this is like me taking the first step and inviting you to lunch. or: the alien red thing.

I feel like we need to have a reacquaintance session.  Or maybe an actual acquaintance one.  Whichever.  It’s like I’m over here…and you’re over there…and we need to meet in the middle and become BFF’s or something.

So, this is like me taking the first step and inviting you to lunch?  Is that how it works?  I’m really terrible at this kind of thing, obviously.

Anyhow, leave a comment or send me an email (jessica at booshy dot com) with your question(s).  Nothing is off limits.  I don’t care if it even has anything to do with me…though that’s technically the game, here.  I’m just saying I’m not picky.

**edited to say: I never exactly told you when I’d answer…which is kind of unfair.  How about next Monday?**

And if you’re plum out of questions, here’s a little visual eye candy for your Tuesday.

That fencing you see to the left-ish?  That’s part of the boundary to our backyard.

And that big red thing?  A hot air balloon.  Almost landing in our backyard.  The dogs were freaking out all, “The EFF is that thing doing?….HERE?!…Wait a second…what IS that thing and why is it talking to me??….”

(They could hear the voices of the people in the basket.  Hence the talking)

(Hot air balloons are like, a daily occurrence, here.  We see them flying all the time over Boulder. They just…don’t usually land in our neighborhood)

22 Responses to “this is like me taking the first step and inviting you to lunch. or: the alien red thing.”


  1. 3 john September 6, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Are you writing a book? Does it have a name? What’s the last novel you read? Is the internet more of a tool or a distraction? Do you vote in presidential elections? Have you ever smoked pot, and if so, did you enjoy it? Do you listen to music when you run, or just the sounds of feet slapping?

  2. 5 PJ September 6, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Ooh, when I was in middle school a hot air balloon landed in the field behind our house! It was totally crazy and yet cool at the same time. It also let us stay up late on a school night and play with friends outside, who had also ventured out to see it.

    • 6 Jessica September 7, 2011 at 9:15 am

      That’s a really neat memory! Hot air balloons are really fun! Tim and I actually volunteer crew for them sometimes, so we get up close and personal with how it all works, etc. It’s fun!

  3. 7 lifestartsnow September 6, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    i love the excitement of hot air balloons gone astray! happened a couple of times in my home town. and yes, i took pictures, too.

    i’ll ask you questions if you invite me for a real-life lunch! 😉
    aaaand trust me, i take the nothing is off limits seriously 😉 muarrharrharr

  4. 9 Shannon September 6, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    My hometown has a full weekend where balloons from all over come. so cool! and uh..qts…I just worked 12 hours. my brain isn’t working. 🙂

  5. 11 Cara September 6, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    What is the meanest thing you did when you were in junior high?

    • 12 Jessica September 7, 2011 at 9:16 am

      You’ll never guess what it is! 🙂

      • 13 Cara September 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm

        You pants your principal?
        Wiped boogers on the kid next to you in Math?
        TPed your best friend’s house and blamed it on the nerd you both made fun of?
        Threw a homemade stink bomb in the quad while everyone was eating lunch?
        Ate everyone’s lunch?
        Made the boys think you liked them and when they asked you out, you laughed in their faces?

        Tell me if I’m close… 🙂

  6. 14 Joann Eyster September 7, 2011 at 7:53 am

    That is just one of the reasons I want to move to Boulder, Colorado Springs, just get me the heck of LA and to the mountains!! So now for the question…What kind of lunch do you like to eat? See when I finally do make it to CO I would like to know that lunch would be a compatible thing!

    • 15 Jessica September 7, 2011 at 9:17 am

      A lot of people who lived in CA move to CO…they must have the same feelings as you! 🙂 Boulder and CO Springs are two totally different places in regards to scenery and the type of people, etc but they’re both gorgeous and fantastic!

  7. 16 nysoonergirlnergirl September 7, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Not a question, but I’d love to see how you guys decorated the new place.

  8. 17 JaimeLynne September 8, 2011 at 6:57 am

    I was ask this and told to put this question and answer in my daughters baby book. I’m glad I did because my answer keeps changing as a parent.

    What is the most important/painful lesson you have learned at this point in your life?

  9. 18 Daniela September 10, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Ok…. hm….

    What kind of a dater are you? Wait. Have you been- since now it’s only your husband (I hope 😉 )
    What’s the secret of life?
    Are you working and if so, as what?
    Is there anything (as in, a thing) that you hang on to and would never let go?
    What’s the most embarrassing thing you did/moment you had?
    How do you feel when you think about the fact, that pretty much all people with internet access can read what you’re writing?
    Do your friends and family know about this blog?

    Now it’s enough, I guess =)


  1. 1 marital hell highway « booshy Trackback on September 7, 2011 at 9:38 am
  2. 2 four years. of marriage. it’s a record. « booshy Trackback on September 10, 2011 at 9:39 am
  3. 3 this is not exactly the honeymoon phase i was promised « booshy Trackback on September 10, 2011 at 9:40 am

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


