what i wanted to say yesterday…just delayed…

We got an aerial view of some of the flooding this morning on our flight home and it isn’t pretty. Thankfully, our house wasn’t flooded. The sun is out, so hopefully everyone is drying out a bit.

And thank you to everyone who wished us safe travels yesterday.

When we got home, girls about attacked us all, “WHERE THE HELL WERE YOU? You were due back like, Monday.”

Anyhow, my plan was to introduce you to the real, live Italians yesterday…it just never happened because we were too busy sitting in airports and hotels.

You know, I really should stop planning. It never seems to happen the way I work it all out in my brain…

So, the Italians: Mirco, Lea and Sabino. Mirco is Lea and Sabino’s son.

The Italians

 

Yesterday at breakfast, Lea asked me IF (key word, here) I wanted to have a little “bambino.”

The “asking” had to go through Mirco (he’s our Italian-English translator, since Lea and Sabino speak very little English and I speak ZERO Italian other than “merci” – which I just realized is French…damn) and I thought she asked me WHEN I was planning to get on with the baby-making.

I looked around, eyeing Tim like, “HELP ME…how do you say eventually?”

When, unbeknownst to me, all that was required was a simple yes or no.

Instead, my confusion ended being a good five minute joke cause I’m all, “HOW DO YOU SAY NOT NOW? LATER? FUTURE??

And they’re looking at me like, soooo….do you want a bambino or not? Seems like a simple enough question…you do or you don’t…

Totally lost in translation.

We finally got it all sorted out…yes, just not in the immediate future.

Our trip also reminded me how Italians can EAT. WOW. I am totally fooded-out.

I won’t even go into details because the food list would be an entire post by itself. You’d gain ten pounds just reading it.

We’ll leave it at this: somehow, we managed to fill an entire eight-person dining room table with dessert. DESSERT.

And poor Maddie…I don’t know if she has a hot spot or was bitten by something…but we came home and she had a HUGE welt-looking thing on her side. We cleaned it out with peroxide and told her NO LICKING.

She didn’t listen.

So she got coned.

maddie cone

I know. She looks totally pitiful and is having a really hard time judging the space available to her between stationary objects…like doorframes.

14 Responses to “what i wanted to say yesterday…just delayed…”


  1. 1 Daphne September 22, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Aw! Poor Maddie! My in-laws’ dog was coned for two weeks and we had to baby-proof the house so she’d stop breaking things.

    I am so glad that your house wasn’t flooded and that the girls were all ok. Thanks for the update!

    Aren’t questions about having children the stickiest?! There were jokes in our household over the weekend about buns in the oven and such. I’m glad it got sorted out eventually.

  2. 2 Angelia September 22, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Good news from the homefront, happy to hear that. Give Maddie an extra hug from me. I start Italian class tonight for 6 weeks on Tues, Thurs. Maybe I can give you some tips for next time!
    Arrivederci!

  3. 3 Nona September 22, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Poor baby. She looks miserable in her cone. Glad your home is OK. Flying out of Atlanta last weekend, it looked pretty damp, can’t imagine another billion inches of rain. Stay dry and eat some pasta.

  4. 4 bevchen September 22, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Oh, poor Maddie. She looks ridiculously miserable.

  5. 5 Hay September 22, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Aww, those cones are so funny, yet sad of course, poor Maddie.

    Lol@ Merci!

  6. 6 mindy@thesuburbanlife September 22, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Man, the flooding/rain is getting out of control! So glad you all didn’t get hit.
    And, why is it that Italians always look so much more dignified than plain old Americans? Thanks for the tip on “merci.” Note to self – stop using “merci” to impress people with my knowledge of Italian. Move on to French.
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

  7. 7 Shelly September 22, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Coneface is the worst. They should use it to torture criminals because it’s near impossible to resist. Welcome home.

    • 8 Jessica September 22, 2009 at 7:01 pm

      Shelly: That’s a great idea…like the water torture…only better. And thank you 🙂

      Mindy: Thankfully, the rain has stayed away…so things are getting slightly better. Yes…I felt REALLY dumb once Tim told me I was completely in the wrong country with “merci.”

      Hay and bevchen: She’s getting a small *break* …but it’s going back on soon… I’ll just *sigh* for her, cause I know that’s what she’ll do.

      Nona: It is CRAZY. Roads are closed all over the place and one of the rivers nearby is still rising…

      Angelia: Really? Any reason you’re taking Italian? That’s SO something I want to do – learn another language. It’s on my list…though I’ve yet to actually DO it. And, I definitely gave Maddie that hug 🙂

      Daphne: Yes, I TRY to avoid those questions as much as possible…until it’s “time” I just don’t want to talk about it, you know?

  8. 9 misscaron September 22, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    So glad that everything is alright and your house is okay!

    P.S. I’m at the age now where people have started actually suggesting that I have one ON MY OWN. Really people!?! Really?

  9. 10 Belle September 22, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Mmmmm I want a 8 person dining room table full of desert. For one person, named me.

  10. 11 justrun September 22, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Oh the coning is so pitifully entertaining. And dangerous for breakables!
    Glad you made it home safe!

  11. 12 peedee September 22, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    See, now I totally feel like shit for posting that stupid Kanye flood thingy on my page when you were nice enough to come over there and comment. I feel this > < big. My appologies and I'm very happy to hear you weren't flooded out.

    And I'm In.Love.With.Your.Dog!! Poor baby, hope she's better soon. I'm obsessed with cute puppies and she's adorable.

    So, when you want to talk Log Cabins, you just let me know…I have soooooo much info crammed in my head about them. lol

    cheers!

  12. 13 Erin September 23, 2009 at 3:15 am

    From the looks of it, Maddie is all “Couldn’t you have stayed away a little longer?” That is the most pathetic puppy face ever!

  13. 14 Peggy Nolan September 23, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Poor Maddie…

    Italian…what a beautiful language. Even when they swear at you it sounds nice. Not like Russian (which I learned how to speak in 1983) which just sounds like you’re spitting at everybody…


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


