my name is jessica, dammit

We all know I’m not blogging under any kind of anonymity.

No secrets here. I’ve laid it all out there for strangers and family alike.

So, before we left for Rochester and Tim’s dad said to Tim over the phone, “I don’t exactly know if I should be sending you jobs in the Northeast according to booshy…you know, the WE WANT TO LIVE IN THE WEST.”

With that one sentence, I knew the visit was going to be interesting. Over the past few months, I’ved learned that much of Tim’s family reads my blog. And if they don’t read it, someone passes along the information all, “Guess what happened on booshy today?” Like it’s some kind of sitcom…or soap opera…though I heard soap operas are like, going extinct…so we’ll go with sitcom.

booshy must have caught on after Tim’s mom was all, “What’s a blog? I don’t understand? So she writes to the internet about…whatever?” when he first told her about booshy. He tried to explain it was like a diary…only different.

But it has since spread to siblings and wives and now they’re all up-to-date with the goings-on in Atlanta.

And unlike me, broadcasting the craziness that is Tim and my life, we only get little bits and pieces in a phone call or email, so the information flow is a little top-heavy. We know they’re still there, we just don’t hear about how they painted a door or planted a garden or got a new job…which is all well and good…until you realize that things change and become common vernacular without you giving your input or opinion or opportunity to voice your distaste in the *new* language.

As in: No one old me that my name had changed past the Mason-Dixon line.

We were just getting better at calling me “Jessica” instead of “Jess” and then the first thing I hear when we’re greeted by Tim’s family?

“It’s BOOSHY!”

WHAT. THE. HELL.

16 Responses to “my name is jessica, dammit”


  1. 1 Anne September 20, 2009 at 11:13 am

    ROFL. That is tragic and yet hilarious. It’s crazy how many “levels” of technology literacy exist now. A little empowerment is dangerous stuff. Maybe we shouldn’t teach grandma how to use e-mail. Or facebook. Because then she will not stop posting things on your wall about how she spent her day treating the roses for black spot (true story) and trying to “friend” all your friends or in your case, calling you “booshy”. Wow.

  2. 2 Breeza September 20, 2009 at 11:42 am

    That is too funny. It’s like your celebrity name πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Sarah September 20, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Oh my gosh, that’s funny.

  4. 5 Shelly September 20, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    I think you should take it as a compliment. Clearly they are acknowledging what a fantastic writer you are!

  5. 6 lifestartsnow September 20, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    i guess the next thing will be them asking for an autograph – signed by booshy of course. forget your name that was given to you at birth. so not important up north

    franzi

  6. 7 Stone Fox September 20, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    start referring to yourself in the internet-made-up-nickname third person. as in, “booshy would like some more vino, please.” or, “booshy is going to bed, everyone.”

    i bet they’d remember your real name then, hey? πŸ™‚

  7. 8 thebakerbee September 20, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    At least Booshy isn’t too bad a nickname… right? Yeah, I see your point πŸ˜‰

  8. 9 mindy@thesuburbanlife September 20, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    That’s so funny! My dad calls me almost weekly to ask me what my “internets website address is” because he wants all of his friends to read it. I always say, “Dad, it’s on your favorites list.” And he always says, “Oh, right. My favorites. Wait, now what’s my favorites again?” Ah, technology…and “the internets.” =)
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

  9. 10 les@mamaneeds2rant September 20, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    well, at least they’re not calling you “bi-atch” or some other unflattering thing that some in-laws might use, so you must still be on their good side.
    Maybe if you write something they don’t like, you can blame that darn booshy and pretend like Jessica had nothing to do with it. πŸ™‚

  10. 11 justrun September 20, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Ha! Family– they can have such a unique view of our blogging “personalities.”

  11. 12 Peggy Nolan September 21, 2009 at 9:27 am

    You’re becoming a brand.

    Nothing wrong with that πŸ™‚

    PS My daughter’s name is Jessica (have I told you it’s like one of the BEST names out there?)

  12. 13 mrssoup September 21, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Ohh, I shouldn’t be laughing as hard as I am. That’s hilarious.

    I stole my nickname from real life, so I’m already called Mrs. Soup a lot.

  13. 14 Erin September 21, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    You’re a brave woman to tell all to the Internets AND the in-laws!

  14. 15 Angelia September 22, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Boo-shy! Boo-shy! Boo-shy! πŸ˜€

  15. 16 Chell September 22, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    I love it! My name for family and others has become shorter to “Chell”. While only a few family members read my blog, facebook has become the new “family addiction”. I have found out so much about my cousins and husband’s family since joining facebook. There is often GREAT blackmail posted on facebook!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,431 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


