i have a new bff. her name? chalula.

Happy Friday!  Honestly, I’m actually more excited about NEXT weekend…but that’s another story for another time.  Like next week.

I have to just…say this…because I’ve already said it to Tim one too many times and maybe this will help me get it out of my system.  That’s the intent, anyway.

I AM SO EXCITED THAT IT’S SEPTEMBER!  FALL IS KNOCKING ON THE DOOR! NO MORE HEAT!

Just so you know, Tim and I endured the HOTTEST summer on record for Denver.  It has been miserable.  Well, I guess I should put that into some kind of perspective. It’s not as bad as Texas.  Or Georgia.  The heat + humidity makes things worse than miserable.  That kind of torture from May to October should really be considered some kind of torture device for criminals. I’m positive they’d tell us who killed JFK and if bigfoot really exists if you just left them outside between the hours of 12:00 and 2:00.  Without sunscreen.  Or water.

And just because we live in Colorado now doesn’t mean t wouldn’t know about that kind of unreasonable weather. Georgia was my home for 27 years, since the doctor yanked me out of my mother’s uterus (I was an emergency cesarean).

Then? A miracle occurred. Tim got a new job and we moved to Colorado and I was SO EXCITED to get milder temperatures. Except, I didn’t realize “mild” meant 90+ degrees for entirely too long.  And by entirely too long I mean about a month or so (I know, my Southern friends, a month? That’s peanuts). Granted, the nights were at least bearable and the humidity here is really low…so I guess what I’m saying is that I really shouldn’t be complaining.  But I am.

BUT.

That’s all over now!

IT’S FALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok…moving forward…because I’m sure you feel like Tim now all, “Shut it, woman. We heard you already. Got it. Capice.”

Even though I don’t really have much of anything to really say right now.  I had this overwhelming craving for spicy, hot boneless buffalo wings and birthday cake cake last night.

(Obviously, having nothing to say means I immediately jump to boneless buffalo wings.  Makes perfect sense…if you don’t think about it)

(FYI: to me, birthday cake cake is yellow cake with lots of white icing. Costco makes the BEST birthday cake cake I’ve ever had. EVER.)

Here’s an unknown tidbit about me: Pre-pregnancy, I was not a spicy food person. At all.  I could barely handle mild salsa. I’d ingest medium heat on a good day.  Now?  I douse everything in my new BFF, Chalula hot sauce.  The more my lips burn, the happier I am.  This baby has an obsession with spicy food.  I don’t even know what it means other than we better buy stock in  Chalula. I’m pretty sure it’s getting out of control, this spicy need that I cannot quash.  I mean, I put Chalula on my egg salad sandwich the other day.

It was delicious, if you must know.

Anyhow, last night I had to settle for Burger King instead of my wing and cake craving and guess what?

Baby does NOT like Burger King.

I still feel sick.  It’s like a residual blech just sitting in the pit of my stomach. And YES. TMI: I’ve eliminated already once this morning, so that probably isn’t the issue, here.  The issue is the baby didn’t get their boneless hot wings.  I could even do without the cake.  Just give me a pile of boneless hot wings – as hot as they come – and I’m a happy girl.  Er…more accurately, the baby is a happy baby.  Isn’t that the goal?  Happy baby?

Happy baby = HOT WINGS.

Aren’t certain cravings supposed to mean something in regards to the sex of the baby?  I’m not going to sway the poll – which is pretty much dead even right now – but I can tell you that MOST of the old wives tale “activities” to tell sex have pointed more to one sex versus the other.  Like a 90/10 split.  So, I’d be surprised if we ended up the sex that is currently holding steady with the 10%. Either way though, Tim and I will be happy.  I’m counting down the days to September 20!

Can you guess what Tim’s preference is for boy versus girl?  It’s not 50/50, I’ll tell you that much.

Wait, I skipped a step.  Why September 20?  Well, first it is Tim and my “month-a-versary” date. Yes, we still keep track. It’ll be seven years since we started dating (and obviously, eventually got married) on November 20. SEVEN. YEARS. he’s put up with me. That’s definitely some kind of record.

Oh, and September 20 just so happens to be the date of the “big” ultrasound where we will hopefully find out the sex.

No biggie…I mean, it’s only THE ultrasound every single pregnant woman looks forward to from the moment her pee stick is positive.

(which means I do a dorky, twirly happy dance every time I think about it)

(it’s only 18 days away, not that I’m counting or anything)

(I didn’t even need a calendar to count that, by the way)

(not that it’s hard to count the days anymore, but I’m math challenged, so this is kind of a big deal for me)

18 Responses to “i have a new bff. her name? chalula.”


  1. 1 Erin September 2, 2011 at 11:38 am

    I’ve always liked spicy food, but recently? I want it so hot that tear stream out of my eyes. NACHOS! With peppers and more peppers and chalula (also eating a lot of that – had some this morning with my egg sandwich).

    All the pregnancy sites I’ve read advise staying away from spicy foods, but I cannot. I need it hot, and more importantly, Alvie Bean needs it hot, too. 🙂

    Congrats on your pregnancy & surviving summer!

    • 2 Jessica September 5, 2011 at 7:17 am

      OMG! Nachos!!!! Those are the best when super spicy! And I’ve yet to get heartburn or indigestion from the spice….so I doubt I’ll stop…unless that starts happening.

      Also: thank you! So happy summer is on it’s way out! And thanks for stopping in! Hope to see you back sometime! 🙂

  2. 3 SupaCoo September 2, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Congrats my dear Booshy! I cried so hard at my 20 week ultrasound. And I even just went back to those pics the other day and gushed over how cute he is 🙂 It sucks that my doctor doesn’t do another U/S after 20 weeks unless there’s a problem cause I miss seeing the little dude! Can’t wait to hear what you’re having 🙂

    • 4 Jessica September 5, 2011 at 7:19 am

      I can’t wait until you’re done with the waiting! It must be brutal! I’m begging my little sprout to come early…like 39 weeks or maybe even 38…I was 2.5 weeks late and do NOT want the sprout to follow suit! 🙂

  3. 5 Amber & Nala September 2, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    I love spicy foods and I definitely had my fair share during pregnancy too. Good luck at your u/s!

  4. 7 PJ September 2, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    I’m guessing Tim wants a boy. All men want boys. Plus, he’s already in a house of all females, so I’m sure he thinks he needs some more testosterone.

  5. 9 SuziCate September 2, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Congrats! And you will both be thrilled no matter boy or girl!

  6. 11 Txtingmrdarcy September 2, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    I’m going to vote that Tim wants a girl. Because he seems super awesome, and super awesome men want girls. 😉

    Also, is it bad that I was like “Awwww, Booshy’s Craving!!! How CUTE!!” I’m an enabler.

  7. 13 lifestartsnow September 2, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    you crave spicy food? girl, get over here, i’ll cook us something spicy!

    in germany they do a number of ultrasounds and they even do a 4d (3d? whatever, it’s a movie of the baby and it actually looks like it will look once it pops out) ultrasound all as part of the regular prenatal care w/o additional costs.

    oh and of course i knew you could do the math on the dates. way to go girl! gotta do homework with baby eventually 😉

    • 14 Jessica September 5, 2011 at 7:25 am

      Whenever we make it over there, we are definitely visiting!!! 🙂

      Over here, the 3D u/s are not covered…only the 2D kind…though you can pay for an elective one whenever you want…

      Tim is hoping the baby gets HIS math skills. I can’t really blame him on that. 😉

  8. 15 Brandy September 3, 2011 at 4:50 am

    I love that this baby has brought so much enthusiasm and randomness!

  9. 17 We're Jumpin' September 4, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    A month is peanuts haha!!
    I am from Georgia and this year it has been basking in the heat since April, sigh. Maybe all the Georgia people can just move to Colorado or North Dakota? But then we would complain about the snow lol!!

    • 18 Jessica September 5, 2011 at 7:27 am

      Ugh. I totally feel for you as I’m typing this and it’s like 45 degrees outside…. 😉

      You know? That’d totally happen, too, the snow complaints. I’m sure of it.

      Thanks for coming by! Hope to see you around again every now and then!!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


