baby sprout bump watch

I might as well call this what it is because…my boobs have deflated, my belly doesn’t look any different than it did last time and….le sigh.

I JUST LOOK FAT.

And I apparently like to take these pictures right after I get out of the shower…

I don’t see much change from last weekish to this one…do you?

20 weeks

21 weeks, 4 days

In other pregnancy news…why does your face get fatter the more pregnant you become? I’ve noticed that with myself and with other pregnant women. I mean, I get the water retention and swelling and whatnot but…why the face?!

Also…totally random and unrelated: I bought this new after shower body oil that smells freaking incredible!! I just thought I’d share because it’s my new bath time BFF. Neutrogena Body Oil.

YUM.

It’s the little things right now, people.

Other than that, I’m am WIPED. OUT. It’s funny how, now, one day of lots of activity turns me into a zombie the next. Yesterday, I took the dogs for a walk (because I can’t run. Sad face) early in the morning and then Tim and I ran errands until around 3:00, when we came home, got dressed and then went over to dinner at the home of an old friend of Tim’s. Β We’ve lived here for an entire YEAR and this is the first time we’ve managed to get together.

Fail.

Anyhow, they have a daughter who is a few months past a year old and was super adorable. Tim was having way too much fun playing with her, even though on the way home he was all, “I was surprised she went to you first.”

I looked at him like, “What is THAT supposed to mean? I’m super terrific with kids.”

Then he was all, “That’s just not how it has been in the past.”

And why is that, my dear?

Maybe because the only other “baby” exposure we’ve really had, like, EVER, is with our nephew in Rochester and whenever we’re *in* Rochester, everyone wants the little nephew to hang out with “Uncle Tim” while “Aunt Jessica” sits in the background.

I mean, I get it. It’s no big deal and it’s partly my fault because I put myself in the background on purpose while Tim goes all gaga. It’s the first nephew, everyone thinks Tim is baby crazy (and he is) and it’s his family. I’m sure I know my family would do the same thing to me if I wasn’t the oldest and the only one really in the position to, you know, procreate.

Suffice it to say, I think Tim was slightly surprised that *I* had the baby magnet before he did…at least last night. Their daughter toddled up to me while we were sitting at the dinner table and asked to be picked up without any prompting from anyone.

I guess he just didn’t realize that I’ve got SKILLS…along with a child of my our own currently INSIDE OF ME.

He has no idea how that changes a person…inside and out. He will come February…when baby sprout is out and they can have some one-on-one time.

Eventually, I relented and passed her over to Tim, just so, you know, he didn’t feel left out.

8 Responses to “baby sprout bump watch”


  1. 1 thebakerbee October 10, 2011 at 11:37 am

    Your belly is definitely smaller than mine at 21 weeks. It’s kind of frustrating when you’re pregnant but you don’t really look the part, isn’t it? Because, let’s face it, you totally FEEL pregnant and you want to park in the expectant mom spots, but you feel like people are going to take one look at you and be all like, “that chick is totally pretending to be pregnant so that she doesn’t have to walk far.”

    • 2 Jessica October 11, 2011 at 11:43 am

      OMG!!! YES!! Tim is always like, “We can park there, you know.” And I tell him I’m not parking there until I actually *look* pregnant because of exactly that reason!

  2. 3 wildology October 10, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Jess—seriously…that is not what fat looks like! Have you seen fat? Fat does not sit up high and straight out when the rest of you is all thin and svelt. You look completely and totally pregnant. πŸ™‚ Yeah!

    • 4 Jessica October 11, 2011 at 11:43 am

      Um…I’m pretty sure I’ve seen fat? Maybe? I have no idea.

      Also? Thank you! That’s like…the best thing anyone could ever say to a pregnant person…as you well know πŸ™‚

  3. 5 jobo October 10, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    ok, you look entirely the same to me in all of these pictures! Maybe I am blind, but you are not fat nor pregnant-looking I’ve decided πŸ˜‰ Le hot, not le sigh πŸ˜‰ You look fantastic, seriously!! (but I KNOW I would feel the same way if it were me, so I cannot discount how you are feeling in the slightest!)

    • 6 Jessica October 11, 2011 at 11:44 am

      I’m going to have to look at the first one I took versus this last one…because I KNOW I feel bigger… πŸ˜‰

      And I’m liking le hot…ha…this whole thing probably wouldn’t be so hard if I wasn’t already super body-image paranoid before the sprout.

  4. 7 Joann October 11, 2011 at 7:46 am

    You are definitely one of those pregnant ladies that make the rest of us who have had children, well quite frankly, SICK! I gained 75 freakin’ pounds with my first. I looked and felt like a beached whale. Just enjoy the fact that once that baby is born you are going to feel amazing and get back to your pre-pregnancy self very quickly!!

    • 8 Jessica October 11, 2011 at 11:46 am

      I’m THAT girl?! No……

      I’m just banking on the 10 pounds I’ll lose in the delivery room…and hoping I can get the rest off as fast as possible (without harming the sprout’s food source, obviously).

      Also? The weight is coming on like CRAZY these days…so I’m hoping I stay within the 25-35 pound range!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


