this. blows. chunks.

You know what is the WORST PART about being knocked up (so far…because I’ve yet to hit the third trimester and I’m not about to have karma all up in my business)?

WEIGHT.

GAIN.

I know. Duh. That’s what happens when you grow a whole new person inside of you.

It’s a given, really, right?

Right?

I’m kind of trying to convince myself that this it totally acceptable, here.

Whatever. Who am I Β kidding?

This really blow chunks.

I have to sit here, day in and day out, and feel like, no matter what I do, that scale is going to continue to laugh at me, climbing higher and higher and higher

TEN POUNDS, people.

That’s where we’re at now.

TEN. POUNDS.

The most confusing part?

I don’t even really know how it happened. It’s just like my body all of a sudden decided to pack on the poundage. I mean, I’m now between five to six pounds – depending on the day – heavier since my last OB visit.

That was only three and a half weeks ago.

Um…something about that doesn’t seem right.

Everyone keeps telling me that, regardless of what *I* do, my body is going to do whatever it wants.

Whell. You don’t say?

TEN.

POUNDS.

The scale now shows me a number higher than I have EVER seen myself weigh in my entire life, unless I happened to have a deranged day where I was feeling rather adventurous and stepped onto a scale with a twenty pound weight just to, you know, see how that’d make me feel.

Which, obviously, I have never done.

I hate being a “scale watcher” – especially now – since it’s like my hunger and my weight desires absolutely do not agree with each other. In fact, they’re at war.

Hunger says, “EAT!” while the weight desire cries, “Noooo!”

Of course, what with my lovely extra ten pounds I’m now toting around, I’m apparently giving into the hunger versus the scale.

It’s like I don’t have a choice. Who says no to the hunger beast?

Exactly.

Thing is…I didn’t – and still do not – want to go past gaining 25 pounds. Β That’s only fifteen more pounds and by the end, the sprout is going to contribute to eight of those fifteen…so, technically, it’s only seven more pounds until February.

That really doesn’t even seem feasible.

I still have all of October, November (hello, Thanksgiving!), December (Christmas meals!!), January and half of February.

With what little math I am able to force my brain to calculate, my seven pounds looks like I should only be gaining two pounds a month…and that is definitely not the “recommended” pound a week weight gain beginning now through the end of the third trimester.

That’s like…way more than seven pounds…(I know. I’m so exact.)

*wimper*

Come February, I’m going to be this hugely massive pregnant woman who only waddles because my legs are so ginormous I can’t do more than shuffle my feet a few inches at a time.

Anybody have a wheel barrow I can borrow?

30 Responses to “this. blows. chunks.”


  1. 1 momisalwayswrite October 12, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Don’t worry! This to shall pass!! No really, you’ll someday look at yourself in pictures and mostly since you are looking at that precious baby you won’t notice. Mostly!!
    For me it was the arms. I was pregnant only in my big fat arms. Enjoy pregnancy.

  2. 2 Jessica October 12, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Thank you! I mean…I’m sure you’re right but, still, this is HARD! I have zero control over it…or over my hunger, usually πŸ™‚

    Glad you stopped in! Hope to see you around again. πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Amy October 12, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    first of all, chill. You were obviously not overweight to begin with, which means your healthy weight gain range is 25-35 lbs (Babycenter: If your pre-pregnancy weight was in the healthy range for your height (a BMI of 18.5 to 24.9), you should gain between 25 and 35 pounds, gaining 1 to 5 pounds in the first trimester and about 1 pound per week for the rest of your pregnancy for the optimal growth of your baby.)

    SO RELAX! (This is easy for me to say, because I am only 15 weeks & have gained 5 lbs – all in the last 7 days and am also freaking out.)

    I had a friend who gained 50 lbs! And now, 15 months later, she is thinner than ever. You will be fine! (This is also a pep talk to me.) You do not have to be the valedictorian of pregnancy weight gain! (Because I am going to be the valedictorian! MEEEEEEEE!)

    It will be okay. Your baby needs calories! You will not need a wheelbarrow! Your body knows what it’s doing! (I am assuming you’re not living solely on milkshakes and deep fried twinkies, here.) Just do you best to adhere to a healthy diet; ask your OB/midwife if you have concerns, and enjoy the one time in your life you have more or less carte blanche to gain!

    • 4 Jessica October 12, 2011 at 1:31 pm

      Amy,

      OMG. You are so not going to be valedictorian!! Not fair! I actually lost weight in the 1st tri…but who cares now because I’m apparently right where I should be…

      I was around the 5 pound mark at 15 weeks. Then something happened between 18 weeks and now (22 weeks). That “something” was my appetite. WOW. Insatiable – and I’m not living on fast food…anymore. I did the 1st tri…

      I’ll hope I can be thinner than I was before I became preggo…that’s my goal, anyway…

      So, I’m guessing you haven’t found out yet if it’s a girl or a boy?…or are you waiting until the very end? We’re team blue.

      • 5 Amy October 12, 2011 at 4:13 pm

        We don’t know yet, but we find out in 3 weeks! YAY! My inlaws are voting team blue, since they’re all girls (well, except for my brother in law) and they want a boy cousin! I, of course, will be happy as long as it’s human and healthy (leaning boy), and the husband wants a little girl who will want him to come to tea parties and be daddy’s little girl. πŸ™‚

        I wasn’t too hungry at all the 1st trimester, just held steady. But the last week? HUNGRY HUNGRY HIPPO! Now that I can eat fruits & veggies again w/o wanting to barf, I’m trying to eat healthy – most of the time. Except for my pudding issue.

        I want to be lower than pre-pregnancy weight by this time next year….seven months post birth to do it (although I’ll give myself a bit of a pass & not get strict w/ myself until 1 year post birth). I started out a bit overweight, so lower would be better.

        • 6 Jessica October 13, 2011 at 9:59 am

          Yay for three weeks! I remember how excited I got as the days got closer and closer…so you’re leaning boy and your husband girl? That’s kind of funny…

          Pudding issue?…I don’t even think I should ask. πŸ™‚

          I’m aiming for 6 months to be back to my pre-pregnancy weight, if not lower…we’ll see if that happens.

  4. 7 Kathy October 12, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Awwww, don’t stress, it’s not good for the baby!!!!!! You will be fine, the best advise is to do what your body tells you, it knows!!! Babies need lots of stuff to grow their brains and bodies.
    Enjoy this beautiful time in your life!!!!!!

    • 8 Jessica October 13, 2011 at 10:00 am

      I’m enjoying it…and freaking out sometimes…since I have no idea what to expect…obviously. πŸ™‚

      And I’m trying not to stress…because the stress is probably making me hold onto unnecessary poundage, anyway…*sigh* I’m trying! πŸ™‚

  5. 9 thewaiting October 12, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I feel bad that I too hate how fat I’m getting. I mean, I wanted this pregnancy. I YEARNED for it. But now I just feel like a big fat slob (although I think it’s mostly because I’m outgrowing my jeans and my maternity pants that I ordered haven’t come in yet.) I am so very glad I don’t have a scale at home, though. That would make it way worse.

    • 10 Jessica October 13, 2011 at 10:01 am

      I don’t know if I would be better off without a scale or if I’d just have anxiety and go weight myself every day at Walgreens…

      I’ve yet to dive into maternity clothes, though I am going to have to do so soon…I look entirely too non-pregnant in my current attire…and I’m sure my belly will start poking out of the bottoms of my shirts, soon. πŸ™‚

  6. 11 Cindy October 12, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Ok, you have calculated the 7-8 lb average baby into your “acceptable” weight gain, but you’ve forgotten all the other stuff that’s inside you that wasn’t before to keep the kiddo alive. Placenta, amniotic fluid, umbilical cord, etc. I found this break down online:

    Average baby- 7.5lbs
    Placenta- 1.5lbs
    Amniotic fluid- 2lbs
    Uterine enlargement- 2lbs
    Maternal breast tissue- 2lbs
    Maternal blood volume- 4lbs
    Fluids in maternal tissue- 4 lbs
    Maternal fat stores- 7lbs

    So, depending on whether you breast feed, it seems logical to me that you may have 7 lb to lose to regain your original weight, but I’m betting some of that even disappears “magically” after the birth. And, you probably know this, but breast feeding actually helps your body get back to its pre-pregnancy state fastest.

    Please don’t stress about your weight. Talk to your OB if you have concerns, yes, but worrying about it isn’t going to change what your body does, and will only make you less happy. The reason I didn’t gain much is because I was slightly overweight at the beginning of my pregnancy. As far as eating, your OB knows better than I, but as I understand it you should be eating the same # of calories as was recommended for your pre-pregnancy weight through your 2nd trimester, and then 500 calories more per day in your 3rd trimester. It’s not a lot more. If you do that, you’ll be fine. πŸ™‚ Even if you eat a bit more, I’m sure within a matter of months you will have your body back- you have that drive to exercise and that’s what it takes. So please don’t worry! You’re supposed to weigh more. SUPPOSED TO!!!

    -Cindy πŸ™‚

    • 12 Jessica October 13, 2011 at 10:03 am

      I’m fearing the OB visit next week! I have no idea what they’ll say…if anything…I mean, I am within the range of what I’m supposed to gain, so…

      I’m thinking my recent addition of weights has added to my weight issue…since I tend to gain weight because my muscles are sore…regardless, I’m trying to do what’s right, even though it’s hard!

      I’m totally breastfeeding. Bring on that calorie burn! πŸ™‚

      Also? So excited for you! You’re ALMOST there!!! YAY!!

      • 13 Cindy October 14, 2011 at 7:42 am

        You mean you’re building muscle as well? Could be that’s part of the weight gain, too. Really, decide now you’ll control that you’ll eat healthy calories, and enough of them, then take a deep breath and give up control of the rest. As someone said, your body knows what it’s doing, every body is different, and none of us can control it- so give up trying to control it. πŸ™‚ Also, I’m a little jealous you’re feeling well enough that your main concern is weight gain. I felt sick for about 7 months this time around, and it’s come back a little bit here at the end. I can’t wait until I have an actual appetite! πŸ™‚ Enjoy!!

  7. 14 Wildology October 12, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    That 25 pounds is at the low end for the “average” weight people starting at the high end….and since you are probably at the low end BMI of the average…you know what that means……more like 35.

    Right. On. Track. You can pretend slap me now;)

    • 15 Jessica October 13, 2011 at 10:04 am

      I know…I was kind of in the middle of the BMI “range” so…whatever that means. πŸ™‚

      I totally did pretend slap you…but only because I know you’re about to go through the same thing as me, at some point, and then you’ll know exactly how I feel. πŸ˜‰

  8. 16 Amy October 12, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Hey. You’re pregnant. You cannot pretend to be in control of what your body is doing. Do YOU know how to grow a baby? No. Do you know what does know how? Your body. So just let it do its thing. Because that thing it’s doing? Effing miraculous. So don’t be upset by the way it’s doing it. Because at end of it all, it’s got this. πŸ™‚

    • 17 Jessica October 13, 2011 at 10:05 am

      I know but…I LIKE CONTROL!

      (this is obviously my issue)

      It IS a miracle, what is happening…I totally agree with you…and I really should just let this go and enjoy the miracle. Truly.

  9. 18 Amy October 12, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Different Amy. This is Hamlet’s Mistress Amy

  10. 21 toolchick101 October 12, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    I’m worried about shooting up there, mainly because of my husband. See, he’s only 5’6″, so he weighs about 140. If I gain only the 27 recommended pounds, then I’ll still weigh more than him. And probably hate him for it.

    Though today I decided pregnancy brain was my least favorite symptom.

    • 22 Jessica October 13, 2011 at 10:06 am

      I’m right there with you! I’m like, “Honey…it’s going to be a sad day in this house when I weigh more than YOU.”

      And it will be…and I’ll hate mine for it, too. We’ll husband hate together.

      Pregnancy brain does suck…I tell my husband that if I don’t say whatever it is I’m currently thinking, I’ll forget. And I do.

  11. 23 jobo October 13, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Aw! Friend! I cannot give you any good words of wisdom because as a fellow overthinker, I would be feeling the same damn way, but as another person commented, your baby needs calories. And you are giving him healthy calories and you will be just FINE post-baby and getting that bod back. I promise!And you still look hot now, lest not forget!

    • 24 Jessica October 13, 2011 at 10:07 am

      I’m trying to give him healthy calories, now that the fast food craving thing has ended (FINALLY!)…but it doesn’t really seem to matter…weight is COMING!

      I’ll try not to forget. Power to the hot preggos! πŸ˜‰

  12. 25 bevchen October 13, 2011 at 9:56 am

    I’ve never been pregnant and am unlikely ever to be pregnant, so I reeeeally have no idea what I’m talking about (i.e. feel free to ignore me) buuut, as a pregnant woman you practically have a licence to put on weight. You’re not fat, you’re growing a baby. Which is amazing. (Again, not that I’d know having never been pregnant and so on…). As long as you’re not living on fast food I say eat, drink and be merry. You can worry about getting the weight off later. (Plus, Christmas is made for putting on weight. It’s practically the law!!).

    • 26 Jessica October 13, 2011 at 10:08 am

      I’m 100% on board with your Christmas observation…and I think I may just have to adopt the “eat, drink and be merry” all the way up until the little sprout makes his entrance.

  13. 27 Angelia Sims October 13, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Come February, when you look into the eyes of your sweet baby boy. Not one pound will matter. He will be worth it and then guess what? Post pregnancy/breast feeding (if you do that) with the hunger beast born, you will shed weight like crazy.

    I only got to be pregnant one time. Enjoy the beauty of the miracle. Besides he could be 10lbs! (HA)

    πŸ™‚

    • 28 Jessica October 13, 2011 at 11:04 am

      I will truly have a fit if this baby is TEN. POUNDS. though, you’re right, whenever he DOES come out into this world, I probably won’t care about anything regarding my weight AT ALL.

      I’m sorry you only had the opportunity to be pregnant once! Sadface….though you got an amazing daughter out of it. πŸ™‚

  14. 29 JessSutera October 13, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Aww I’m sad that you are struggling with the weight gain thing while pregnant…but then, I am SURE I’d react the same way as you. It is HARD to be out of control of your own body, and for 9 months. That’s a long time! But seriously – looking at your last bump pics? You look great. Seriously, fit and healthy baby mama, I promise!

  15. 30 supacoo October 14, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    Dude, my boobs alone gained 10 lbs!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

your favorites (I didn’t pick ’em)

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


