how do you *not* know?

I really have a difficult time with that show I Didn’t Know I Was Pregnant.

Really, people?

It should be retitled “I Didn’t Know I’m In Denial I Was Pregnant”

Apparently, it is just beyond my ability to conceive…

HOW CAN YOU NOT KNOW?!?!?!??!!!!!

Maybe you’re thinking the baby kicking is just gas…gas so volatile and explosive that you can see your abdomen move from the outside.

Maybe the weight gain is just one too many (stress) Twinkies or it’s water weight that never goes away.

Maybe the sudden increase in boob size is just a gift from good ol’ Saint Nick because you were a really, really good girl this year.

Maybe you can rationalize all the little quirks that start happening to your body as random, unrelated symptoms chalked up to really long string of bad days.

*BUT*

The one thing I cannot seem to wrap my head around is how, all of a sudden, visits from the Red Tidal Wave/Aunt Flo/The Monthly Suck Fairy cease to exist AND YOU THINK THAT’S NORMAL.

If there is one thing pregnant women all over the world have to cheer about during those ten months of work, creating and carrying around another human, it’s a reprieve from HER.

And yours just….disappears all magician like? Poof?

Maybe you’ve always had irregular cycles…but if your cycle becomes so irregular that you don’t have to use a tampon for ten months?

Hello, red flag.

(I know. I kill myself with the puns…)

I’m certain there is someone out there who is 100% convinced that it’s possible to go all the way through pregnancy without realizing that she is, indeed, ‘with child,’ and then get a surprise in the toilet one afternoon after a horrendous bout of what she claimed were “stomach cramps” all, “OMG! It isn’t gas! It’s a girl!

And to those people I’d like to say: Obviously, someone wasn’t paying attention to the BODY AWARENESS lesson in kindergarten.

9 Responses to “how do you *not* know?”


  1. 1 jobo October 28, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Right??? I always wonder the same thing. I mean REALLY people.

  2. 3 thewaiting October 28, 2011 at 11:25 am

    I always wonder how those kids whose moms didn’t know they were coming fared after they were born. I mean, if I didn’t know I was pregnant right now, I would be drinking fairly often (and therefore occasionally smoking a social cigarette), jumping on trampolines, eating a TON of non-California roll sushi and sashimi, and basically doing many risky things that I’ve put on hold until the baby comes. Does it really affect the baby? I would think so, but at the same time some ladies just get off lucky and deliver perfectly healthy babies despite not taking all the precautions when they’re expecting.

    • 4 Jessica October 28, 2011 at 11:34 am

      I was thinking about that, actually. Something along the lines of…if they didn’t know they were even having a child, how are they going to be prepared to care for one??…it’s not like a temporary thing…

      I didn’t even go to the “risky” behaviors…because that’s a really good point! I’d still be drinking wine and eating things I shouldn’t be…and I’d still be running long distances…who knows! Why is it that people who “didn’t know they were pregnant” end up with the healthy babies while some women, who try forEVER to get pregnant have all the complications?

      Hm…

  3. 5 Amy October 28, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    that show boggles my mind, too, and I am not and never have been pregnant. But you can be sure I’d know if I was. Out makes no sense at all. I can’t imagine being that unaware.

  4. 6 Cindy October 28, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    I agree with you- I don’t get how someone could have no idea at all. One thing, though- I do know women who are so irregular they could go 10 months without good ol’ Aunt Flo showing up and it wouldn’t be odd for them. Truly. But I’ll tell you what, they must also be the people who are lucky enough to not have morning sickness (or at least for a minimal time), often feel like their insides are moving on their own, not notice they have to pee all the time suddenly, wear clothes so baggy they have room to accomodate a pregnancy without a problem (or just think it’s some serious weight gain), or be so heavy to begin with and have a number of other health issues so all the pregnancy symptoms just seem to be something else. Also, if they go to a doc and mention any of this stuff, how does the doc not think to give them a pregnancy test just to be sure? I’ve never actually seen the show, though- maybe it would make sense to me if I did? Still don’t think so.

    Regarding “risky” behaviors, I actually think most babies would be fine with minimal/moderate amounts of any of the things that have been mentioned. A couple glasses of wine a week is not going to cause Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, social smoking (meaning rare) isn’t going to cause low birth rate, and the odds of getting listeria are very small. Our society tends to have an “all or nothing” attitude about most things, and since it won’t hurt the child to avoid them it’s certainly better to do so than go the other way. I, too, avoid this “risky” behavior, but I believe that moderation is likely to not be a problem.

  5. 7 Cindy October 28, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Er… I meant “low birth WEIGHT” not rate! See, and then there’s the late-pregnancy mind melt like I’m experiencing… they don’t notice that, either???

  6. 8 meesh9582 October 28, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    This has always baffled me too, and I’ve spent way more time than I should have thinking about it… I can get the irregular period thing. I’m so regular I know down to a 3hr window when I’m going to start every time, so I don’t have that problem, but I have a few friends who never have their period, or if they do it’s barely spotting for 1-2 days and then gone. I also have a friend who was overweight when she got pregnant, and actually lost 15lbs while pregnant and gave birth to a perfectly healthy little boy… so weight gain not come into play there. But really, the moving around/kicking thing blows my mind. WHAT could they possibly think that is if not a BABY?!

  7. 9 bevchen October 30, 2011 at 6:59 am

    My dad’s girlfriend bled at pretty much the time she would have normally got her period for the first 6 months of her pregnancy! Obviously, it wasn’t a *real* period, but if you didn’t know you were pregnant you’d probably assume it was. (She has a split uterus, which meant she had loads of trouble conceiving and I think was also the cause of the bleeding).


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


