i need a damn mulligan

I’m having one of those days…

WHERE I DON’T WANT TO DO ANYTHING.

I’d be happy just sitting on my ass, watching movies and eating ice cream.

ALL DAMN DAY.

I had a post I was working on…but why bother?  

Why not just be lazy.

That’s what my brain is telling me…and I’m inclined to listen.

Motivation? Not today.

Just. Not. Today.

I made it outside to take Maddie for a  short walk and THAT was like asking me to pluck out every hair on my body, one-by-one.

Maybe it’s the gray skies…or the smoggy air…

I have no idea…but today is just NOT THE DAY for productivity.

So just leave me lots of fun things to read…but don’t tell me how much you’ve  “accomplished,” all before noon with one hand tied behind your back while…I can’t even come up with anything clever, other than speaking Swahili while eating a hot dog…

I have days like that…where I like, conquer the world – all before breakfast.

I’m thinking that’s going to be tomorrow.

23 Responses to “i need a damn mulligan”


  1. 1 habanerogal September 23, 2009 at 9:47 am

    I have practically an obsession with procrastination it sometimes reaches biblical proportions. I have spent entire days watching TV in exchange for all of the days that I went nonstop from early morning til late at night when my kids were young. Now that they don’t need me every 5 seconds I make up for all of that busy-ness with nothing-ness. Bliss!

  2. 2 Sarah September 23, 2009 at 9:57 am

    I’m being forced to be productive against my will if it makes you feel any better. The couch sounds mighty appealing right now…

  3. 3 Nona September 23, 2009 at 10:09 am

    I am a lazy-enabler, so please don’t look to me for a pep talk on motivation. The best answer to every what-should-I-do-today question is “Chill.”

  4. 4 ckb September 23, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Haha! Awesome post. A Laziness Day is totally functional.

  5. 5 Daphne September 23, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Good for you for taking some time for yourself! Enjoy it and forgive yourself. Tomorrow is another day.

  6. 6 thebakerbee September 23, 2009 at 10:41 am

    I have days like that too… in fact, I think tomorrow will be a mulligan day. Mostly because I have the day off for the first time in 10 long days…

  7. 7 Peggy Nolan September 23, 2009 at 11:09 am

    I love lazy days…where doing nothing is doing everything!

  8. 8 Anne Dewvall September 23, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Reading your post somehow felt like permission to be lazy. Wow, I have a highly suggestible mind. No wonder I have gotten so little done this morning… it’s all *your* fault.

  9. 9 Stone Fox September 23, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    i like to refer to these kinds of days as Mental Health days. every once in a while, you just need one to reset your brain and restore your mental health.

    as for my productivity? i’ve managed to drink not one, but TWO, yes TWO diet pepsi’s today. i think i will require a nap, soon, what with all this exertion.

  10. 10 Pammy Girl September 23, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I’m at work today and have been struggling with writer’s block all week. Good thing I write for a living. I’ve got 2 stories sitting on my plate and had every intention of cranking them out this afternoon. Then my boss pushed the drop dead deadline to Monday and now I’m more inclined to watch anything on Hulu than work.

  11. 11 Shannon September 23, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    I have my To DO list sitting next to me and I just can’t be bothered to do it. It was my first day back to work and I’m exhausted. I’m with you on having a lazy day!

  12. 12 DebbieQ September 23, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I say go with the flow on this one. Whatever needed to be done today will still be there tomorrow, I guarantee.

  13. 13 Tosha September 23, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    I havent done a dang thing today.. Other than load the dishwasher and I didnt really have a choice. The tot has been in destruction mode but i haven’t the energy today..

  14. 14 lifestartsnow September 23, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    alright girl, one lazy day is ok. a second one is ok. but not a third one! get your freak on tomorrow. you are the achiever! you are creative and witty and you can (have to) write!!!

    franzi

  15. 15 bevchen September 23, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    I would love to spend the day doing nothing. It was the one good thing about being unemployed. Having a job means actually having to work again.

  16. 16 All things nice.. September 23, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Do nothing days are sometimes good, as you can spend the day daydreaming, finding inspiration and new innovative ideas, so rather than physical work its all in the head, ya see, so at the end of the day it may be more productive

    All things nice….

  17. 17 les@mamaneeds2rant September 23, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Grey days always suck the life out of me. Yup, there’s always tomorrow!

  18. 18 Elizabeth_K September 23, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    A lazy day is an excellent day — I’m not sure you should even be reading anything, except a good summer novel on the couch.

  19. 19 merrilymarylee September 23, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Why would you even THINK about doing something productive right after a trip? You should probably be “restful” (not to be confused with “lazy” the rest of the week. It’s practically a law.

    Besides, you had to be dog nurse.

  20. 20 thatpearlygirl September 23, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    lol… Now I see! Enjoy your lazy day… Ice cream + movies= greatness!

  21. 21 Elaine September 23, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    Well, I hope your laundry is done. Do the dogs have fresh water? What about the car maintenance? I won’t even bring up window screens…..

    Kidding. You just did the in-law deal, take some time!

    It’s 101 here today. Doesn’t Mother Nature know what September is supposed to bring? Can we get some cool weather? How about a breeze for crying out loud? I’m so sick of it being hot….I don’t live in Arizona on purpose.

    Enjoy your evening!

  22. 22 Michelle Best September 24, 2009 at 4:43 am

    I had a few of those days after getting back from my holiday. I blamed it on jetlag and travelling but it is amazing how guilty it can feel to do nothing all day. Then again, it is good for the mind and body to do nothing sometimes. 🙂

  23. 23 Angelia September 24, 2009 at 10:04 am

    When I have a day like that…. I call it hormones! Hate those nasty things but then I’m probably older than you :-/ Then again, if it’s cloudy, I don’t do so well either. Need sun!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


