i’ll be in my dungeon for 30 days

***Update*** My nanowrimo username is booshy2. Someone already stole “booshy.” Damn them. So, if you ask “booshy” to be your writing buddy, I accept zero responsibility for their actions…or rejection of your buddy request…since I already told you it wasn’t me.

The good news? The dungeon has internet access.

I know, it’s totally generous of the dungeon so I don’t fall off the face of the planet. Because that’s probably what would happen.

I’ve been toying with this whole write-some-semblance-of-a-novel-in-30-days thing. Otherwise known as NaNoWriMo. If I don’t set myself some crazy deadline, it’ll drag on for decades. And I’m not a patient person, so decades don’t exactly work within my plans for total domination. Soon, you’ll all say “I knew her when…she wasn’t living in a dungeon.”

I work well under pressure. The pressure is what makes my ideas awesome. It’s probably why this blog is totally lame…there’s no pressure. I mean, who’s gonna yell at me all, “YOU’RE LOSING MY MONEY!”

No one.

So, basically, I’m saying I need someone to yell at me.

Anyhow, I have no idea HOW I’m going to do this…I know a lot of you are participating in the self-inflicted torture…but it’s not like we get to sit down together and compare our battle wounds over chocolate. No. That would be entirely non-productive…we’d be too engrossed in trying not to get the bits of flesh and dried-out scabs mixed with the chocolate. No one likes a slightly crunchy, slightly chewy surprise (If you’ve never tried a scab, well, then you’re in denial. And you’re welcome for the trip down memory lane to that time you fell off your bike because you didn’t know how to navigate the curb, which resulted in a massive scab on your knee you gleefully peeled off a few weeks later. I actually just had an egg-burp after writing that…which is the universal precursor to emptying the contents of your stomach).

Instead, we sit in silence…locked away from the world…because you have to get into character…which typically isn’t very in-line with reality.

And this tends to create an uncomfortable tension when your husband is all, “What do you want for dinner?” And you answer, “She’s locked away in the closet. Gagged and bound. With a unicorn. And a giant cupcake.”

Exactly.

And no, I will not be writing anything relating to horror. It’s too gory for me to even think about. I’d probably barf on myself before I even finished killing off my first victim. And then it’d ruin the manuscript…or the keyboard. Either would be really unfortunate.

I’m still not completely decided on what story to write. I know – I’m sure you’re all, “Humor. That’s where this road ends.”

Maybe…but I’d like to think I’m capable of not only making someone laugh…but also cry…or get really anxious…or really pissed…or barf on their pillow.

Well, maybe not that last one.

Though that’d be a huge resume builder: My story was so awesome, I made someone ruin their pillowcase.

Damn.

If that doesn’t sell your credibility…nothing will.

21 Responses to “i’ll be in my dungeon for 30 days”


  1. 1 middle-aged-woman October 30, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Go for it. I need a new pillow, anyway.

  2. 2 LB @Wait, She Said What? October 30, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Well you made me WANT to puke with the whole ‘crunchy and chewy surprise’ thing with the scabs and chocolate. I don’t even know if I wrote that right since just thinking about it makes me gag.

    So, uh, good job. I think.

  3. 3 Cyndi October 30, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    Chuck Palahniuk would be proud to make people barf on their pillows. So should you. So should you.

  4. 4 Angelia October 30, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Doooooooooooooooooooo iiiiiittttttttttttttttttttttt! Misery loves company. I barf, you barf, we all barf together. Blaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeech!!!

    Dang that just gave me an idea of how to get to 50,000 words, Rock on!

  5. 5 Jaime October 30, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    I, too, am doing NaNoWriMo. Be my nano buddy! Email me your username and I’ll add you. 😀 I can pester you and you can pester me about word counts and such. It’ll be fun!

  6. 6 Angelia October 30, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    HA! I found you. Let the beatings begin. (whaaapchooooo *totally a whip cracking sound)

  7. 7 Mark October 30, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    All the best novels have some puking in them I think. I must examine this nano-mammo thing. I couldn’t write a novel but maybe I could poke fun at some of them, or plagarize some stuff for my blog.

  8. 8 Kid Icarus October 30, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Sounds kind of fun! I could never gather my space-cadette thoughts long enough to write a book. So I commend you!

  9. 9 maureenlynn October 30, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    yay! i just added you as a buddy. my username is myo421

  10. 10 Spot October 30, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    I’m still undecided. I hate commitment. And deadlines. And anything that suspiciously reminds me of a routine. Me being all nonconformist and all. Plus, I’m not really much of a “joiner”. And boy, can I justify my total procrastination or what? Yeah.

    But I’m like way proud of you for signing up. Go Jessica!

    ♥Spot

  11. 11 Laura October 30, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    I’m not doing NaNoWriMo, but I AM doing NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month), and writing every day for the month of November in my blog. Maybe. Hopefully. Probably not.

  12. 12 franzi October 30, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    oooh, you’ll get that really sexy computer tan 😉

    good luck with writing! i’m sure we’re all excited to read something from you!

    franzi

  13. 13 centria October 30, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Booshy! You’re doing NaNoWriMo, too! Oh how exciting. Yep, I’m in. You can find me as centria. We’ll have to buddy. Won’t it be fun to see how we keep up blogging while writing a novel? Should be a crazy month!

  14. 14 Bethany October 30, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    I added you on NaNoWriMo 🙂

  15. 15 Anne Dewvall October 31, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Hmmmmmmmm……..So you’re trying to rope me into doing something else! Perhaps you can help with my quandry:
    I’ve already got a significant chunk of my novel written. Not saying it’s any good, but I’d hate to start over on another project for the hell of it. I could always start from where I am now and discard the first chunk (thinking of it more as a possible prologue for post-November novel reunification). I am a stickler for rules. Maybe this doesn’t matter as much as I think it does….as long as I write 50,000 words in November perhaps I’m golden.

    Thoughts?

  16. 17 Cindy Lou October 31, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    And you’re doing this in November? The month before Christmas….you go, girl! I’ll be in yours and centria’s corners as you go crazy – I’m good at wiping up tears and puke. Can’t wait to see what’ll come of you! Have fun… 🙂

  17. 18 Jeanne November 1, 2009 at 9:06 am

    I signed up for this, too, in an attempt to stop my obsessive editing-while-the-plane-is-in-flight and get a freaking first draft DONE.

    My NaNoWriMo username is JEstridge.

    I’d say “see you around the blogosphere,” but I have a novel to write! Till December…

  18. 19 Anne Dewvall November 1, 2009 at 10:35 am

    ok, I’m in!

    adewvall

    P.S. I just visited your user page and your word count is STILL ZERO. Just thought I’d rub it in that you have made no official progress ; ). Wow, why am I being so mean this morning? I can’t even blame it on lack of coffee..

    Anyway, the starting pistol has rung out, let’s put our fingers to the keys and start churning out some words that possibly, hopefully, might result in a few flashes of brilliance.

    Good luck everyone!!

  19. 20 Peggy Nolan November 2, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Hey – you know I’m in…only because DJ Kirkby roped me into this “I have no idea what to write about but I’ll do it anyways…”

    Geez.

    I managed a little over 2200 words yesterday…and I’m scared to death that I don’t have a book in me…

    Words…don’t fail me now!


  1. 1 *updated* i think i just threw up. a little. « booshy Trackback on November 2, 2009 at 4:46 pm

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

your favorites (I didn’t pick ’em)

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


