the most random questions, ever. answered.

First, thank you all for the wonderful anniversary wishes! Tim and I had an awesome weekend in Colorado Springs and I can’t wait to share…with loads of pictures to boot! 

Now, on the the meat and potatoes.  Or something like that…

Are you writing a book? I don’t know if writing or making a valiant attempt at doing so are the same things? So…yes?

Does it have a name? No…none of them do…yet. Unless you want to say they’re “a work in progress.”

What’s the last novel you read? Water for Elephants (I’m so predictable).  And know what’s next on my list?  The Hunger Games.  Again, predictable.

Is the internet more of a tool or a distraction? Depends on the day…because I think paying bills online counts as a tool…and blogging…probably a distraction, though I don’t always see it that way.

Do you vote in presidential elections? Yes. Well, I did in the last one.

Have you ever smoked pot, and if so, did you enjoy it? No…never tried the happy grass…though we now live in a state where medical marijuana is like, on every street corner.  Literally. So, I guess if I was ever tempted, this would be the place it would have happened…but I plan on staying Mary Jane free.

Do you listen to music when you run, or just the sounds of feet slapping? Tim and I used to listen to music – no, we HAD to listen to music or else we wouldn’t even make it out the door. However, at some point during marathon training, music started getting annoying and we ditched it altogether. Now we never listen to music unless we’re on the dreadmill. We talk a lot and watch for wildlife like bunnies and hawks and owls and, unfortunately, snakes.

What is the meanest thing you did when you were in junior high? I was actually pretty nice in junior high but I think the meanest thing I ever did was randomly – and for no reason – break up with my boyfriend in a note during class one day. We were in 7th grade, so it’s not like it was some serious, forever and ever relationship, but, still. It was pretty callous. I wrote the note (probably saying something like, “I don’t want to be your girlfriend anymore. The end.“), asked the person behind me to tell the person behind them to give the note to Jonathan. I turned back around, acting like nothing happened, knowing full well that Jonathan probably thought I was passing him a love letter. Little did he know…five minutes later I turn around and he’s red-faced and pissed. I can’t really say I blame him. I don’t even think there was logic behind me doing that. I don’t even know why I decided to do it. There was no pre-determined plan of attack. It just…happened. So goes the pre-teen hormones…

What kind of lunch do you like to eat? I don’t know how fair of a question this is for me to answer because the answer is different pre-pregnancy versus knocked up. Pre-pregnancy I’d usually have a huge smoothie after coming back from the gym. I wasn’t a big lunch person. I’m more of a liner person – a big meal that serves as lunch AND dinner. And those meals would usually be a huge salad. I had a love affair with salads that I’ve seemed to have lost since the little Sprout took root in my uterus. Now? Post-knocked up? Hm…I hate to say it changes daily…but it does change…daily.  It’s usually not even “lunch” – more like some kind of snack. Like cheese and crackers. I should probably keep track of what it is, exactly, that I’m eating…

What kind of a dater are you? Wait. Have you been- since now it’s only your husband (I hope ;) ): I’d like to think I still date Tim every now and again during “date nights.” Because, really, you have to keep the romance alive, people. As for before Tim? How do you categorize dating? I wasn’t a serial dater…I tried dating two people at the same time once and called one by the other person’s name (out of the gutter! Over the PHONE). After that, I decided I was better off with one person at a time…and I tended to date the one person for a loooooong time…like, months to years.

What’s the secret of life? I know I’m not supposed to say “seven” but it’s so much more fun that way! Anyhow, the secret to life? Don’t take it so seriously. I have to remind myself of that all the time, but it really does make “life” more interesting and fun when you’re not stressing over everything.

Are you working and if so, as what? Not technically? I write for a few other blogs periodically, like In the Powder Room, but that doesn’t really count as work, I don’t think. And attempting to write a book…I guess I don’t call that a profession, yet, either. In my past life (as in, when we lived in Atlanta), I was a Registrar for a culinary school.

Is there anything (as in, a thing) that you hang on to and would never let go? I hang on to lots of “things” that I probably shouldn’t.  I have this huge box – more like a woven crate thing from Michael’s Craft Store, of everything from Tim and my relationship.  I still have the movie ticket stub from our first date, cards, notes, random other things that we’ve given each other over the years that I probably should have thrown away but cannot seem to make myself do so…I can only imagine what this means once a child starts handing me pictures they drew and pieces of trash they pick up from who knows where…

What’s the most embarrassing thing you did/moment you had? I’ve had a lot of embarrassing moments…too many for me to count and most I’ve probably blocked from my memory…but as for the MOST embarrassing? Hm….I have to say this one – that I actually decided to write about awhile ago.  I still feel like crawling into a hole every time I think about it.  Basically, if you’re not up to clicking on the link lazy, what happened was my fourth grade teacher and I had a misunderstanding about what “puppy chow” really was…in front of my whole class.

How do you feel when you think about the fact, that pretty much all people with internet access can read what you’re writing? Sometimes…it’s a little strange. I’m putting our life OUT THERE for anyone to read.  And, not that everyone actually pays attention to me, some people do and sometimes I may never even know about their interest in what I write. On the other hand, however, writing is like my release. It’s what I DO. So, I don’t see it as any different than someone who put out YouTube videos or an autobiography in paperback form.

Do your friends and family know about this blog? Yes…which can be a good and a bad thing…but they know, nonetheless.

How do you see the age gap between Tim and you? Funny you mention that, as Tim and I were just making fun of the “age gap” the other day.  As in: he was graduating high school the same year I entered Kindergarten or he could have picked me up from pre-school when he first got his drivers license all, “I’m here to get my future wife…” That is when it’s almost comical to think about the age gap. Sometimes, it is obvious in other ways, like how he has so much more “life experience” than I do and when I want to do or try something that he knows, already, isn’t going to work, he wants to stop me from doing it instead of letting me fail. It’s like he’s trying to protect me while I’m trying to learn. It’s a tough balance to strike. MOST of the time, though, we don’t notice the age gap at all. I know that seems weird, but as Tim always says, “I’m immature for my age and you’re mature for yours.”

I guess that’s why it works.

5 Responses to “the most random questions, ever. answered.”


  1. 1 PJ September 12, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Love the answers! Also, you are not alone. My family and pretty much all of my friends call it “puppy chow”. And it is awesome!!

  2. 2 lifestartsnow September 12, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    good questions and i like the answers!

    the “mature” thing sounds familiar. i am totally the mature one in the relationship 🙂

  3. 3 Daniela September 13, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Was I the only one having so many questions?? *blush*

    Thanks anyway for answering them! 🙂
    Or should I say Thanks for the lunch, how about dinner at my house another time? *g*

    Oh and you know what’s even funnier? I was just wondering yesterday, how lunch and dinner thrown together like breakfst and lunch are called. Liner. Now I know. =) Thanks for making me smarter 🙂

  4. 4 Sam September 13, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    For some reason this isn’t feeding to my blog right, so I keep missing posts, otherwise I would have come up with a query too 🙂

  5. 5 Oregon Sunshine September 14, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Geek fail! The answer to life (and everything in it) is 42! Douglas Adams (writer of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy) and my husband would be so disappointed in you! It’s ok, honey! I’ll forgive you. You are, after all, from Georgia, where they look at those of us with geek tendencies like we’ve grown another head or something. LOL!

    I need help! I’m starting to pick up an accent if I talk to the locals for very long! HALP!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


