double digits

And I’m not talking about my weight.

Besides, I surpassed THAT lovely double digit reality weeks ago.

(I know. I’m getting over it…slowly…actually, I’m 100% fine with whatever I happen to weigh right now, because I have zero idea what that is, thanks to Tim…however, I’ll let you know how I’m feeling, RE: WEIGHT GAIN after my appointment next week)

The double digits I’m talking about?

I have less than 100 days before the sprout graces us with his presence, a la out of the womb.

Ninety seven days, to be exact.

That’s roughly fourteen weeks. One week away from the third trimester.

HOLY FREAKING OUT.

The good news?

At least the sprout won’t be sleeping in a drawer, since we managed to take on some form of responsibility and purchase the pack n’ play.

The not so good news?

That’s pretty much all we’ve got.

Poopy diaper?

Screwed.

Clothing?

Screwed.

Stroller? Carseat? Bathing equpiment?

Fail. Fail. Fail.

The sprout doesn’t even have a nursery, yet. He has a room…with nothing in it. I know, babies don’t require much of anything in the beginning…but as for me, personally?

I’d like a nursery. And a glider-rocker chair.

And diapers.

(for the sprout…though I suppose wouldn’t count out post partum Depends…)

We’re taking our first childbirth education class tomorrow. It’s a six hour crash course on how to survive everything that comes with the process, including labor.

AND WE HAVE TO WATCH VIDEOS.

I’ve already warned Tim that if there was ever a moment during pregnancy where I would have a hysterical, sobbing, mental break down all, “Why can’t there be a stork? Wouldn’t that just be easier on everyone? I’m pretty positive the sprout can live in my stomach forever…” it would be during these videos.

I’d rather live in the world of ignorant bliss when it comes to childbirth. Yes, it’s gonna happen and yes, I have to go through it and yes, it’s probably definitely going to be the most uncomfortable, throw modesty out the window kind of experience of my entire life but…how about I just experience everything firsthand like it’s a big surprise instead of having to “be prepared?”

Being prepared is totally overrated.

(I’m crying on the inside)

So…instead of wallowing in my fear, how about we completely change the subject? Besides, the rest of what I have to say is WAY MORE EXCITING (for you) than me freaking out over childbirth videos…having to watch someone else’s va-jay-jay stretch to unnatural proportions…*shudder*

Remember that day awhile ago where I said I was having an awesome week and had exciting news but couldn’t share it with you just yet?

Well….now I can!

This is my news!

And for those of you who don’t like to clicky on things, from now until they kick me out, you can visit me every Friday at The Edge over at In the Powder Room.

It’s like I have a regular column…that isn’t my blog.

Exciting, right??

YAY!!!

And lots of the writers are British…which cracks me up…mostly I think British slang is hysterical…and their accents?

Divine.

So, if you need to kill some time on Friday, come visit me in my little rented space at In the Powder Room and show me some love!

Now, for those of you still reading…one more thing…(which means don’t stop now when you’re thisclose to the end) I’m (still) totally not trying to be a nudge but…PLEASE VOTE FOR ME!!!!

Even though you’ve all done an awesome job voting…I’m STILL LOSING the Atlanta Track Club sign contest to someone who said something totally not funny about stinky runners.

We can’t let him win.

So, if you have a spare moment, could you go (again…and again…) (I’m such a PITA…I know) and pretty, pretty, pretty please vote for my sign on Atlanta Track Club’s page (Jessica B) – “Your runners high? It’s probably not coming…”? Puuhhllease?

HERE! VOTE HERE! 

Please?…with sugar and sparkles and everything warm and fuzzy on top?

I really, really, really, really, REALLY want to win!!! It’s my competitive nature…I can’t help myself. Plus? I think my sign is WAY BETTER than the stinky runner SMOG one…the one who is currently beating me.

So, come on! HERE! VOTE HERE! Please??

(I’ve resorted to a form of begging, here…this says a lot)

BONUS! This is the LAST DAY I’LL EVER ASK YOU TO VOTE (on my sign)!!!!

DOUBE BONUS! Tell me you voted in the comments and I’ll send you a special shout out thank you on my blog.

(and who doesn’t love a personal shout out?)

19 Responses to “double digits”


  1. 1 Amy - Hamlet's Mistress November 11, 2011 at 8:42 am

    I voted for your sign, but I have to admit… maybe it’s because I’m not a runner? I don’t get it. Can you explain it? It’s like a voted someone into office without knowing what they stand for. 🙂
    And yay for the countdown!!! Good luck with the videos… I can’t even imagine.

    Amy
    Last post – When Heroes Fall

    • 2 Jessica November 11, 2011 at 4:25 pm

      Um…supposedly, after you run to the point of near exhaustion, you can sometimes experience a “second wind” that makes you feel like you just started running/that you could run forever/etc. It’s like you’ve been re-energized and feel freaking awesome.

      It actually happens…but only sometimes. It’s like an elusive sensation you try to find every time you go running.

      Vague, I know…helpful?…

      Thank you!!!

  2. 3 JessSutera November 11, 2011 at 9:37 am

    That is SO awesome!!! GO YOU!! I’m off to read your first column right now 🙂

  3. 5 Angelia Sims November 11, 2011 at 11:48 am

    I voted twice. I’m sneaky like that. And I emailed my co-workers to vote. I really don’t want the gas man to win. I mean, come on!!

    Took pics of a one year old yesterday. I could have sworn she just had him. It goes by sooo fast!! He will be here before you know it.

  4. 7 jobo November 11, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    congrats!!! that is sooooo coool. You writer, you 🙂 I will vote again too 🙂

  5. 9 Brandy November 11, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    I voted…

    BTW, stop and breathe!!!! You have Christmas and I would almost bet there is a baby shower in your future. You will get most everything you will need for sprout! Nothing brings out the spend-a-holics like a baby (grandbaby)!

    Congrats on ITPR!!!

    • 10 Jessica November 11, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      Thank you!

      I’m trying to take it all in…but there is just SO MUCH! It’s worse than planning a wedding!

      And I’m pretty sure there is some kind of virtual baby shower happening in December…yay!

  6. 11 Amanda Perry @ Sistas of Strength November 11, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    CONGRATS! So excited for you. 🙂 Also, I almost fainted during our hospital tour portion of the birthing class. I had to sit down on the floor of the hospital room twice. They were talking about epidurals which I knew I wanted and for some reason it freaked me out. Class act, huh? 🙂

  7. 13 thebakerbee November 11, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    I’ll keep voting. Again and again. All day long. As long as they let me.

  8. 15 julia November 11, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    I voted everyday and that stupid smelly asshole is still winning! Agh!! His sign sucks!

  9. 17 lifestartsnow November 11, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    i just voted again and you were one behind the stinky guy (whose sign i don’t get – aren’t all athletes smelly if they actually work out right?)

    oh i can’t wait for your rendition of the videos they’ll show you in class. do you really think they’ll be THAT explicit? sounds a little counter”productive”, the thought of sucking it all in suddenly seems all the more appealing, lol.

    • 18 Jessica November 11, 2011 at 6:17 pm

      YES! That’s why his sign is ZERO percent funny!! Get all of your German cohorts to vote! That’ll throw ’em off!! 🙂

      I’m…trying not to think about what I have to sit through tomorrow. I have no idea how graphic it’ll be…..

  10. 19 KB November 12, 2011 at 5:25 am

    Okay, don’t let those movies freak you out, cause yeah, they are kinda ick 😉 I’m not gonna lie, childbirth CAN be rough, but sticking with my don’t freak out the pregnant chick motto, I *won’t* tell you about Colton’s arrival day. Suffice to say, he gave me just as much trouble coming out as he did while he was baking. End result = WIN, though so woulda gone through worse (my logical brain is saying wtf at the moment…haha). At any rate, my guess (and wish) for you is that since you’ve been blessed with the easy breezy kind of pregnancy so far (I think I read you say that somewhere) that you will be one of those moms that get to say later on “oh, he just popped right out…hardly felt a thing! ” I’m guessing with the excellent physical fitness you possess, this is a rather likely outcome. So if you happen to read this before you watch those videos today, go ahead and tell yourself you don’t have worry or even fully pay attention, lol, because little man is going to behave on his way out just as well as he has this whole time he’s been hanging in the womb cave!

    KB


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,431 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


