you’re famous?! hell no. hand it over.

First: I will admit that someone did guess my little secret. But that’s all I’m sayin.

Second: I have to completely brag on the husband because he’s awesome…in the eyes of National Geographic.

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC!!!!!!!

(Sorry, that’s like, you should be totally excited. We’re all sharing in this experience together)

(It’s a screen shot…so you’ll know which picture to look for if you’re all supportive-like and click on it. He’s in the nature category…under one of the weeks in August…it usually pops up under August Week 2, but the pictures randomly change…I even bolded the important parts and hyperlinked the picture for you. Cause I’m nice like that)

tim nat geo screen shot

He entered a few photo contests a couple of months ago…I finally convinced him that his pictures were just as good as the previous winners and professional photographers. I mean, I think his pictures are incredible. I know, I’m biased but…that’s not the point. Last night, I decided to check out Nat Geo’s website to see when the photo contest ended, ran across the gallery of editor’s picks…started clicking through and then was all, “HONEY! YOU’RE WINNING! YOU’RE WINNING!! THEY PICKED YOU!!” I mean, technically he hasn’t won (yet)…but I mean, getting picked by the editors has to count for something, right?

And you’re all totally privileged. You get to see his little gallery…before he wins or something. Then once he’s like, Mr. Famous Photographer, you can be all, “I knew him when…he had to post his pictures on his wife’s blog.”

You know…if he becomes more famous than me…well shit. I do not have a contingency for that scenario.

All he has to do is take pictures in beautiful, serene locations…the hell?  I write in a fucking box and get tossed a few saltines every few hours by Crazy One-Eyed Mervin all, “DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT RESURFACING  UNTIL IT’S PERFECT.”

That’s kind of shitty, if you ask me.

I mean, not that I wouldn’t be happy for him…I’d just need equal notoriety.

I’m probably acting immature.

Maybe I’ll call today Fuck It Friday.

32 Responses to “you’re famous?! hell no. hand it over.”


  1. 1 davis November 6, 2009 at 8:58 am

    That’s a BEAUTIFUL photo. I’ll definitely watch for it when my issue comes. Thanks.

    • 2 Jessica November 7, 2009 at 11:37 am

      ***to everyone…for sending your awesome congratulatory notes***
      Thank you!! Now Tim actually believes he knows how to take a picture…yay! One less daily battle. Oh, he says thank you, also. He was completely blown away with the support…I mean, how often does “Mr. Booshy” (LOVE THAT Miss. Cherry Red!) get props?”

  2. 3 nysoonergirl November 6, 2009 at 9:02 am

    He’s an amazing photographer! Congrats to him!

  3. 5 Miss Cherry Red November 6, 2009 at 9:30 am

    GO MR BOOSHY!

    What a cracking photo.

    A disgrace if he doesn’t win. 🙂

  4. 6 Peggy Nolan November 6, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Congratulations Tim!

  5. 7 Kid Icarus November 6, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Oooh Oooh – did I guess it right?

  6. 8 Barista November 6, 2009 at 9:55 am

    That’s most fantastic. I love his pictures

  7. 9 Jenera November 6, 2009 at 10:16 am

    What a beautiful photo! Being a photographer I’d kill to be selected by any editor

  8. 10 Spot November 6, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Go Tim!! That’s amazing good news! What if he wins, you finish your novel and it gets published?! Then you’re both famous and rewarded for your creative efforts!! But then what if a meteor crashes into earth and we all die? Hmmm…i may be seriously sleep deprived.

    Congrats to the Hubs!! I hope he wins!

    ♥Spot

  9. 11 Anne Dewvall November 6, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Wow, Congrats to both you and Tim! I include you in the congratulations because everyone knows that behind a great man is an even greater woman… Although I have never heard that statement reversed, so i suppose if you get famous, you get all the credit for yourself ; )

    Just kidding of course – that’s a gorgeous photo! Hopefully he is basking in the praise : )

  10. 12 maureenlynn November 6, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Hey, that’s awesome! I love National Geographic. Congrats Tim, great picture!

  11. 14 Amanda November 6, 2009 at 11:34 am

    That picture is GREAT!

  12. 15 Stephanie November 6, 2009 at 11:56 am

    That’s awesome. What a gorgeous photo.

  13. 16 Theresa November 6, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Uh-May-Zing! (People who spell that shit out instead of using the real word are kind of annoying, but I wanted you to know how impressed I really am.) The photo is beautiful and certainly worthy of all the praise.

  14. 17 mrssoup November 6, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    So incredible!! That is SO AWESOME!!

  15. 18 Erin November 6, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Woohoo! Huge congrats. But I still think he’s small potatoes compared to you 😉

  16. 19 Angelia November 6, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    That is a bad-ass picture! OMG! I am so impressed. AWE-some! Congrats to Tim.

    Here’s another cracker, gremlin – it’s a RITZ!! Now get back to your box and shut the smuck up. HA!

  17. 20 Angelia November 6, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    That’s my way of getting you to win NAMO, so you will BOTH be winners, yeah, yeah, thank me later. 🙂

  18. 21 Shannon November 6, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Go Tim! That is awesome. I love that picture. I wish I could pull stuff out like that. Amazing and congrats to him!

  19. 22 carissajaded November 6, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Congrats to yall! But remember the small people! Beautiful picture btw, he’s got some major talent.

  20. 23 ToadMama November 6, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    I’ll bet Tim just LOVES being called Mr. Booshy!

    So, what was the secret? I’m dense. It’s been a rough week…

  21. 24 lifestartsnow November 6, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    great picture!

    you 2 do realize that us stalkers now know your full names (the smart ones to anyway)…run and hide!!! oh wait, that’s what you are doing already to write your novel. you’re on the safe side then i guess 😉

    franzi

  22. 25 Stone Fox November 6, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    that is an absolutely stunning picture, and wow! good for tim.

    don’t worry, darling, we’ll all still love you just as much as we do now, even if tim gets *way* more famous and you start being referred to as “that photographer’s wife”.

  23. 26 submom November 7, 2009 at 2:56 am

    Congrats! I hopped over and the picture is stunning. Did he also write the caption? It was very nicely written. It IS a big deal getting chosen by the editors to be presented on their website. Do you have any idea how many photos are entered in these contests? Well, me neither. But I assume TONS. Photographers are all starving artists, there is no way they won’t cease this opportunity, that’s what desperation will do to you… Btw, I have a great idea for you two to share equal notoriety as you demanded: Tim Taking Nekkid Photos of Jessica. You are welcome.

  24. 27 submom November 7, 2009 at 2:58 am

    OMG. I need to hit the sack. It is supposed to be “seize” as in “seize the day”, and not “cease” as in “cease fire”. THIS has nothing to do with me not being a native speaker…

  25. 28 Paula November 7, 2009 at 5:49 am

    that is such a stunning photo!!!!

  26. 29 Linnnn November 7, 2009 at 7:20 am

    “The desire to capture a sunrise over Jackson Lake was instead replaced by a fleeting moment of nature’s pure beauty that only migrating elk and early birds typically have the joy of experiencing. Timing is critical and it is rare to have your camera at-the-ready during a brief moment of cooperation from each of nature’s elements before all vanishes behind the snow-capped horizon.”

    Soundtrack: Let it be, let it be, let it be, oh let it be.
    Whisper words of Wisdom, let it be.

  27. 30 Heather November 7, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Congrats to Tim! That photo is absolutely stunning! You should of course take some credit, you are the power behind the throne right? Of course you are. So, in reality, he couldn’t have done it without you. So congrats to you too 😀

  28. 31 Leese November 7, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Incredibly awesome… I’m so incredibly jealous!! I just figured out how now to cut heads off when I take pictures!! LOL!!

  29. 32 fattiefatterton November 9, 2009 at 12:00 am

    I finally found it and it’s just amazing!! You are both so talented. 🙂


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


