the trots. they happen

If you haven’t read this yet, you should. Just sayin.

As for our Thanksgiving # 2…

It started with Turkey Trot # 2. They had chip timing and everything…or something like that. We’re still not entirely sure if we were being timed or were on probation…

The race course went down country roads and through neighborhoods. Where, exactly? Shit…I couldn’t even tell you how we got there if I wanted to…it’s all roads and trees and random houses to me. Ask Evelyn, the GPS.

In the neighborhood section we were almost run right the hell over by an irate woman in a minivan. Apparently, she had somewhere she needed to go and apparently some runner dude decided that wasn’t happening. He ran right along beside her, yelling into her drivers side window all, “Stop your car, asshole! This is a race…which means you need to park your fat fucking self on the curb and WAIT.”

True story.

Anyway, after the police (yes, the police) stopped her at the end of the neighborhood, everyone was fairly complacent until we hit the end of the race where the course squeezes down into a 2 foot wide muddy, downhill, root infested track where Tim and I almost ended up on our asses about 17 times in the span of 30 seconds – it was THAT bad.

(notice how I said *almost* which means: it didn’t happen)

We finished without going the wrong direction (yay us!), ate a cookie and an apple (well, Tim had a banana, but, whatever) and then drove back to his parents house to participate in the gluttony that was to be spread out over the remainder of the day.

This is us, post-race and pre-feast.

We totally went the right way. And we burned calories, which means more food. Yay! We're pretty sure we're awesome.

We have nothing post-feast…blame it on the food-induced coma. Or the pies.

Pie? No, this is not pie. This is ridiculous.

Today brings another tradition: Croissant sandwiches with leftover turkey, cranberry sauce and stuffing.

Yah…I thought it was disgusting too when Tim first told me about it.

But it’s actually a mouth-gasm and I’m recommending you try it.

Today.

Oh, and tonight, if you’re an East Coaster, wave!

Our asses will be flying home.

14 Responses to “the trots. they happen”


  1. 1 vmacandcheese November 27, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    See, you’ve actually done something to completely (or at least partially) negate the calorie fest yesterday. Me? Eh…not so much.

    I was planning on going for a run today — you’ve just inspired me to go a little bit farther!

    • 2 Jessica November 28, 2009 at 3:09 pm

      vmacandcheese: Soooo…..did you run??

      Angelia: It was probaby a smart thing…you leaving the pies. We’re glad we don’t have all of the food sitting around the house…. 🙂

      morethananelectrician: Umm……no comment??

      fattiefatterton: Thank you! Hopefully you did as well.

      rootietoot: I know, right. The falling would have made Thanksgiving rather unpleasant…

      Sherry: Awesome! So glad you stopped by and plan to join the “family.” We probably need some rounding out…:)

      unabridgedgirl: A 10k? That’s awesome…and kind of a lot farther…6.2 miles…yay! sister. 🙂

      only1tcb: There’s always tomorrow…or next week…or…well, you get what I’m sayin…*eventually*

      mark p: Next time…you know it. And the pies? They were excellent…and didn’t give anyone the trots (well, not that I’m aware of…)

      submom: Those were all homemade pies. For serious.

      peedee: You have those?!? I’m not alone in this tradition? Yay!!

      DJ Kirby: Ummm recipes I have not…names of pies I have. We had pumpkin, pecan, lemon meringue, apple, chocolate and custard. My fave? Apple.

  2. 3 Angelia November 27, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Mmmm pies, pie lovin’ dreams, pie de pie goodness – not ridiculous at all. But man, all the pies were left at Jason’s moms. DANG!!!

    And what’s up with the mad mom in a minivan? WOW. Congrats on your run!

  3. 4 morethananelectrician November 27, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Those are the same anklets they put on the Sheriff’s weekend grass cutters/DUI Crew around here so they can keep track of them when they make a break for it. They didn’t make you weed-eat the curbs as you went by did they?

  4. 5 fattiefatterton November 27, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    So glad that you had a wonderful day! 🙂

  5. 6 rootietoot November 27, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Just looking at all those pies made me happy. And I’m glad you didn’t fall on your ass.

  6. 7 Sherry November 27, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    What a delightful blog! I’m so glad I stopped over to see it. I’ll be a regular from now on!

  7. 8 unabridgedgirl November 27, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Yay! I am glad you had fun with the race (depsite stupid mini-van drivers). My sister-in-law ran a 10K yesterday. The pies look so yummy!

  8. 9 only1tcb November 27, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Cool. I felt guilty when I saw the trotters in Detroit yesterday. I know I should have had my tail out there running too.

  9. 10 mark price November 27, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    What a rip off. I read the title and thought hey, Jessica crapped her pants and is totally coming to the dark side to blog about it. Hmmm maybe next time. LOL!! Congrats on finishing the trot. I’m glad you had a good time and oh those delicious looking pies. YUMMY!

  10. 11 submom November 27, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Please don’t tell me all those were home-made pies. Gorgeous. Glad to hear that you had a nice run despite the crazy woman with a van…

  11. 12 Peedee November 27, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    I totally live for the day after Thanksgiving. Its all about THAT sandwich. Mouth-gasm is putting it mildly.

    Oh and cheers for running in the right direction this time.

  12. 13 DJ Kirkby November 28, 2009 at 3:26 am

    Yay you two! I demand to know details of the pies, this instant. Names, flavours and recipes damnit!

  13. 14 Stone Fox November 28, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    i want those pies. all of them.

    and, LOVE the “model pose” you’re rocking in the picture.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


