bold finds (aka the blogroll) + (i hate daylight savings) = mass confusion

I’m probably supposed to be doing something important. Like feeding the dogs or cooking something or straightening the dish towel so Tim’s brain doesn’t explode.  Or changing the clocks…but that’s Tim’s job cause he’s the only one who knows where all of the 50 clocks are…I’m not exaggerating. It’s like the house of clocks…I once counted TEN clocks that I could see from my perch on THE BED.

If the clock changing responsibility was left to me, we’d either be an hour early or two hours late…because I’d probably forget which one’s I’d already changed and change them again…during which I’d forget what time it was and then go check the nearest clock…which would be wrong…and then I’d second guess myself and make the clock I was changing an hour earlier than the one I just checked…and by the end I’d totally be fucked.

Personally, I think it’s asinine. This daylight savings crap…fall back…spring forward…why not just leave it the hell alone. Not only is it a pain in the ass…but it makes traveling confusing as hell…since PARTS of the United States (I’m talking to you, Arizona) have decided just that. Fuck you. We’re not changing. Which is all well and good…but it really pisses people off (Tim and me) when they’re trying to visit part of your state and find out they’re an HOUR EARLIER than scheduled and have to find something to do in a town that is about a MILE LONG (Now, I’m talking to you,  Page, Arizona…what the hell do you do?…other than go to one of the fifty churches crammed onto one road across the street from the high school or vandalize the Walmart?).

But, back to the clocks. When in the history of…ever have I ever been all Suzie Homemaker? Never. I’m Jessica. Home Destroyer.

So instead, let’s do an activity that will do nothing to improve my current housal situation…hell, it’d probably deteriorate it in some random, indirect way.

And without further stalling by yours truly: I have an announcement.

It’s finally here.

An actual, bona-fide blogroll. The one I promised…however many posts ago.

You thought I forgot? Thought it was some ploy to get you to add me to yours (Did you? Cause that’d be awesome)?

Hell no. I reward shameful self promotion.

Now go find yourself.

Or add your blog (which will require you to admit to said shameless self-promotion).

I mean, it can be our little secret…until your name magically appears…then, well, we’ll all know you’re just as desperate as the rest of us.

Which is awesome in a bad popularity contest kind of way (because you know, fame will not come from being listed. What you’ll get instead is way better: an overwhelming sense of relief for finally admitting that you like to see your name underlined and hyperlinked somewhere other than your own blog).

Which is definitely worth a few minutes of finger-pointing and staring and having that “kick me. I’m an asshole” sign slapped to your back.

Oh…and here’s a picture of Maddie and Lexi…greeting the Trick-or-Treaters from behind the baby gate. Lexi’s “waving” her massive godzilla paw.maddielexihalloween

It had to be this way…or else they’d pummel the tiny pumpkins and ripped apart zombies.  I mean, what parent allows their 3 year old wear an outfit that shows more blood, bones and open wounds than clothing? And then further adds to said costume with spatters of red food coloring covering the ripped, white shirt?

A+ parents.

It was FUCKING  AWESOME.

18 Responses to “bold finds (aka the blogroll) + (i hate daylight savings) = mass confusion”


  1. 1 esdowd November 1, 2009 at 9:01 am

    I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but your “go find yourself” doesn’t link with your “bold finds” page. Luckily I’m smart enough to actually click the page itself. But then, my desire for shameless self-promotion wasn’t fulfilled, ’cause my blog wasn’t even on there. 😦 (Yes, that’s me asking to be put on there without looking too self-promoting.)

    • 2 Jessica November 1, 2009 at 2:38 pm

      esdowd: Actually, I think your computer was just fu-bared. There was no error. Impossible! And I’m always right. Just ask my husband 🙂 (kidding…thanks for the catch)

      Cindy Lou: ohh…that would make me mad…all expecting to watch something and then have to wait a whole HOUR because of the stupid DST…and thanks for the luck! It’s NaNoWriMo…but I think I like nannernanner WAY better.

      Momish: Oh. Wow. That would have been something I’d do…I actually had to ask my husband today if our phones reset by themselves or not…because I was confusing myself all, is it *really* 12:00 or is it 11:00? THE. HELL.

      middle-aged woman: SO funny you say that. As Tim was resetting all the clocks, I was all, “Doesn’t that start like tomorrow? What are you doing??” Oops.

      franzi: I know! I cannot believe it’s November…and I am SUPER EXCITED about shopping. I LOVE Christmas…yea! And, if I can turn you into a dog liker, then I think that’s a pretty big accomplishment.

  2. 3 Cindy Lou November 1, 2009 at 9:03 am

    I so agree with banning DST….although I do love the ‘extra hour of sleep.’ Sleep is good! Other than that, let’s just leave things alone so as not to confuse us easily confused folks. Got all excited this morning because I thought it was time for CBS Sunday Morning and pissed when I couldn’t find it until my husband said, “You still have an hour to go before it comes on!” What the hell? I hadn’t changed the clocks yet! His alarm clock is the only one in the house that “sets itself” and the rest are up to me>>>>BLEAH! Good luck with you nannnernanner (couldn’t remember the real name) novel!

  3. 4 Momish November 1, 2009 at 9:14 am

    I got royally screwed this year with the DST (I too am a mess when it comes to this stuff). I set my new alarm clock an hour back before going to bed only to find out this new model adjusts itself to DST. Had to reset everything and now I am completely confused.

    I love that photo! What sweeties!!!!

  4. 5 middle-aged-woman November 1, 2009 at 9:16 am

    All the electronic clocks in the house reset themselves. EXCEPT my fancy-schmancy HD radio, which had to be reset by hand. And of course I was irritated this morning, thinking they were ALL WRONG, IT’S NOT UNTIL THE FIRST SUNDAY IN NOVEM…oh. Right.

  5. 6 lifestartsnow November 1, 2009 at 10:02 am

    what a cute ‘high 5’ picture! you are going to turn me into a dog liker (i’ll never make it to the lovers stage).

    it’s november! can you believe it?! time to get those christmas presents..

    franzi

  6. 7 Breeza November 1, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    I agree, it’s pretty stupid. And I HATE when it’s dark at like 4:30. Ugh.
    Thanks for the add 🙂

    • 8 Jessica November 2, 2009 at 8:48 am

      Breeza & “Seattle Heather”: You’re welcome!

      Jenera: Good use of the over-rule 🙂 – though he probably would have gotten more candy as a dead swat guy….

      Pop and Ice: 4am?!? What does he DO?! Actually, I really understand…since Tim could “potentially” be on the phone at any time, day or night, depending on what’s going on. But, you definitely get points, I think.

      Linnnn: It’s all beginning to make sense now….no wonder my mom sheltered me from the Catholics (he entire family…except her, is Catholic)

      oregansunshine: Yes, Alaska…and I think PART of Indiana too (which is utterly retarded)…I think Alaska is beautiful, but I’m not entirely sure how I’d handle that all-light or all-dark business…

      Erin: That’s funny. I’m glad our “earliness” wasn’t too deterimental…because missing a FLIGHT would have resulted in a lot of choice words being, well, thrown out all over the place…and at everything and anyone who got in the way…

      shoalswriter: Hi! Thanks for stopping in! Hopefully none of that coffee spilled on anything…that would be sucky. Definitely glad to have you join us…and I say us because I think this is beginning to take on a life of its own 🙂

  7. 9 Jenera November 1, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    My kid was almost a 3 year old covered in blood. He was a SWAT guy and my husband thought it would be fun to make him a DEAD SWAT guy. But I think it’s wrong to make little kids gory so I over ruled him.

  8. 10 Pop and Ice November 1, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    My hubby had a 4am conference call Sunday morning and it dawned on me, shortly after midnight, that we hadn’t reset any clocks, etc. and that he would be up an hour early for a middle-of-the-night phone conference. And since I couldn’t fuss around with his clock without waking him or knocking into his C-PAP machine, I had to wake him to remind him and to let him fix his own clock. I felt so bad….but he did get the extra hour of sleep, so I think I get wifely credit for the catch, even though it was a tweet that really reminded me.

  9. 11 oregonsunshine November 2, 2009 at 12:00 am

    Don’t leave out Alaska! It’s so pointless to worry about springing forward or falling back there because it’s either light ALL the time, or dark ALL the time. No one sleeps in the summer and no one is awake in the winter! Why bother changing the clocks?

    I decided that I’m going to dress my Freya up as a lamb next Halloween. Then we’ll have a “wolf in sheep’s clothing”! Maybe I should go as Bo Peep as well.

  10. 12 Erin November 2, 2009 at 3:46 am

    I once missed a flight because I was staying in Nevada and the airport was 90 minutes away in Arizona. Only, Arizona is all f’ing holier-than-thou and doesn’t change their damn clocks. = flight missed. And we just happened to be flying a cheap airline that only flies from Arizona 2x a week = back to Vegas = -100 for the hotel but +500 I won gambling. But the point remains: F-Arizona.

  11. 13 Linnnn November 2, 2009 at 4:01 am

    The “fall back” is a religious plot that Dan Brown has yet to capture in one of his conspiracy books. On “fall back” Sunday, the clergy gets to see who will walk into church an hour early, look befuddled, then having nowhere to go, just sit and doze. The clergy clap their smooth little hands with muted glee, sidle up to we befuddled ones like smiling trap-door spiders,and hit us up for money. Or your first-born.

    That is why I am a pagan.

  12. 14 shoalswriter November 2, 2009 at 8:14 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, because that led me to yours — and some wonderful laughter to go along with my coffee this morning. Keep it up! I’m going to look forward to being a regular visitor here.

  13. 15 Stephanie November 2, 2009 at 10:38 am

    What’s even more confusing than a whole state deciding it doesn’t want to play along with the time change, is one small section of the state. Indiana is very weird.

  14. 16 bevchen November 2, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Woo, I found me!

    The whole cloks changing thing confused me as well. And now I’m even more confused cos ours went back a week ago. Also, we don’t say daylight savings time so every time I hear that expression I’m like “What is that even supposed to mean?!”

  15. 17 Kristin November 2, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Oh my gosh..too cute..waving her paw like that!! It looks fake 🙂

  16. 18 DJ Kirkby November 3, 2009 at 12:55 am

    You are hilarious. And, quite insane. Obviously.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


