 jobo November 25, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    aww, happy thanksigiving to you two! Sounds like a fantastic dinner-for-two thanksgiving and a great menu, might I add. XOXO!

  7. 7 Sam November 27, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    With two under fives in the house now, I’ll be honest and admit there are times when I look back to when it was just the two of us with warm fuzzy nostalgia, or feel a bit of envy for the relative freedom my childless or single peers enjoy. I was acutely aware leading up to the arrival of our first that it would never be “just us” again.
    That said, I look at my daughters and think I wouldn’t have them if it was still “just us”, and recall that some of those peers above actually envy what I have, and it rationalises everything quite nicely. It isn’t a better or worse life, it’s just a different phase πŸ™‚


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


