an email i must share

So, we all know Tim.  Mr. Verification.  Mr. You-Must-Show-Me-Thirty-Separate-Research-Articles-From-Credible-Sources-Before-I-Admit-Defeat.

If you have no idea who I’m talking about, Tim’s my husband, aka The Perfectionist.

Glad we all now have a little background.

So, last night at dinner, Tim asks me to read an email he sent to his sister – thanking her for the, “Congrats on Two Years!” email she sent to us. 

I get to the end of his response and read: “Can’t wait to see you! Only four more days!”

I look up, about to tell him I’m slightly confused and before I can get the words out, he smiles all, “It’s good, isn’t it?”

Part of my brain – the part that tries to keep me out of trouble – is saying, “LET HIM DOWN EASY!”

Problem is, that part is a little too submissive and the other, more dominant half jumps in and instead I say, “Four days?  Wanna clue me in?  Are you planning a little solo trip?”

Cause…last time I checked, we weren’t due in Rochester for a few weeks.

I barely got that sentence out before Tim’s eyes got all wide and his mouth made this “O” shape…the look you get when the realization hits you like a wallop from the backend of a shovel.

The “OH SHIT. I MESSED UP” look.

Yeah, that one.

Well, it was plastered all over his face when our server came to ask if we needed anything.  One glance and she ran off to collect about thirty Diet Cokes, an entire loaf of bread with a stick of stick of butter jammed in the top and one of those mini birthday cakes with ten bazillion sprinkles, whipped cream a candle.

Food makes it all better, she says.   And sprinkles.  Sprinkles work every time.

Tim recovered enough to ask me to count the days until said trip – TWICE – to make sure he got the total right the second time around.

Wait, let me repeat that…had a nice ring to it: THE SECOND TIME AROUND. 

Tim, Mr. Triple-Check-To-Verify-All-Facts-And-Figures-Before-Giving-A-Response needed a do-over.

A DO-OVER.

How often do I get to say that?

Exactly.

Hope you have a great day…cause that certainly made mine.

24 Responses to “an email i must share”


  1. 3 Kara September 9, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I neglected to say congrats for the two year anniversary BUT I can’t pass up saying CONGRATULATIONS for this momentous occasion! It doesn’t sound like it happens often so relish it:)

    • 4 Jessica September 9, 2009 at 6:51 pm

      Kara: thank you – for both! I mean, I KNOW when an anniversary is coming up…but these instances just kinda fall right out of the sky…so I must take advantage when I can… 🙂

  2. 5 mrssoup September 9, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Enjoy that! My husband is the same way, including arguing with me over semantics. I love when I win an argument. Any type of argument.

  3. 7 DebbieQ September 9, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Enjoy it while you can, I always do.

  4. 9 backstripe September 9, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Savor the moment. After twenty years of marriage, I can’t recall that I’ve ever been wrong….

    “NO, your honor, I do not recall …”

  5. 11 thebakerbee September 9, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Fun when that happens every once in a while isn’t it? Only because I am almost ALWAYS the one messing things up… probably because I don’t quintuple check them like Hubby 🙂

  6. 13 Tookshire September 9, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    “Problem is, that part is a little too submissive and the other, more dominant half jumps in”

    I laughed so hard at that comment. I think it is so simplistically brilliantly descriptive of what happens to so many wives.

  7. 15 northwind87 September 10, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Very nice. So I take it he never mistakes eh?
    Oh, and thanks for the thoughts from before 🙂

    • 16 Jessica September 10, 2009 at 5:30 am

      northwind87: You are welcome for the thoughts!

      He DOES make mistakes…it’s just that sometimes, PROVING THAT IT’S A MISTAKE….that takes more effort than it’s worth to just say, “yup. you’re right.” 🙂

  8. 17 Linnnn September 10, 2009 at 5:14 am

    The “part of my brain that keeps me out of trouble” is frequently in the back room napping or playing poker with pals, leaving “blunt bitch” out front. But, oh, she has the situation firmly in hand, let me tell you! (Accidental travels to Rochester, could be fun…)

    • 18 Jessica September 10, 2009 at 5:32 am

      Linnnn: I’m sure “she” does. I think it’s part of the wifely duty…our plege to uphold and protect and put (you) back in line wherever necessary…or something like that.

  9. 19 Maureen September 10, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Hi Jessica,
    I think this post is hilarious. Thank you, you have given me a wonderful start to the day. Keep in mind that it will get better 🙂
    Best wishes
    Maureen

  10. 21 Lori September 11, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Very funny! I know that look very well, the “O” look!

  11. 23 nysoonergirl September 11, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Eeeek… I’m like your husband! I need proof that I’m wrong before I’ll believe! Ah! :/

    Happy anniversary! And, as it appears you’ll be in my neck of the woods soon, it’s already chilly and rainy here. Welcome to fall. Bring an umbrella. And a hoodie. Now that I think about it, a snow shovel might be in order as well… You never know with Rochester.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


