being productive is exhausting

There are these strings of days where I’ll be super busy and productive…like I all of a sudden decide that EVERYTHING needs to be accomplished RIGHT.NOW.

For example?

This past weekend, Tim and I purchased our first bit of furniture along with storage bins and a few books for the sprout’s room (yay!)…even though the storage cubes were kind of an impulse buy, thanks to the Babies R Us email alerts about sales…which led to buying the storage cube…I fear these purchases might become a recurring problem…

I am OBSESSED with baby giraffes, by the way. Are they not super freaking adorable?! It’s like *the tiny animal* I am seeking out for the sprout’s room.

We also went out of our way to go to a specific paint store to find a specific brand of paint to get a sample to go with our specific type of paint job we want to have done in the sprout’s room.

Also on the docket? A four mile walk with the dogs along with a visit to a pumpkin patch where we walked around for at least an hour to find two perfect pumpkins, because there were fields containing thousands and thousands and thousands of pumpkins…and being the Type A’s that Tim and I are, we couldn’t stop until we found the best pumpkins all the fields had to offer.

The pumpkins had to be cut off the vine and hauled to the car (pumpkins are way heavier than they lead you on to believe).

(And no, that’s no my carving job. Swear. I’ve never actually carved my own pumpkin. That bit of fun is coming soon)

We also managed to shove a hay bale and some indian corn into our car that was for sale at the pumpkin patch and then, after dropping it all off at the house, ended up on the who-knew-it-would-become-an-elusive search for a scarecrow (note to self: GO TO MICHAEL’S FIRST) so we could finally decorate for fall. I’ve been moaning about decorating since the first day of October and now I, finally, feel like we have, at bare minimum, made our front porch look welcoming to trick-or-treaters.

(I’m actually 100% positive I’m mixing up the order each of these events happened…but the point is: THEY ALL HAPPENED)

Oh…but the fun doesn’t end there. I also cleaned downstairs…(and for those who have never seen it, consider this a sneak peek at what part of our house actually looks like…)

AND, after about a month and a half of working for a few hours each weekend, we completed Operation Organize the Basement! We had purchase yet another storage rack from Costco and fly a red bandana off the end of the box, since the 200 pound behemoth stuck out of the trunk. Also, yes, Tim man handled the entire thing while I sat there all, “What can I do??” while he grunted back all, “NOTHING.”

This last installment took over two hours…and we were both beaten to a pulp with sore lower backs when it was all said and done.

But…IT’S DONE!!!

Yesterday included two hours at the gym, which was broken into 15 minutes on the tread climber, a one hour BodyPump class, 33 minutes on the elliptical (I have no idea…it was set to that number without my realizing it) and finally, 15 minutes on a stationary bike.

I had to pee between each activity.

Also? That whole workout routine was probably overkill and (I’m convinced) made me gain water weight for my doctor’s appointment yesterday afternoon.

I’m like, two pounds heavier than I should be.

Yay, me.

While we were there, Tim made the doctor tell me I shouldn’t be freaking out (yet) about the overage in poundage………………………………………….even though I’m Still. Freaking. Out.

Anyhow, what has seemed to happen since becoming preggo with the sprout is that every single time there are a string of days such as this, I will have this one day of absolute, utter exhaustion.

Insert today.

Where I don’t want to do anything but sit on the couch…yet I feel guilty and am trying to force myself to at least take the dogs for a walk.

I haven’t decided if that’s actually going to happen, yet.

Though I’m pretty positive the whole walk idea is not looking very promising.

Maybe I’ll just watch somebody walk.

From the couch.

15 Responses to “being productive is exhausting”


  1. 1 bevchen October 19, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    Those giraffes are soooo cute! I wish I could decorate a nursery with baby animals.

  2. 3 Cindy October 19, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Welcome (once again) to pregnancy. 🙂 You’re experiencing nesting to the nth degree, followed by your body saying, “You know, I’m already growing a whole other person in here, so when you do that much in a day or two then I need you to totally chill out for at least one day to make up for it.” It’s normal. 🙂

    I love the giraffes, and I love what I’ve just seen of your place! And (this may sound weird) but I especially love the basement because it’s ORGANIZED, which is my ultimate dream for our basement too (and the loft above the garage). Of course, organizing the rest of the house would be nice, too! 🙂

    Love the fall decorating. And you totally need to carve a pumpkin; I can’t believe you never have! Scooping the slimy guts is the best part, second only to saving and roasting the seeds. Yum!

    • 4 Jessica October 20, 2011 at 4:43 pm

      I’m glad it is normal because I felt like a zombie yesterday!

      Also? Thank you! I’m SUPER excited that the basement is organized…it was horrendous before. Boxes everywhere. Total chaos.

      I’m going to have to document my pumpkin carving…I’m sure it’ll be memorable.

  3. 5 jobo October 19, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    LOVE your living room!! Exactly how I’d decorate it, to be honest 😉 And productivity is super tiring. Go you!! And go you on weight GAIN! Breathe…this is good 🙂 XOXO

  4. 7 thoughtsappear October 20, 2011 at 6:42 am

    The giraffes are cute! I have one of those storage thingys, too. I love it!

    • 8 Jessica October 20, 2011 at 4:44 pm

      I’m glad you love yours…because I was basically all, “I want those because they have baby giraffes.” I wasn’t even thinking about practicality.

      • 9 Cindy October 22, 2011 at 10:05 am

        Re: the storage thingy (I love that technical term), a tip I learned from another mom: if there are toys you’d like to limit from your child (or another child during a playdate or something), put them into one of the cubes, then turn the cube either up or backward so one side of the box blocks access. Put all the cubes with accessible toys forward so the open part is toward the open side of the shelf. Of course, this only works until the kid(s) are old enough to figure out where you’ve put the good toys and how to get them out, but it’ll work for a while. 🙂 The amount of time this works is most likely directly related to how much time Tim has to “teach” about physics and engineering, however. Beware!

  5. 10 Joann October 20, 2011 at 7:54 am

    Geerafts (as my sister and I have always called them) are my favorite!! By the way, those storage cubes are the best thing ever. We bought one when my oldest was 5 and the little one was 6mo. It is now used for my craft supplies. They just travel along as you grow in the family!

  6. 12 TheKitchenWitch October 20, 2011 at 10:03 am

    You exercised like that PREGNANT? I bow down in awe. The only thing I lift when pregnant is a bowl of mashed potatoes.

    Also, please tell Operation Organize Basement to come to my house.

  7. 14 Angelia Sims October 20, 2011 at 11:40 am

    Okay, I absolutely ADORE the baby giraffes. Awh! So cute!

    I remember taking lots of naps preggo, so I think your productive days and exercise is fantastic!

    And you are doing great.

    And you are going to be the best mommy ever!

    Also? That pumpkin patch is AWESOME. I am now on the hunt for a REAL patch near me.

    • 15 Jessica October 20, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      OMG! You have to (try) to find a real, live pumpkin patch! It is SO MUCH BETTER! I loved it.

      And thank you about the best mommy ever. I’m kind of freaking out about that…


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


