what’s in a (sprout’s) name?

Nothing!

I mean, there is actually a first, middle and a last name involved.

Technically speaking.

Except, no one except Tim and I will know the first and the middle name until the day the sprout decides to join all of us outside of the womb.

It’s like a big surprise for everybody…except Tim and me.

(sorry moms and dads. that includes you, too)

Tim and I decided to keep the sprout’s name (whatever it will end up being) a secret…something for just the two of us until the bitter end. I’ve heard lots of reasons why people do this, from avoiding any kind of “peanut gallery” comments to “other suggestions” to avoiding negative retorts.

Some pregnant women get super crazy when it comes to names. I might be included in that contingent with this big secrecy thing, but it is what it is and since I happen to be the one going through the pregnancy and subsequent birth?

I’M GETTING MY WAY.

Also? We’re not keeping the sprout’s name a secret for any of those reasons I mentioned a minute ago.

We’re doing it because we want it to be a surprise. Simple as that.

Everyone knows it’s a boy, so that pretty much makes life easier *and* means we won’t end up with tons of yellow. Not that anything is wrong with yellow per se…it would just be nice to have, you know, blues and greens and boy things.

Are we taking name suggestions?

Not really.

I mean, you can *suggest* anything you’d like…but we’re probably not going to use it…so, you’re really better off not having an opinion.

(I’m vaguely aware that that sounded totally rude)

But, the sprout’s name is something that Tim and I want to pick…something that we want to feel proud of…something that *we* selected, not a name that someone else suggested.

I don’t even know if that makes sense…but I guess that’s the best way I can describe it.

WE WANT TO BE THE NAME PICKERS.

29 Responses to “what’s in a (sprout’s) name?”


  1. 1 nysoonergirl September 29, 2011 at 8:29 am

    I love this. I can’t tell you how many showers I’ve been to where things were already embroidered with the name of the baby… He’s not even here yet! I’m with you on this, you have my stamp of approval. Not that you need it, but still. Now if someone irritatingly tells you it’s stupid, you can say that NY Sooner Girl agrees. So there. And then kick them in the shin.

  2. 3 Shannon September 29, 2011 at 8:56 am

    I love this idea. Hardscape and I have talked about doing the same thing. Leaving a little surprise for people is kind of nice and sharing that between the two of you is special.

  3. 5 JessSutera September 29, 2011 at 11:12 am

    I’m pretty sure if/when I have kids, i’ll want to keep that private too. I think it’s awesome to keep some of the whole pregnancy experience just between the two of you. I totally respect that!

  4. 7 thebakerbee September 29, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    Good for you! We planned on keeping Eli’s name a surprise… except for we never actually picked a name before he was born. We planned on picking a name and just not telling anyone, but we just couldn’t decide. Hubby’s grandma was convinced that we had a name picked out and we just weren’t telling her to be mean.

    We had a list of like 10 names and 30 minutes after he was born we decided we should probably take a look at that list. We started crossing off names until we had 2 left… Eli & Miles (my dad’s name). We decided he looked more like an Eli and that was that. Shocked the whole fam damily with that one… they thought for sure we were going to name him Jacob. WRONG!

    • 8 Jessica September 30, 2011 at 11:47 am

      That’s funny…granted both names are really good and different…but that he “looked” more like an Eli…hopefully the sprout “looks like” whatever name we pick!

  5. 9 lifestartsnow September 29, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    franzi approves! this is your pregnancy, this is your baby, and this is your marriage. you should be more than allowed to keep things to yourself. the whole world will know the baby’s name eventually šŸ™‚

  6. 11 Txtingmrdarcy September 29, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I think you’re wicked smart to avoid the ass-vice. Everyone’s got an opinion on all the things, even on the tiny person that you’re growing. I’d hate to have a name choice ruined by someone’s unfortunate comment.

  7. 13 Breeza September 29, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Just please don’t name your kid Temperance. My friend did and the poor kid!

  8. 15 Angelia Sims September 29, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    You don’t have to tell me, I already know……Tim Jr.

    LOL!

    šŸ™‚

    I still love my daughter’s name. I don’t think it was a secret, but she sure fit the name we picked, and that was a surprise.

    Naming is a BIG responsibility (they are stuck with that sucker for life!). So glad it’s on you & Tim.

    By the way, I have newborn baby pics on my blog.

    • 16 Jessica September 30, 2011 at 11:49 am

      Your daughter’s name is awesome! Tim and I are going crazy with the responsibility of naming the sprout because that is exactly how we feel – he’ll be stuck with this name FOR LIFE and we don’t want to set him up for a lifetime of being made fun of, etc.

      And, duh. OF COURSE it’s Tim Jr. šŸ˜‰

  9. 17 Glen September 29, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    I think it’s a shame that you guys feel like you’re being rude for wanting to, God forbid, name your own child without others interfering. Oh the horror!

  10. 18 Sam September 29, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    We waited until they were born before learning the gender of both our girls, and ditto for the names. We didn’t really throw around any names in the lead up either. Most of the traditional family names were already reapplied anyway, so we just sort of waited to meet them and see what sort of name suited them. Kind of erratic, but it seems to have worked (even if both their initials form an unplanned maths in-joke (SOH and CAH) for daughters of a maths teacher).

    • 19 Jessica September 30, 2011 at 11:53 am

      You are way braver (and patient) than me. I wish I could go with the flow enough to do that…I mean, I’d probably have at least a list of names (girl and boy) that I liked going into the hospital…hoping one of the ones we picked “matched” the baby.

      Tim loves math jokes, by the way. He was dying last night watching…man. Just lost the name of the sitcom! It has lots of science-y humor in it, though.

  11. 20 Papa Guy September 29, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    I’ll bite….Hows about Mr. Bold!
    Can you just imagine back in the olden days when couples didn’t even know what sex the baby was until “it” was born? They had to have a set of names waiting……I like Sam’s idea, wait till ya meet the little ones and see what their personalities are.

    • 21 Jessica September 30, 2011 at 11:54 am

      Totally spot on with Mr. Bold…

      I actually can’t imagine back in the day…along with not knowing there also weren’t pain meds and Tim had to wait outside, pacing…I don’t think he’d do too well with that part šŸ™‚

  12. 22 Maureen September 30, 2011 at 11:34 am

    As long as you don’t name him Aiden or one of those super stupid trendy names, I’m sure whatever you pick will be a good name. Unless you like that name. Then ummm… sorry?

  13. 24 Wildology September 30, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    I wish the hubs would stop telling people the names we are thinking of right now. I really don’t care what others think…so I am totally with you:)

    • 25 Jessica September 30, 2011 at 1:00 pm

      Tim would be in BIG TROUBLE if he started doing that. Like, mucho problemo, buddy…o.

      I am sure your husband is just super excited…I don’t blame him…but I’d still have a hard time with it!

  14. 26 Brandy October 14, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    I love surprises! I can’t wait til February to learn his name. šŸ™‚

    Just please, no weird, trendy, hippy name like SunCloud. (I hope no one is offended by this suggestion)

  15. 27 Daniela February 1, 2012 at 6:49 am

    Ok, so I had the weirdest moment some days ago. I must have read your blog hours prioir and *whoops* 2 names popped into my head. Lukas/Luke and Markus. I don’t know, I’m weird that way, but I just needed to post it somewhere here to make a statement in case one of them is really the sprout’s name. Then you have proof I’m psychic *lol*
    No, seriously. I got 2 stories from when I was 10 and 16 and had a feeling for the right names after I got to know X and Y were pregnant. I never asked them for name preferences or anything. And 2 times, it was true…
    Anyhow I’m excited to get to know the sprout’s name soon- even if it isn’t one of the above šŸ˜‰


  1. 1 baby sprout’s room, part furniture « booshy Trackback on December 5, 2011 at 6:01 pm
  2. 2 the unexpected name dilemma « booshy Trackback on January 24, 2012 at 10:03 am

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


