the nursery that isn’t……..

I…..really have no idea what to say, here. I mean, this is my blog so I should be able to say whatever I want, right?

Like, I’m currently getting kicked in the abdomen by one little sprout.

(and whoever voted “early” on my little When is the Sprout Coming poll -BLESS YOU)

There is SO MUCH going on that I don’t really know where to start, I guess? I’m beyond overwhelmed.

(this next part is where I begin a long, run-on sentence that is basically my stream of consciousness freaking out)

We need to get quotes for painters to help us with the nursery (read: avoid massive bouts of frustration trying to paint a straight line on textured walls), finish getting the basement organized, move the litter box downstairs, which requires a cat door and an organized basement…thenย we have to make the “cat room” upstairs into a semi-livable space and there’s still the nursery that we have made zero process on, other than knowing we want to do this to the walls (picture below)…except we’re going “upscale safari” and not little lambie when it comes to decorations. Our wall color is already almost the same as what is in the picture (from Pottery Barn Kids, by the way) – it’s getting that strip on the wall where the professionals need to step in because our walls?

NOT FLAT.ย They’re done with a “knockdown” texture.

Have I mentioned I’m past the halfway pregnancy point?

This second half is where I become less mobile, more bump, zero balance with a total loss of coordination. I’ve already gotten clumsier...and it’s not even technically my fault. I really think it’s the house being mean to me on purpose, even though I said something to Tim the other night about me being clumsier than normal and he was all, “I’ve noticed.”

Way to support the team, dear.

Case in point: the other night I tried to open the door to the pantry and the door handle FELL OFF IN MY HAND.

I turned around and showed Tim and he looked at me incredulously and then said, “What is wrong with you?!

Um…I have the magic touch, I guess…? I mean, who does that even happen to?

And yesterday? Tim and I spent almost THREE HOURS in the grocery store.

Seriously? Who does that? It got so bad that Tim had to go and get a second shopping cart for me to push around because the one we had was overflowing to the point where things were falling off when we went around corners.

Lessons Learned for Saturday: Go grocery shopping more than once a month and NEVER AGAIN BUY A (TINY) COUNTER DEPTH REFRIGERATOR.

The lesson Tim needs to remind himself of for the next five months?

I AM NOT MYSELF.

14 Responses to “the nursery that isn’t……..”


  1. 1 mlspell October 9, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Too funny! Just wait until you start doing things like putting the remote control in the freezer and the orange juice in the pantry. Good luck with the room.

  2. 3 Daniela October 9, 2011 at 9:53 am

    Oh, come on, our clumsiness isn’t all that bad!
    I’m not pregnant and the handle of a door greeted me a few times already,
    the day I was supposed to pack all my stuff to go to France the next day, I threw hot boiling lemon juice (don’t ask!) over my fingers,
    I constantly fall over stuff,
    yesterday I was in a restaurant and accidently threw away my knife (no, nobody was hurt),
    and so on.

    I hope this made you feel better! =)

  3. 5 Daniela October 9, 2011 at 9:54 am

    *your clumsiness

  4. 6 Kana Tyler October 9, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    The things nobody warns you about, right? Pregnancy made me clumsy AND scatterbrained–by Month Six I was a running joke at my office (my co-workers made regular reference to the “Stupid-Hormone” having kicked in… that’s what I got for working in an all-female office!) I resolutely avoided the Nursery Project for months (fretted about the fact that I SHOULD be transforming the storage-room into a baby-room, but dreaded actually dealing with it)… And then Month Seven, out of the blue, became totally obsessed with (possessed by?) the sudden need to get it done NOW. My poor husband was at the mercy of my “Nesting-Hormone” mania! Cheers, Mama–it’s an adventure any way you look at it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 7 Jessica October 10, 2011 at 8:56 am

      I think I may (read: my husband) have to adopt the “stupid hormone” comment because it is seriously getting out of control!

      I don’t know if it is my anal nature that has me freaking out or what…but if this isn’t nesting, I fear the day that happens! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 8 jobo October 9, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    3 hours?! LOL! That is hysterical. I kindly request another beautiful baby bump picture ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 10 JessSutera October 9, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Aww. The “not yourself” comment made me sad. I mean I know you are enjoying this pregnancy, for sure, but still – it’s got to be hard when your body is no longer yours. Oy. You are doing great though, seriously!! Hang in there my dear!! PS. 3 hours in the supermarket ought to be a crime, horrible!!

    • 11 Jessica October 10, 2011 at 8:57 am

      I told Tim the other day that the sprout is basically borrowing my entire body until February…because that’s totally what it feels like!

      And that’s what we get for not grocery shopping in like, a month!

  7. 12 Shannon October 9, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    I wish I had words of wisdom for you! Although I like the nursery options!! Cute!!

  8. 14 wildology October 10, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    At least you are just clumsy. I think I have turned semi-bitchy. No patience and a quick-to-flare temper. Pregnancy-fail. At least I feel kind of bad about it:)


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


