7000+ words and 2 days? not awesome.

You *might* have forgotten…but I’m doing that whole nanowrimo thing…yah. THAT.

Well, the month is almost over and I’ve got a slight uphill battle…uphill as in 7000 words in 2 days.

Why 2 and not 3?

I’m an overachiever and I am required to be finished by tomorrow.

Period.

I mean, if I was all shady and had no conscience, I could just copy and paste booshy blessings into my story and I’d be SET.

But unfortunately, I do have a conscience…and well, your thankfulness won’t exactly fit into my storyline…

So, that’s where I am today.

And where I’ll be tomorrow.

Though, tomorrow, I’m going to try and be funny.

Just for you.

And by the way, the flight home yesterday was shitty. REALLY SHITTY.

We couldn’t figure out if the pilot thought he was driving a drag racer or had never used a thruster before.

Either way, he couldn’t pick a speed…find a spot without turbulence….and nevermind we’re 10,000 feet in the air…and his “flight crew” didn’t take trash. That task was beneath them, apparently.

This was the conversation between the Asian flight attendant who had died her hair platinum blonde and a random woman in front of Tim and I:

Woman with Trash (WWT): Is there any way you can take this for me?

Asian Flight Attendant (AFA): I don’t take trash.

WWT: ummmm…really? So you’d rather I just through it on the floor or stuff in in the seat pocket or maybe just chuck it…see where it lands?

AFA: I don’t take trash. You’re just going to have to hold it.

Yes. I’m for serious.

And you can have peanuts OR pretzels.

Not both.

Taking both means you have to pay for the second one…with exact change. Cash only, people.

That is, unless your husband is nice and decides to take the other kind…to cheat the stupid ass system.

I was apparently on to something with my whole thing on budget cuts.

And I’m pretty sure they had to replace all of the tires after we landed.

I can’t be entirely sure, though, if we were riding on rims or the tarmac was just rough, as I was busy pulling my head from the ceiling since we bounced down the runway and then, once the pilot managed to get all of the wheels on the ground, he immediately slammed on the breaks and sent the entire plane, passengers included, careening into the seats in front of them.

Yay Delta (begin exaggerated finger twirling and eye rolling)

You suck.

9 Responses to “7000+ words and 2 days? not awesome.”


  1. 1 Laura November 28, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    FIRST! Am I first? I think I am. YES! I am so awesome! 😉

    I am so glad I decided not to do Nanowrimo, and I’m sorry your flight sucked. Flights are just crappy now. We always brought our own snacks along anyway.

    • 2 Jessica November 29, 2009 at 9:28 am

      Laura: You were totally first…and nanowrimo…wow. LOTS of words…LOTS. OF. WORDS. Bringing snacks is probably a good idea…

      dirtclustit: I’m starting to think you’re right…Babs is kind of mean…

      Jaime: As long as you finish…that’s all that counts. 🙂

      Stephanie: Thank you! You’re doing awesome, by the way!!

      samm: Maybe so but…I’ve never felt THAT on a plane before…and I don’t think the runway was short…small plane…world’s largest airport….I don’t know…maybe they put us onto some old, random runway…

      mark p : Me? Pressure? I love pressure. I think I do my best under pressure. I think it’s from my basketball days…

  2. 3 dirtclustit November 28, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Ditch babs

    MISS Moxie will give you insight on how to finish your book. (plus she might be able to talk you into letting me read it)

  3. 4 dirtclustit November 28, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    dammit, yes I moved. This and the previous comment has the correct link though (sorry booshy)
    http://trust4snowshadow.wordpress.com

  4. 5 Jaime November 28, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    I’m tired. And I’m NOT an overachiever. I’m going to do the required 50k by mid-afternoon on Monday with just enough time to get it validated and add extra words if I need to.

    Because it’s how I roll.

  5. 6 Stephanie November 29, 2009 at 12:59 am

    Damn, girl! That sucks. I know what that “Oh God! I’m so behind!” feeling is like but use the panic!!

    Good luck! I know you can do it!

  6. 7 samm November 29, 2009 at 3:26 am

    In defence of the Delta aircrew, the speed shifting might have been an effort to reduce turbulence….commercial airlines can’t just fly wherever they want, they get coralled into specific airways and altitudes by Air Traffic Control. As for the landing, maybe the runway is short and needs that kind of braking on touchdown.
    Some flights are going to be rough no matter what. That said I have had two beautiful flights in the past five days to and from my local airport which can be the most turbulent in the country on bad dsys.

    I can’t say anything in favour of the attendants. MAybe she was having a bad day but that still sounds kinda unprofessional.

  7. 8 mark price November 29, 2009 at 5:00 am

    I once was on a flight that sucked like that. Not fun. Maybe a good blog post though. I bet you will make your deadline. You kind of seem to me like someone who doesn’t often choke when the pressure is on. Any chance your adoring fans (and me) will get a peek at the finished work? (just kidding, I am an adoring fan. Gotta keep up the appearance of the Darth Vader of blog comments)

  8. 9 maureenlynn November 29, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    oh boo nanowrimo. maybe next year i’ll just quit my job so I have more time to write.
    i’ve never heard of flight attendants not taking trash before. not cool. but, yeah, budget cuts and airlines…seem to go hand in hand, skipping down the runway. la-dee-da.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


