today…is picture day.

What’s the word for where you are stressed to the point you cannot even keep your realities straight? Because, oh, yes, there’s more than one. And spelling simple words is impossible, along with making coherent sentences? And using appropriate punctuation? Help me?

Yah. I’m that. Or there.

I currently have 2695 words to write today…to make it to the 15,003 required for day 9 of this novel month bullshit.

I mean, I don’t think it’s bullshit. It’s just….well, you write 50,000 words in 30 days. Which breaks down to 1667 words a day. Fucking. Hard. Especially when you fall behind. Which I did. Stupid me. I’m planning on writing 3000 words today. Just to feel like I’m ahead somewhere in my little realm of insanity.

So, we’re playing picture day today. Because I feel like it. And I don’t really post many pictures anymore…so I’m really just trying to make up for my lack of picture posting to you. You’re welcome.

Look! It’s like a throw-back picture. It’s a younger Tim and me. Like…4 years younger. Plus, Tim has a goatee! I know – that’s totally new and different. And I was 21. Yay alcohol!

Tim & Jess Christmas Eve

And what if I told you we would be here in less than 6 months?…just hopefully not freezing our asses off like were the first time around.

Freezing. On Maui

And a short little drive down from that frozen tundra was this awesome little field WITH A RAINBOW. You just can’t script that shit.

Rainbow

Oh, remember that moonset picture? Well, here’s like, behind the scenes crap…this is the sunrise we were initially waiting for. The moonset totally wins.

DSC_3121

 And this is me…in front of my favorite mountains. Looking for flat rocks to skip or staring at my reflection to see if it’d carry on a conversation…hard to make a fair judgement from this angle.

Jessica & the Rocks

Apparently, Tim likes to take pictures of me staring at the water and I also love the color orange. The hell?

Jessica & Zion Rocks

Did you like picture day? The answer is yes, you did. Why? Well, this might be the *last* time I ever…I mean, come on! Dammit! Looking at all those pictures made me want to go on vacation. Immediately.

I really have no clever way to end this other than to tell you that I am currently fighting with my alter ego – who is putting up a very convincing argument to grab my keys, get in the car and drive to the airport.

26 Responses to “today…is picture day.”


  1. 1 Laura November 9, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    I LOVED picture day!! You should post more soon… like current ones, ya know. Hehehehe. 😉

    • 2 Jessica November 10, 2009 at 7:10 am

      Laura: Current…like…yesterday? Those were from whenever we first started dating (04) and then 07 and 08…so yes…some 2009…we’ll have to get some of those.

      franzi: Yes. I, too liked the randomness.

      Jaime: 😦 when’s he supposed to come home?? Hopefully soon.

      Angelia: Oh, right…it looks like I need a “current” + “fur-children” day…

      Breeza: The news will break soon, I think 😉

      bevchen: Write those things down and send ’em over! I mean, it’s only FOUR! 🙂

      Stephanie: I hit my target yesterday (3000)…how’d you do?

      maureenlynn: Yes, you are…well, quite far behind. You can do it! (think: Waterboy).

      Spot: I’m a Psych major. I can totally help with your “selves.”

      Peggy: You’re taking a writing class! That’s awesome! Where’d you find it? Is it at a local college?

      Sam: totally…..funny. And well, it helped me see patterns. So I guess that’s good somehow?

      Daphne: Funny you say that…when Tim got home, he was like, “hope you were planning on picking me UP on the way…” 🙂

      Bethany: I’m sure you’re semester will be over sooner than my…work. *sigh*

      habanerogal: Funny thing about me and baths: I don’t fit in the tub.

      submom: You’ve figured me out. Damn.

      Em: Of course! You’ll be the first to know. 🙂

      fattiefatterton: Really? Orange? See, I’m usually a pink person…unless we’re on vacation, apparently.

      Anonymous: (I’ve never responded to an Anonymous before…and would really appreciate if you’d write your name…cause Anonymous is one of those words I have a HELL of a time trying to spell… 🙂 ). Well, here’s to December 1….cause I’m certainly looking forward to it.

      unabridgedgirl: You’ve participated in hell before? Tell me, how’d you survive?

      DirtyHooker: I know! The crazy part…it’s not all photo-shopped up. That’s really what it looked like.

      Kathy: Daily, actually. 🙂

  2. 3 lifestartsnow November 9, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    i like picture day! and it allows you to post sth really long looking when in fact you just write randomness to find a sensible connection between the pictures 😉

    i’m SO ready or a vacation now

    franzi

  3. 4 Jaime November 9, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Pictures are always a hit in blogs. 😀

    I wish I could take pictures with my husband this year, but alas. He is in Iraq. That would be a really big photo.

  4. 5 Stephanie November 9, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    I’m 4500 words behind too, so I’m feeling ya there!

    Great pictures and good luck with your 3000!! 😀

  5. 6 Angelia November 9, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Yay pictures!!! Wait, where are the puppies and kitties? DAMN!

  6. 7 Breeza November 9, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Last time huh? ….Can’t wait to hear the news!

  7. 8 bevchen November 9, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Your pictures are amazing!

    By the way, I have written a list for your thanksgiving thingy 4 times INSIDE MY HEAD. Unfortunately it’s not much use to anyone in there…

  8. 9 maureenlynn November 9, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    those are great pictures! I want to go there, now.

    And I’m so very far behind on my writing. It’s sad.

  9. 10 Spot November 9, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Loved the pictures. Where were you exactly? And where are the new pictures??

    I’m so totally sucking at the whole NaNoWriMo thing. I’m like 10,000 words behind. So in my book you’re like amazing for keeping on track. Go Jessica! And right now I’m fighting this internal battle with my procrastinating self that doesn’t want to get offline and start writing. And my “write fright” self who’s scared that I’ll sit there and stare at the screen and nothing will come out of my brain and I’ll FAIL. I think my selves need therapy…

    ♥Spot

  10. 11 Peggy Nolan November 9, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I’m about 8,000 words behind and will get there when I get there…

    I’m also in a writing class that requires me to re-write some of the stuff…too bad my complete re-write of my first 500 words doesn’t count. Although I added about 150 new words…bummer.

    Great great photos!!

    Peggy

  11. 12 Sam November 9, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Nice pictures!

    Speaking of which, here is a picture of 1000 words if it helps (click on the pic to enlarge)

    http://offblack.blogspot.com/2007/11/words-and-pictures.html

  12. 13 Daphne November 9, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Yay picture day! On the way to the airport, don’t forget to pick up Tim and bring the camera!

  13. 14 Bethany November 9, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    I heart pictures! 🙂 That makes me realllllly want to leave and go on vacation. Is the semester over yet?

  14. 15 habanerogal November 9, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Pictures rule in fact I used to work at a stock photo agency and during “down” times I would go on mini holidays by looking at photos from other places. Good luck with the writing, put on some cool tunes light up some insence and get bizzy, or just go take a bath.

  15. 16 submom November 9, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Yeah, for pictures. Yeah for procrastination too! (I suspect that we are mere pawns in your scheme to NOT work. But I am happy to be used in the way. You are welcome)

  16. 17 Em November 9, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Picture Day is AWESOME! Also, when you are finished with the fantastic novel you are currently working on, are you going to share with us? ‘Cause, I wanna read it!!

  17. 18 fattiefatterton November 9, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Orange is my favorite color!! 🙂 Great pics!!

  18. 19 Anonymous November 9, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    I did NaNoWriMo two or three years ago — crazy experience but one well-worth having! Keep it up!!

  19. 20 unabridgedgirl November 9, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Oh Girl, are you trying that NaNoWrMo? I feel for you.

  20. 21 DirtyHooker November 10, 2009 at 12:34 am

    That shot of the mountains is amazing. It doesn’t even feel real.

  21. 22 Kathy November 10, 2009 at 6:37 am

    3,000 words?!?! I can’t even get 100 down for a blog post. Did anyone ever tell you you’re insane?

  22. 23 mark price November 10, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Nice pics Jessica and Tim. I wanna go on vacation too please.

  23. 24 unabridgedgirl November 10, 2009 at 10:58 am

    You mean – – one can survive it?

  24. 25 Stephanie November 10, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    NO!! I didn’t hit my target!! By the time I got home from work, I was so brain dead that I managed about 150 words over 2 hours… I gave up and went to bed.

    But I still have a little bit of hope that I can get this done!!


  1. 1 today is…*recent* picture day. « booshy Trackback on November 12, 2009 at 1:03 pm

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


