join me in a round of ‘dear self’

This week has actually been a really, really terrific week so far. I mean…you know how excited you get when something good, albeit unexpected happens?

That has been this week.

TIMES FIVE.

(six if you count the seven inches of snow we got yesterday…that was technically expected and will be gone by tomorrow)

I struggle…mightily…on most days because I feel like a person who is just taking up space – even though I’m actually doing something super important (hello, growing another human) on a daily, by the second basis…it is still really difficult to see whatever it is I am doing as good and helpful and important. This struggle can stretch on for weeks and weeks. It is completely different when you have zero feedback to let you know how awesome you are or how well you are doing – very much unlike when you have a job, for instance. You receive feedback and positive reinforcement and compliments when you do a bang up job on something.

I used to get that on a daily basis – the feedback part, anyway – at my old job in Atlanta.

Stroke the ego. Make me feel like a productive member of society.

Now?

I mean, Tim can only tell me I vacuumed better than any other person has ever vacuumed on the entire planet so many times.

And writing?

It’s a thankless, tiresome job.

Then this week started.

First, I found out that I had been selected as one of 26 people who’s “make you smile” sign was selected to be along the Atlanta Marathon route this weekend.

I have to admit, I half-heartedly entered the contest last week, thinking it would be fun and meh, whether I win or not, I like coming up with funny things to say for runners to read.

I guess my attitude helped the creativity along…obviously.

My bit of verbiage to will the runners along the race course?

Your runner’s high? It’s probably not coming…

I don’t know about you, but reading that somewhere around mile 24 would definitely make me smile…albeit in a grimaced, you SOB kind of way…

Still, YAY!!!!!!

I am so excited MY WORDS will be something hundreds of people will read to help them through the grueling 26.2 race – because there is no other way to describe a marathon. It’s always painful.

Next? The wonderful small town we live in agreed to extend the expiration date on our tree certificate.

I know what you’re thinking: A tree certificate? Wha….?

Our town is one of those Tree Cities USA (which I don’t understand at all because there is more farmland than there are trees) and in order to help maintain that certification, all new homeowners get a certificate worth $200 to use towards purchasing two trees from local nurseries.

We got ours last February.

It expires this February.

Not using this is like throwing $200 down the toilet and Tim and I are not people who like seeing green in the commode.  So, for the past week or so we were trying to figure out if it was even feasible to plant a tree and have it survive this late in the game. We all know I kill everything I touch, so having my care plus the freezing winter? Probably a bad combination.

Regardless, you’d think between last February and now we would have found time to use it.

Obviously, tree fail.

However, thanks to our town, we now have until next summer to get this accomplished! YAY! Though that really means Tim has until next summer because there will be no hauling of a tree anywhere for me post sprout. I  mean, sure, I’ll help pick one out but that’s probably where my job will end.

And Tim will be the first to tell you that it won’t be his job, either. It’ll be the job of the person we hire.

Then?

I won some kind of prize thing on Twitter. I can’t say much else about it because I plan on giving part of that surprise to Tim for Christmas. I mean, why not, right? But, still, I WON!!!

And I never win anything!

THEN??

(I know…it’s disgusting)

I was informed about some super fantastic incredible news that is related to writing but that I, unfortunately, cannot share…yet.

(I know. I’m such a tease…but I was sworn to secrecy)

It’s like I’m slowly…actually…considered a real, bona fide writer.

What is the world coming to? Is this really happening? To me??

AND THEN???

(I swear…this is the last one)

As I was doing my fiscal duties this morning via checking our bank account and spreadsheet with our monthly expenses to make sure everything was balanced, I saw that Tim had set up our automatic payments for the washer and dryer we purchased last January as nine payments instead of ten.

This?

Completely unexpected.

We always do ten payments…I don’t know why…Tim always did ten payments and then we got married and now he is we…anyway.

So, now, we 100% own our washer and dryer and no one can take away our 20th century method of cleaning clothes!

What’s even better than clean clothes?

When is that ninth and final payment?

THIS. MONTH.

What does that mean?

Extra dollars into the spreadsheet and bank account that we weren’t expecting.

And who doesn’t like a few hundred unexpected extra dollars?

Exactly.

So, where does the ‘dear self’ come into play?…because it’s like I’ve completely neglected the whole reason I started writing this….or did I?

Dear Self comes into play in 3…..2…..1……

Dear Self:  If life always gave you fabulous, exciting things, you would have never learned to appreciate what it means to have a paid in full washer and dryer.

Now…what about you? What do you need to remind yourself about today?

13 Responses to “join me in a round of ‘dear self’”


  1. 1 Maureen October 27, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Sounds like you are having a fantastic week!

    annndd…

    Dear Self: At least you aren’t waking up in a sleeping bag with a broken zipper to a freezing cold morning somewhere in the mountains right now.

  2. 3 jobo October 27, 2011 at 11:31 am

    yay!! I love that you had such an awesome week. Mine is much better overthinking-wise than last week, and it feels like a breath of fresh air. I can’t wait to hear about the writing thing! sounds awesome 🙂

  3. 5 JessSutera October 27, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    LOVE it!! So cool that all of these seemingly “little” things are adding up into a pretty fanfrickintastic week for you!! I can’t wait to hear this super secret writing news of yours!!! PS. can you make me a 26.2 sign???

    • 6 Jessica October 27, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      Remember…at 13.1 just think…halfway there!

      (actually, DON’T do that because it is a terrible mental trick that beats you down)

      (the mental preparation part of a marathon is almost more important than the physical…trust me 🙂 )

      News…hopefully…will be soon!

  4. 7 franzi October 27, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    sounds like a great week! and even though i’m a non-runner (never-runner is more like it) i like your sign. do you know at what milage in the race it will be put up? maybe one of your readers is from atlanta and can take a picture?!

  5. 8 Michelle Kreifels October 27, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Awesome week!

    The “you make me smile” sign is genius!

    Dear Self: It’s okay to take a break and relax before going 110% into training; neglecting everything and everyone around you. Yeah, it’s okay to be selfish and like it.

    • 9 Jessica October 28, 2011 at 7:38 am

      Thank you!

      And I know how hard it is to “take a break” from training! Last year…my husband and I trained for and ran a full in March, took two weeks off (we were in Hawaii…), came home, did about two months of “maintenance” training and then jumped right into another full marathon training schedule, running that one in September.

      I was addicted!…and now…I’m sidelined! I can’t wait to get out there again!

  6. 10 Joann October 27, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    YAY!!! Sounds like you had a great and uplifting week!!


  1. 1 it went where?! « booshy Trackback on November 4, 2011 at 1:13 pm
  2. 2 double digits « booshy Trackback on November 11, 2011 at 8:15 am

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


