a theme? that’s like asking me to color inside the lines.

I had no “plan” when I started blogging…other than to write stuff and hope people would read it.

Mission accomplished…I think.

I still need more readers though…I will never have enough purses or enough readers. There will always be another one that just…calls my name.

Anyway, someone left me a comment yesterday all, “I still have no idea what your blog is supposed to about…”

Well, guess what?

Me either.

As much as I enjoy making lists and checking off “to-do” items…there are certain pieces of my life that will always be unplanned and unscripted. Parts that are totally arbitrary and random and have people shaking their heads all, What in the hell…? She’s…she’s special, that one.

I like it that way. It takes the stress off having to fit and conform into an uncomfortable mold…I was typecast in school…all the way through college.

And I HATED it.

The REAL ME was not who everyone thought I was. To them, I was the quiet, nice girl who never did anything crazy or spoke out-of-turn. Now, part of that was my fault…but I’ve since broken free and let who I truly am come out…and it has made me SO MUCH HAPPIER.

My point…yes, I do have one…is that I don’t plan what I blog…the things I write about…that’s the randomness in my life that just…happens.

BUT that comment made me think about you, my dear readers…yes, you.

And that alone should totally make you feel pretty damn important.

Anyhow, I know we’re all creatures of habit and we like certain things in just such a way. We all look forward to stuff…like the weekend or Taco Tuesday or the yearly trip to the beach or mountains or whatever.

And you come here every day or every week never knowing what to expect – because, like I said, I’m totally random.

But we could do something about that…we could make something here a guaranteed constant. I did get feedback a little while ago about doing reviews on things…or restaurants…or girly items that are awesome…and then where you can go to find them.

Would you like that?

The Friday Review?

Or is the randomness the draw?…The attraction?

I’m cool, whichever way works just fine for me.

I’m just trying to give you a voice, here, people.

An opportunity to make a change.

So, now’s your time to ‘yea’ or ‘nay’ a day of non-randomness.

Well, the item will still be random…unless you give me something to review…or have super powers and can read my mind.

Oh, and it’s going to be called “bold finds”

Why “bold” finds?

Cause it’s the most awesome last name in the entire world.

I’ve got the husband to thank for that.

I told him he better be glad he had a last name I liked…cause I refused to marry a Smith or a Jones.

A sucky last name was a non-negotiable.

27 Responses to “a theme? that’s like asking me to color inside the lines.”


  1. 1 Daphne September 29, 2009 at 9:04 am

    This is awesome, Jessica. Personally, I think you should do whatever the heck you want to do with your blog. I read because I like the way you write, I like your stories and your randomness, and I like that you come across as happy in your own skin. You really shine through. Change, don’t change, whatever. Just be happy with what you’re doing here.

  2. 2 Shannon September 29, 2009 at 9:24 am

    I’m with Daphne. We read because we like what you write. Who cares if it has a theme. Do whatever makes you happy!

  3. 3 Peggy Nolan September 29, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Jessica,

    Is the bark on a tree organized? Not really. Don’t sweat it. You have a great writing style. What you write will either resonate with readers or it won’t. You can’t please everyone all the time.

    Work at your craft.

    Fine tune the rough spots.

    Be Daring.

    Try New Things.

    (I think I’m writing a post of my own)

    Be BOLD. 😉

    (But you already are!!)

    xo
    Peggy

  4. 4 Rose September 29, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Random, funny tales – that’s what keeps me coming back. Your daily experiences are insanely humorous!

  5. 5 Mindy@thesuburbanlife September 29, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Yep, I’m with everyone else. And as a fellow blog-writer I know what it means to just write what has inspired you. That being said, sometimes it’s nice to know you have a topic at the ready if you need one…like a review. Of course, to really shake things up you could totally randomize your regular feature…hm? Sometimes we have a review and sometimes….we don’t? I’m sorry…it’s early for me and I haven’t even finished my first cup of coffee. I love your blog, and your style!
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

  6. 6 crnnoel September 29, 2009 at 10:07 am

    I’m a pretty new reader of yours, and I love what you dish out 🙂 It’s original, and you’ve got a style all your own. Go with it lady! Who needs parameters to write in, especially on a blog that’s all your own?

  7. 7 Chell September 29, 2009 at 10:18 am

    I don’t think you need to change anything… Your posts are so random and that is what makes your blog… your blog! It’s your style, and it’s great. Don’t re-shape your style, it is fine the way it is!

  8. 8 Breeza September 29, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I agree. I don’t think you need to change anything. It’s your blog, write about whatever you want!
    As for your last name, it is cool. I refuse to change my last name if I ever get married to something that is worse than my current last name which is pretty much butchered by everyone who attempts to say it. I’d like a regular last name.

  9. 9 NySoonerGirl September 29, 2009 at 10:58 am

    I read because I find you entertaining. And your randomness is part of the entertainment! Plus, I’m pretty much the queen (or at least the princess) of random. So, to judge your randomness would be unfair. And I like fairness. Having said all that, I wouldn’t be opposed to a review day, but I’m not requesting it either. I’m happy. If I weren’t I wouldn’t read!

  10. 10 peedee September 29, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Random is good. Life seems so structured all the time. I enjoy random, immensly. And somebody else above said it real well, your randomness is insanely funny.

    Keep it up momma, and if you want to add a structured day have at it. I’ll still come back creeepin ya! lol

  11. 11 Jenera September 29, 2009 at 11:28 am

    I have no theme, no method to my madness, and I like it just fine. I’d rather read of randomness than know exactly what I’m getting every time.

  12. 12 mrssoup September 29, 2009 at 11:30 am

    I love your randomness. And what an awesome last name too! Brilliant!

  13. 13 Kid Icarus September 29, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Honestly I think you should do whatever you want. Random posts are good, it keeps me on my toes and makes me think…what’s going on with that Booshy girl today, it’s always something different.

    If you had a blog that was always the same thing, I may wake up and go “what’s going on with Booshy today…oh that’s right, I know already because she always posts about the same damn thing.”

    It’s like the food blogs I love. I only go there when I’m looking for something new to cook/eat.

    Yay for randomness!

  14. 14 summer picnic September 29, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    I so understand your dilemma. It took me forever to launch my blog last year because I just couldn’t decide what it would be ABOUT. Turns out, it’s about anything I damn well please, so you should do the same if you feel like it. But recurring theme posts (Taco Tuesday) might help to give you structure. Play around with what works best.

  15. 15 GroundSquirrel September 29, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    I started reading this blog because you popped by my blog, and I rarely get readers I don’t already know, so I checked in here. I stayed because your blog is good.

    There’s are plenty of consumer- and restaurant-review sites out there, but good blogs are few and far between. Write about what you want to write about.

  16. 16 Erin September 29, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Stay random! No need to pressure yourself. Your writing is great without some kind of “feature” that we need to come back to over and over. (My two cents:).)

  17. 17 Amy J in SC September 29, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    You seem to be doing just fine with the random thing. When YOU feel you want to make a change do it but now because of some random comment.

  18. 18 lifestartsnow September 29, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    stick with what you feel comfortable. do you want to write reviews? write them! do you want to write about your family? tim? the rochester-folks? do it! yes, your readership might change if you have more structured items on here (like reviews) but they wouldn’t stop by for “blog reasons” i think. (well, blog reasons for me are reading what goes on in other people’s lives, because maybe they are in the same situation as i am or they are traveling the world…or whatever)

    if i look for reviews, i want to know about the product and not about the person who wrote about it.

    i think you are doing great with this blog!

    franzi

  19. 19 Harlem September 29, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    I love your blog! It’s very funny. keep up the great work!

  20. 20 morethananelectrician September 29, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Don’t plan anything…make it like reaching in the underwear drawer in the dark. You never really know what you are going to pull out. Some days things are good and you don’t mind getting caught with your pants down…other days…remember to throw them out when you are done with them.

  21. 21 LS September 29, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    I like the idea of a non-focused blog. I kind of have a theme, but sometimes mine is more about Star Trek or general annoyance than the actual theme. I do hate it when people come up with “rules” for blogging or tell you what you have to do if you have a blog. There are a lot of people these days doing that, and it’s a sad thing to see. If a blog isn’t creative, well, it’s just a waste of time.

  22. 22 mommica September 29, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Victoria’s Secret also sells handbags, just so you know… 🙂

  23. 23 Amanda September 29, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    I just discovered your blog today, from your comment on mine (thank you by the way!), but I will certainly be back 🙂 I know what you mean about randomness…that’s how my blog is too. I refuse to put myself in a box. I know that when I try to limit my posts too much that I end up not wanting to write anything.

    Write what you want, and I’m sure people will continue to read 🙂

  24. 24 Angelia September 29, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    I get the feeling you are gonna do whateva the heck ya wanna anyway? No matter what anyone says? Am I right or am I right or am I right? Hey,the writing on the wall says it’s great the way it is. :=P

  25. 25 G September 30, 2009 at 4:55 am

    That’s not the most enlightening comment. My blog is about being a virgin and half my posts are about tv shows, politics, partying and my iPhone. Who has a theme nowadays anyway? It’s so yesterday.

  26. 26 bridgeout September 30, 2009 at 6:56 am

    I absolutely love that last line!! “A sucky last name was not an option.” LOVE it!! As a girl who grew up with a sucky last lame I can relate. I have a great last name now (well, actually 2 of them).
    I’m gonna go look around a bit…
    PS- thanks for your comment on my post. 🙂

  27. 27 bevchen September 30, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    I didn’t realise blogs were supposed to be about something…
    Personally, I like the randomness!

    If I marry the boyfriend my new last name will start with O. That will make my initials BO. So much on the subject of sucky names…


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


