yea for randomness! Oh…and happy buff-tober.

I CANNOT TELL YOU HOW HAPPY I AM THAT…

YOU LOVE MY RANDOMNESS.

SO MUCH SO I AM REQUIRED TO TYPE MY GRATITUDE IN CAPS.

BOLD CAPS.

I’m like… a box of fucking chocolates…(I’ll let you finish that sentence).

Anyhow…Happy Buff-tober!

What the hell, right?

I’m stealing the phrase from brother (Jeff). A few years ago, he decided to take the entire month of October to get buff. Hence the “buff” instead of the “oct.”

Why is it “Oct” – tober, anyway? There is nothing “eight” about it…like octagon or octopus or octuplets or…whatever. You get my point.

But, holy hell, his buff-tober experiment worked. He got like, all ripped and stuff.

So, whatever it is that’s magical about October, I’m doing it…I’m going to be buff-tober by November.

My posts might get totally mean and make entirely no sense because I’ll be going through withdrawls…caffeine…sugar…all the good stuff…GONE. So if I start writing sentences and a word like chocolate or cupcake or cookies winds up in the middle somewhere, completely out context…blame it on the withdrawal.

I guess I haven’t really explained my version of buff-tober. I kinda thought it was self-explanatory…but so is a cup of steaming hot coffee…and McDonald’s paid dearly for that little mistake…

So, during the month of buff-tober (October, people. Follow along), I’m going to force myself to do AT LEAST 60 minutes of something “active” every day. That damn commercial with the kids wearing t-shirts with #60 on them, running in slow motion in some big, open field with ginormous professional football players, the message voice in the background all, “encourage your kids to be outside for at least 60 minutes a day…or else you’re a sucky, lazy, sorry excuse for a parent” has gotten me all paranoid.

Haven’t seen the commercial? Well, here, let me sum it up for you: IF YOU’RE A PARENT, GET YOUR KIDS OUTSIDE. THEY NEED THE FRESH AIR AND SUNSHINE, DUMBASS.

I don’t even HAVE KIDS (yet)…but how am I supposed to encourage something that I DON’T DO?

So, it’s time to go into habit-forming mode…then, whenever the baby-making begins, I’m already awesome.

And buff.

I started this morning by running 3 miles. I decided on 3 miles because 6 sounds too far right now and I’m slow and 3 miles always takes me a MINIMUM of 30 minutes. If you can finish 3 miles in under 30 minutes, I don’t need to hear about it. Really, I don’t.

I’ve decided Maddie and Lexi will also benefit from buff-tober, so we went for a 30 minute walk when I got back.

And holy shit balls…it’s going to be a LONG. ASS. MONTH.

Walking TWO dogs…much different than just one. Twice as many opportunities for something to sneak it’s way into a mouth…and if one smells a mailbox or tree or patch of grass…so must the other.

I marked October 31 with a picture of a candy corn, cause I’ll be damned if I don’t get my candy corn…so I had to start one day early to “technically” get in 31 days of buffness.

28 Responses to “yea for randomness! Oh…and happy buff-tober.”


  1. 1 Kid Icarus September 30, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Holy bat droppings Batman! Me too! I totally dictated October to be “In-shape-for-my-dad’s-wedding-by-Noveber” ober. But I honestly don’t know how I’m going to simply ignor all that Halloween candy! I too run (I promise I won’t post my pace/times) but haven’t since I got married. It’s like…hell, why? But you’ve inspired me to get my ass back out there and do it before my Dad get’s married.

    PLEASE post your “I’m ignoring you candy corn” techniques! I’ll need the motivation!

  2. 2 Barista September 30, 2009 at 8:53 am

    I’m going to join the Buff-tober Challenge. Yes, I just made it a competition.

  3. 3 Daphne September 30, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Good for you, Jessica, this is awesome! I’ll look forward to hearing how it goes!

  4. 4 Blondie September 30, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Oh, I was thinking “buff” as in “naked” and I was thinking that was mighty bold of Jeff to be doing!

  5. 5 peedee September 30, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I freakin love you!!! I woke up after not sleeping (again) and decided, EXERCISE is what I need!! I havent played ball (softball) in like 2 months because of stupid knee surgery (acl replacement). I’m full of unused energy is what I’m thinking the problem is and it makes for shitty sleep. And the dog that sleeps on my head doesnt help.

    I feel your pain with walking two dogs. Walking one of mine is pure joy. (kinda) But when I walk both of them together, its pure fucking pandemonium. I must look like a total freak on the street, getting dragged in two different directions or god forbid they both zone in on the same thing they want then its pure bullet like speed to said object with me dragging behind trying (not successfully) to keep up. Ugh, its exhausting. And I scream at them. And it doesnt matter, they have me on ignore at all times anyway. pffft.

    Competition it is!! I need competition so you guys are elected mine!

  6. 6 Sunnie September 30, 2009 at 9:37 am

    This should be interesting—I have been doing the get healthy thing for about 3 weeks now….I have a long way to go but i feel so much better already.
    Can’t wait to read your future blog entries as the caffeine and sugar seeps out of your body—-I haven’t been able to give up the caffeine.
    Sunnie

  7. 7 PottyMouthMommy September 30, 2009 at 9:47 am

    this is going to come across as so pervy… but my first thought when you said you’re a box of chocolates was “mmmmm chocolate- does that mean i can eat you???”

    and then I stopped to think about that and was like… uhhhh… wait… that came out wrong!!

    wait… that’s not the point of this post… dammit woman- here you get me all excited about CHOCOLATE (mmmmm chocolate) and then you go and make me think about EXERCISE!!!! gah!!! sacrilege!!! heresy!!! I denounce thee demon!!

    Exercise and chocolate in the same post… *mutter mutter* just plain wrong I tells ya! Leave the chocolate out of it- and buff-tober just sounds cool though!!!

  8. 8 forthespectators September 30, 2009 at 9:55 am

    You earn yourself a nice set of muscles when you walk two dogs!

  9. 9 Amanda September 30, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Buff-tober sounds like a great idea…I might have to do it myself…

  10. 10 mrssoup September 30, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Great idea! I think October came from Octavius, but I could be randomly pulling that out of my ass. Hard to say.

    Good luck! I’ll watch your progress from over here, eating bon bons.

  11. 11 eatingmachine September 30, 2009 at 11:11 am

    i’m with the watcher (ohhh that sounds creepy) as buff-tober tends to be allergiessoawesomeicantevenbegintobreat-tober.

    if blowing my nose and being a little high from claratin makes me buff though, i’m golden.

  12. 12 Sarah September 30, 2009 at 11:15 am

    October is the eighth month on the old Roman calendar, by the way. I knew those Latin classes would come in handy…

  13. 13 centria September 30, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Isn’t randomness fun? Who knows what will come out? Good luck with your commitment, Jessica. You can do! (just don’t listen to your mind when it tells you it doesn’t want to.) ha ha…

  14. 14 Bj In Dallas September 30, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    LOVE THE NAME BUFF TOBER!! I’m doing my version too, after seeing photos. Of my fat.
    Working out, eating veggies, gave up sugar, what else does this world want from me?
    I draw the line at wine, though.

    love your blog, I’ll be back…

  15. 15 peedee September 30, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Umm, ur a superstah!! The Bloggess totally quoted your comment at the bottom of her post about snowcones. Congrats and sorry your snoopy snowcone machine sucked. At least you got one. pfft. All I got was the sucky Easy Bake Oven that never worked.

  16. 16 LB @Wait, She Said What? September 30, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    I just found your excuse for when you can’t resist cheating and have to have some candy corn. The Bloggess picked your comment as ‘comment of the day’ on the snoopy snow cone post!

  17. 17 Mindy@thesuburbanlife September 30, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Oh, I am so taking the “Buff-tober” challenge! I’m all over exercise like a fat kid and cheetos . Wait…that’s my problem. I like cheetos. Too much. Exercise-be-damned. We need a Cheeto challenge. God help me.
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

  18. 18 habanerogal September 30, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I salute you on your goal to be active everyday in October I on the other hand may just try the other version of buff and try to spend an hour naked everyday because that would be so much easier and less stabby

  19. 19 aviewfromme September 30, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    Oh no! And here I post those cream puffs to tempt you. That’s why I take a Jazzercise class, so I can indulge in that sweet goodness now and then. hehe. Love your bloggy. So glad you popped in to visit so I could reciprocate. ~Jeanne

  20. 20 lifestartsnow September 30, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    alright, you ladies all get in shape in buff-tober. is it bad that all i can think of how busy i will be this month and how “all sales” i have to be this month (it’s crazy)…i just can’t afford to be caffein and sugar deprived.

    buff-o-ember sounds strange, buff-cember won’t work (we all know that already!). how about buff-anuary? who’s with me on that??

    franzi

  21. 21 Carissajaded September 30, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    I hope you will be keeping us updated, because I’m sure on board with this. But i fear if I work too incredibly hard, Ill get burned out and my next few months would be Buldgevember and Beastcember.

  22. 22 Angelia September 30, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    I love October. It represents a possibility of 60 degree temps (finally). It’s my favorite running weather! However, I can hardly haul my lard rear down the road. Meh. I’m undecided. :-/ Happily waving you to go on ahead.

  23. 23 Belle September 30, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    So ambitious!! Starting off with sixty minutes! Geez. When I go on a workout kick, I think 20 minutes is hardcore. Good luck on buff-tober!

  24. 24 lwayswright September 30, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Happy Buff tober to you…I am going to make buff tober my done-tober!!! i am going to be done being treated like crap by people who are supposed to love me, done being a “nanny, taxi driver, maid etc” to my selfish step son….I am just DONE!!!! Soo good luck with yours!

  25. 25 littlemsblogger October 2, 2009 at 5:27 am

    Have you thought about playing ‘Friend for a Funeral’ by Elton John, dimming the lights and walking slowly around the room with the plant in your hand until you reach the garbage can?

    Sorry to say this, but I think the plant, is, ummm… done.

  26. 26 ittybittycrazy October 2, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration. I was supposed to have achieved a 14 by 40 goal by now. Size 14 by the time I turn 40.

    Except… not so much.

    But I am fitter, thanks to Silent Evil.

    http://www.ittybittycrazy.com/imported-data/2009/2/14/health-is-wealth-when-are-the-endorphins-coming.html

  27. 27 submom October 3, 2009 at 12:08 am

    What a great idea! But if I am active, I can’t really read your blog then, can I? Huh? Have you thought about that? 😉 Just kidding. I love how you loan your space out too to keep people inspired and motivated. Thumbs up! <– That counts my activity for tonight.

  28. 28 submom October 3, 2009 at 12:09 am

    Oh, and I LOVE random! 🙂


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


