*bump update* and scary things like the flu…shot

Thanks to Walgreens for sponsoring my writing. Help Walgreens help others! Visit their Facebook page here to learn about their charitable partners and decide which cause Walgreens will donate to with a quick vote.

You know what’s probably *almost* impossible to believe?

I’ve never once, in my entire twenty-eight years on this planet, had the flu.  I’ve survived through Tim getting the nasty little bug on multiple occasions.  I mean, touching his sicky blankets and giving him medicine and cold compresses and whatever else his poor, pitiful self needed without once even getting the sniffles.

If you’re lucky like me, you really think they’re faking the whole half-dead thing don’t know what it means to be that sick until you’ve been hit with the flu.  I’ve never seen a person so miserable.  Once, even, he was kind enough to have the flu on my birthday.  Another time?  At his parent’s house in Upstate New York…before we were even engaged.  It was during Christmas or Thanksgiving…one of those major holidays…and let me just say, THAT was slightly uncomfortable.  Little old me in a strange place with people who didn’t really know me or I them, taking up space while my boyfriend (OMG. How weird to even say that) was down for the count.

This last time?  Right after we moved to Colorado.  Also coinciding with Thanksgiving.  Our “meal” ended up being a pre-prepared thing in a plastic container from Whole Foods.

Something that looked exactly like this…because this is  exactly what it was, as some of you may recall.

First off, I told Tim that this Thanksgiving we are doing it RIGHT.  It’s our last Turkey Day before the sprout and I’ll be dipped if we’re not celebrating in style.  Which means we’re actually cooking and no one is comatose on the couch with a 104 degree fever (Oh, yes.  It was THAT bad).

Second, I know what you’re thinking: how did I get such an amazing immune system why is Tim getting the flu?  Well, we’ve figured out that each time THE FLU has happened, a few other things DIDN’T.  First, we Tim wasn’t taking any daily vitamins to help keep our his immune system healthy.  Second, Tim was stressed to the MAX, which made his immune system super taxed (I’m a poet and didn’t even realize it) and third?

HE DIDN’T GET A FLU SHOT.

And here is the interesting tidbit part about me never getting the flu. I’ve also never had a flu shot.  Not once.  Tim calls my immune system freakishly super human. He’s probably right.  I never get sick (I’m knocking on wood as we speak). I don’t know if it’s good genes or what, but I can count on a few fingers how many times I’ve actually been REALLY sick for days. Usually (which means rarely) what will happen is I’ll get a fever for a day, feel miserable, sleep for hours, wake up the next morning and wa-la! No more fever! Sickness obliterated!

Now, this year?  My entire no-flu plan has been blasted out of the water.

Why?

*I* have to get a flu shot.  As in, required by the doctor.  And not just any flu shot. Noooooo. That’d be entirely too easy. I need a preservative free, single dose, dead virus flu shot.

Why?

Baby. Bold. …..AT 17 WEEKS!  Look! It’s a tiny bump…I think?  And I swear my eyes aren’t closed…at least I’m pretty sure they’re not.

This little guest, a la the sprout, sitting in my uterus, apparently, has the power to make me crave Taco Bell, pee thirty million times a night and alter my immune system (which, totally believable based on the current status of my boobs) and pregnant women are more likely to get the flu and potentially DIE FROM IT.

FAN-FREAKING-TAS-TIC.

Not that I’m worried about the extremes…I’m just doing what I’m told…following “the plan.”  The flu shot during pregnancy can also potentially pass along immunity to the sprout once he/she (come on September 20!) is born so THEY don’t end up with the flu straight from the birth canal.  I mean, I’m hoping the sprout ends up with my immune system capabilities…but then there’s Tim.  The other half of the DNA strain…the one who does get the flu.

And why the special preservative free mumbo jumbo?  Mostly because of something called thimerosal.  Also known as mercury. Did you know that was in the flu shot vaccine…used as a preservative?

Me either.

These “special” shots are hard to come by and get used up fast. So, of course I had to find one because, personally, I’m not too keen on a 50/50 chance that the sprout gets sick OR I get sick with the flu (for the first time EVER) versus just sucking it up, getting the shot and dealing with the fact that I can no longer maintain my bragging rights.

*sigh* It’s been a good run.  28 years.

Secretly, though?  I’m afraid the flu shot will make me sick, anyway.  I’m freaking out all, “My body has never been introduced to this before.  What if it flips out and turns on me?”

It could happen.  Remember?  Pregnancy = altered immune system that I don’t even completely understand.

The ironic part about this whole post?  I found my special preservative free shot at Walgreens.  That’s where I’ll be going later today to be injected with the scary substance, so please excuse me while I go cower in a corner and cry.  Because if the physical after effect is anything like a tetanus shot?

I better get it in my right arm.  Better to not be able to write for a week than to not be able to sleep on the designated pregnancy side of my body (the left) without whimpering all night long because it feels like a softball has been stuffed into my upper arm.

I have to keep reminding myself that all of this potential pain and agony is for the sprout.

And Tim?  He’ll definitely be getting a flu shot this year.  I told him he’d be in seclusion in a hotel if he ends up sick.

The goal this fall and winter for our little family of two, soon to be three?

NO SICKY.  STAY HEALTHY.

(I think I might post that on all of the mirrors in the house.  Just, you know, as a friendly little subconscious reminder)

Don’t forget to help Walgreens help others! Visit their Facebook page here to learn about their charitable partners and decide which cause Walgreens will donate to with a quick vote. I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

27 Responses to “*bump update* and scary things like the flu…shot”


  1. 1 JessSutera September 13, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Um, you are SO SO SO CUTE. There is hardly a bump there but what I can see of sprout in there, is wicked cute. Just sayin’.

    I’ve never had the flu shot even though I’ve HAD the flu and it BLOWS. I always play roulette and hope that no flu shot doesn’t automatically mean I’ll end up flu ridden this winter. It didn’t work last winter, but it did the few years prior to that. So hopefully it’ll work out that way this year.

    For you though, flu shot is a must…and I will be HOPEFUL that no sickies come your way!!

    • 2 Jessica September 14, 2011 at 9:11 am

      This is my new sprout photography outfit! What do you think?

      I can only imagine how terrible the flu is…and I’m definitely crossing my fingers on the no sicky. Tim got his flu shot yesterday…so let’s hope it works!

  2. 3 jobo September 13, 2011 at 11:53 am

    That is like, bloat, that is not a baby bump. Wow. You ARE so cute! and I, like my sis, have never had the flu shot. The flu itself? Yep, it blows. I will do a no sick dance for you!

    • 4 Jessica September 14, 2011 at 9:12 am

      Yah…you’re probably (mostly) right…*sigh* Maybe I’ll be showing right before the sprout comes into the world?? 😉

      And can you please record your no sick dance? I’d love to see that.

  3. 5 thebakerbee September 13, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    So, I’ve gotten a flu shot every year since I was a sophomore in college… because I definitely got the flu every. single. year. Until then, and I haven’t had it since… well, except for the ONE year I didn’t get a flu shot (2008??) and, of course, got the flu. Don’t be scurred. You’ll be fine. Nothing like tetanus, though it definitely gets a little sore.

  4. 7 Shannon September 13, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    I’m loving the little bump! I’m not a fan of the flu shot for oraganic/saftey///reasons. I’ve had the flu but not often and always. Just once every few years.Here is to a seaon of no sicky sicky! Good luck getting poked!

  5. 9 lifestartsnow September 13, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    yay to the baby-bloat. i’m totally with jobo – it looks like you’re bloated 😉 sorry girl. but it’s a bump in progress, that’s certain.

    never had the flu and never had a flu shot either. like you i’m afraid that the actual shot will get me sick. and why spoil something that went well so far?

  6. 11 Sam September 13, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    I always get my flu shot. Funny thing about the flu, lots of people think they have it when they never have, then they get actual flu and realise how wrong they were. I’ve had it a couple of times.

  7. 13 Amber & Nala September 13, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    Good luck with the flu shot! I had no idea about the preservative free ones…sheesh…wish I would have earlier. Also, Happy Anniversary! The baby bump is looking cute.

    Amber

    • 14 Jessica September 14, 2011 at 9:16 am

      Thank you for the happy anniversary! And yes! Preservative free is the way to go…I think, anyway. Even if I wasn’t pregnant…Check Walgreens if you have one…next year, I mean…

  8. 15 steph anne September 14, 2011 at 12:25 am

    Congrats on the baby! What an adorable bump! 🙂

  9. 17 mm September 14, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I also have never had the flu, or the flu shot. And I’m likewise afraid that getting the flu shot now will actually result in my catching the flu! My husband gets it every year (as required by the military). I never get sick either. ever. However, I do get migraines (and have since I was 5), so I’m not sure if I’d rather be REALLY sick every year w/ the flu or deal w/ constantly taking precautions to prevent the migraines… maybe it’s a toss up?

    • 18 Jessica September 14, 2011 at 9:18 am

      Migraines SUCK. I used to get them when I was on the pill. Every month, without fail. I never realized how absolutely debilitating they were…and now that I know, I totally feel for you. Migraines might be worse than the flu…just sayin.

  10. 19 thoughtsappear September 14, 2011 at 7:03 am

    As far as I can remember, I’ve only had the flu once. It was awful. Luckily, it only lasted a day or two.

    And here I was thinking I was the only person who never got a flu shot!

  11. 21 Joann Eyster September 14, 2011 at 8:48 am

    You always give me a good laugh. If there was a apocalyptic event that killed all of us who do get the knock-down, drag-out flu bugs, you and my husband would be among the survivors. He is exactly like you. HIGH Fever, sleep more than his usual 6-7 hours, and all well. Makes me sick just thinking about it. Besides that, you guys could probably out run anything that was chasing you!!

    • 22 Jessica September 14, 2011 at 9:20 am

      Well, at least your husband and I wouldn’t be totally alone, right? We’d be like The Survivors that everybody (who is dead) talks about. Win!

      And as long as I could run faster than him, I’d probably stand a good chance of survival 😉 Though if all this happened while I was preggo…I’d for sure be eaten first.

  12. 23 Wildology September 14, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    By the time you read this, you will probably already have gotten it…so let me know how it goes. I told the doc last week that I didn’t want to get it. He said it was up to me but most get it in the 2nd trimester. I got my very first flu shot last year and was on the couch with a fever for 4 days after. Major suckage. For that reason, I am super paranoid about getting it!!

    • 24 Jessica September 15, 2011 at 9:59 am

      I did get it…Monday. My arm STILL HURTS! But…that really has been the worst of it…thankfully. I’m 18 weeks…so definitely into the second tri…if you do get one – go get the preservative free kind. It may have less side effects. Tim got his and felt bad for a few days…

  13. 25 Oregon Sunshine September 14, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Aww! I’m so sorry you have to worry about things like the flu and flu shots! The military uses (or used to use) live virus in their annual flu shots. So, when my ex, The Marine, used to get his flu shot annually, I inevitably came down with the flu.

    This year, I beat everyone to the punch and had the flu already! Even before the pharmacies were offering flu shots! Yikes!

    Baby Bold has a good shot at ending up with your immune system, Mama! At least for the first few months.

    • 26 Jessica September 15, 2011 at 10:00 am

      Ugh! That sucks! I can’t believe you already had the flu! That is so early! I’m glad you’re better now, though (right?). I hope so, RE: baby bold’s immunity. I definitely don’t want a sick little one!

      • 27 Oregon Sunshine September 15, 2011 at 1:30 pm

        Apparently, the flu has made an early entrance here in the PTC area. It’s sweeping one of the middle schools right now. I have no idea where I picked it up at (probably the Aquarium) as neither Dude nor Bad Pants has come down with it at all.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


