5 years. a picture story

Today marks 5 years Tim and I have *known* each other. We celebrate this day…our day-of-the-month-we-met-a-versary.  We’re special that way.

I truly cannot believe how much has happened since 11-20-2004. 

It’s been 5 years of…well, more than I ever expected. And damn. We’ve changed.

me: "Holy shit. He's 13 years older and probably thinks I'm retarded." Tim: "I'm totally awesome. Score."

me: "So I'm wearing jewelry and sitting inside a mountain. Whatever." Tim: "She's still here. I'm awesome."

me: "We're engaged! And we totally just spent an entire day painting pottery. Yay!" Tim: "I just painted a damn pot and used a princess dress stamp. Not awesome."

Me: "??!@$" Tim: "Ummm. No. We're married. You don't touch the knife. Or anything else with sharp edges. Including tupperware."

me: "Run up the snow hill! Hurry! It'll make an awesome picture!" Tim: "That's not a snow hill. It's a drift. And it's unstable."

Apparently 2008 was the last year we took pictures together.  All I could find were pictures of me…or of random things like leaves. I mean, there’s the Utah set – but those are all on Flickr…and you’ve probably already seen them.

I’ll make it my goal to take pictures over Thanksgiving so we can prove we were actually *together* during the holiday instead of just supposedly in the same proximity.

Tomorrow morning we’re running our (now) annual Turkey Trot…yay?

And have Thanksgiving #1…with my family.

(So, you can surmise what that means…)

28 Responses to “5 years. a picture story”


  1. 1 mepsipax November 20, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Nice pics. Congrats. He looks scary with the knife. I am not allowed to play with knifes.

    • 2 Jessica November 20, 2009 at 3:41 pm

      mepsipax: Well, at least he doesn’t have the potential to like…maul anyone with it.

      Peggy: Yay! Thank you! I’m going to let him know what you said…that I’m awesome, basically 🙂

      Breeza: Thank you! Are you in LA yet?

      Jennifer Lynn: Is it? Oh…you will HAVE to share to gory details. The first one is always interesting, to say the least…

      maureenlynn: You should make Matt do it. Tim had fun (though he’d never admit it. EVER.)

      mommasunshine: Truthfully, it is mind boggling…I still can’t figure out how we fit everything into 5 years…when it feels like it’s been 50.

      LB: You get butter knives? Not fair. Spoons really suck at spreading things like jam…or peanut butter…

      Barista: Thank you! I tried to find some yet-to-be-viewed ones 🙂

      franzi: Whatever I can do to please…I mean, it’s the least I can do.

      Theresa: It IS nice – I will admit. Doing things like running across a bison carcas by yourself? Not cool.

      Deb: Wow! You’ve already hit the 10 year mark…and I only say that because I was thinking about it earlier all, “wow…5 more years it’ll be TEN YEARS.” And that kind of makes my brain explode. Thanks to you, I now know I’ll actually survive. 🙂

      Angelia: What I DIDN’T post was how we completely messed up the whole intertwine the arms and drink champagne. Yah – we had to have a mulligan on that. Afterwards Tim was like, “we probably should have practiced that.”

  2. 3 Peggy Nolan November 20, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Tim’s right – he so scored 🙂

    Congratulations on 5 years of happy togetherness!!

    Peggy

  3. 4 Breeza November 20, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Congratulations on the 5 year mark 🙂

  4. 5 Jennifer Lynn November 20, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Nice photo history! The Turkey Trot is awesome! Enjoy!

    This is my first Turkey Day with HIS family…..feel ya.

  5. 6 maureenlynn November 20, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    yay pictures!

    i totally want to paint some pottery now. too bad matt refuses to do anything fun (aka girly) with me, like dancing or going to musicals. he’d do the hiking, though, at least.

  6. 7 mommasunshine November 20, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Isn’t it wonderful and amazing at how much can happen in 5 years? Congrats! 🙂

  7. 8 LB @Wait, She Said What? November 20, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Congrats on your 5 years! We’ve been actually together 5 years too and it still amazes me how long ago that feels yet feels like yesterday.

    Oh by the way, I’m not allowed near knives either. Like ever. Except butter knives because I haven’t managed to mess up with one of those yet. I’m sure the day will come.

  8. 9 Barista November 20, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    I so love looking at pictures! Yay!! Congrats on the big 5.

  9. 10 lifestartsnow November 20, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    5 years – congrats!

    i especially like your comments to the pictures. much better than those scrap book stickers you can buy 😉

    franzi

  10. 11 Theresa November 20, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Congrats! Life is so much fun, and it is great to have a best friend to share it with! Enjoy it!

  11. 12 Deb Thaxton November 20, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    –>Good times! My husband and I have been together for 11 years and married for over six. It’s crazy how fast the time goes.

    http://www.WebSavyMom.com

  12. 13 Angelia November 20, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Where are the puppies?!?

    🙂

    That wedding photo looks like Tim is about to take the knife to his own throat, and you’re all like DO IT and DIE, you married me, BIATCH!

    Or it could be a super happy moment of the lovely couple about to eat together for the first time. HA.

    Congrats! FIVE years, WOOT!

  13. 14 finn644 November 20, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    is it wrong that I covet your tiara??

  14. 15 Spot November 20, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Great pics! And I love your pic comments!! Congrats on five years…may your have many more to come! We used to celebrate the day we first started dating. January 27, 1990. He wrecked my car. What an auspicious beginning. I should have run. But we always celebrated by eating spaghetti because we’re romantic like that.

    ♥Spot

  15. 16 justrun November 20, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Happy Meet-iversary!

    I am also not allowed around the sharp things. Ever.

  16. 17 crazy in the making November 20, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Congrats on five years!

    Is this the day you met online or in person?

    It is awesome that you two are still celebrating the day you met.

    I remember the date hubby and I met, but I always forget to acknowledge it when it rolls around. But I also can’t remember our wedding anniversary. I am always a day early. I guess hubby is the girl in our relationship. 🙂

  17. 18 submom November 20, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Congratulations! You made a cute couple. You still do. And you totally were a kickass lovely gorgeous bride. I am jealous of the huge wedding cake. Please tell me it tasted awful. Or that you still have the top portion of it in your freezer.

  18. 19 theoneandonlyviolet November 20, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Awww, I love picture stories, you two look so great together, CONGRATS on the 5 years!

  19. 20 Violet November 20, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Umm, the last message was mine: i was logged into my wordpress account…I have too many things going on this computer! :-)…theoneandonlyviolet

  20. 21 mark price November 20, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    You are a lovely couple! Congrats on 5 years. Thanks for sharing the pix with us!

  21. 22 shutterboo November 20, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Wonderful! I find it hard to take pictures with my hubs too – mostly because I like being behind the camera but whatever.

  22. 23 morethananelectrician November 21, 2009 at 7:10 am

    He is gripping that knife very…VERY tightly. Sleep with one eye open.

    Congratulations…you both look happy. Holidays with families can turn those smiles to frowns. Keep a united front!!!!!

  23. 24 habanerogal November 21, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    LOve the captions but we totally need some new evidence in the way of turkey photos. We also celebrate that day we met we call it the meet-aversary, then there is the hump-aversary well you get the idea.

  24. 25 Shannon November 21, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Hey painting pottery is very relaxing! Great pics! Congrats!

  25. 26 Mary Lee November 22, 2009 at 11:33 am

    These are wonderful photos! You two look great…no one would ever guess that a couple of posts later, you’d have a picture of yourself with a turd smear on your leg.

    (Yeah, I know– you said it was dirt….)

    As my husband tells me, You sure clean up nice, Girlfriend.

  26. 27 jen reynold November 23, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    He will turn out to be gay in a few years mark my words


  1. 1 snippets of conversation from thanksgiving #1 « booshy Trackback on November 24, 2009 at 9:33 am

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


