it’s official! happy anniversary…to us.

ring

Two years ago today…I was standing in a room underneath a stone chapel…waiting with one of our wedding coordinator’s assistants for the green light to make my way out the door and up the stairs to walk through the red, wooden chapel doors to marry the love of my life.

While I sat in silence, trying not to allow my nerves to take over and result in me running from the room, busting into the chapel, racing down the aisle, ripping the rings from the flower girl’s hand, laying a sloppy wet one on Tim and then, remembering we had an audience, straightenig my tiara and bowing gracefully…

Tim was having his own pre-ceremony fun by trying to figure out how to tell the pastor that he was absolutely not holding his hand whilst walking down the aisle without causing a scene at the back of the little chapel, short of slapping his hand while shooting him a sideways glance all, YOU CANNOT BE SERIOUS.

Tim confessed to me the other day that when he greeted James Gwin – the man who was about to marry us – at the chapel entrance, he looked as if he wanted to walk down the aisle, man-hand in man-hand.

Blame Tim’s terror-stricken confusion on nerves or the recent memory of he and our photojournalist, Hassel, skipping down a gravel path during our engagement photo session, their hands clasped tightly together.

Don’t ask. Bene, Hassel’s wife, and I still haven’t figured it out.

And while Tim was recounting his painful minutes of indecision, he stopped.

He stopped right in the middle of his thought and looked me square in the eye, and in total seriousness, he was all, “What if I was supposed to hold hands and didn’t? What if he stamped his foot, completely insulted at my brush off, and promptly walked out, refusing to marry such an asshole?”

What I would give to go back to THAT MOMENT to see the look of complete panic.

DO I SUCK IT UP AND HOLD HIS HAND?!? IS THIS NORMAL? MAKE. A. CHOICE. DAMMIT.

James Gwin DID kinda send mixed signals…I mean, look at the hand placement. Who shakes hands on the same side, anyway? (thanks, Hassel, for capturing a moment funnier than I realized):

tim & james gwin

I have no recollection of walking down the aisle, I just know I made it, thanks to modern technology. Had it not been for a camera, someone would have had to convince me it actually happened…that I wasn’t hallucinating from dehydration or lack of oxygen to the ol’ medulla oblongata.

altar

I’ll never forget our wedding day. As hard as we worked for an entire year for these few short hours…it was worth it.

chapel

car kisst&j 1Though, I must admit, I had no idea what to expect with marriage…it is more complex and exhausting and time consuming than I ever imagined.

But I’m loving every single minute.

Because I’m spending them with my best friend.

My other half.

The only person who knows exactly what to say to make it all better.

AND…honey…guess what?

We’re officially done with year two!

Year two sucked, remember?

24 Responses to “it’s official! happy anniversary…to us.”


  1. 1 KB September 8, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Happy Happy Anniversary little brother and sis-in-law! Thanks for sharing the great pics. I have memories of that walk down the aisle too, Jess(ica), only mine are blurry from the tears I had. Yup, not a crier AT ALL, but ya got me that day!

    Love,
    K

  2. 2 davis September 8, 2009 at 10:59 am

    what a great way to remember the little details that you’ll forget in the distant future! much happiness to you both

  3. 3 Daphne September 8, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Happy Anniversary Jessica and Tim! Best wishes for an improved year three!

  4. 4 Breeza September 8, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Wonderful post and pictures. Happy Anniversary!

  5. 5 thebakerbee September 8, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Happy anniversary! I love the 2nd anniversary… it kind of marked the date that people stopped throwing the “Newlywed” stereotypes around!

  6. 6 Belle September 8, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Beautiful pictures!! Happy anniversary!

  7. 7 Finn September 8, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Lovely chapel!

    And I agree with this…”it is more complex and exhausting and time consuming than I ever imagined.” 🙂 But worth it!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day.

  8. 8 beth aka confusedhomemaker September 8, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Happy Anniversary!! May you continue to grow in love with each other.

  9. 9 Shannon September 8, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Happy Anniversary! The pictures are beautiful! A toast to year 3!

  10. 10 Hay September 8, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Happy Anniversary. Lol about the hand holding!

  11. 11 Meredith September 8, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Happy anniversary! Your husband has the cutest smile I’ve ever seen on a groom. You two look great together but even better, it sounds like you LIVE great together. Here’s to many more years!

  12. 12 Elaine September 8, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Beautiful bride. Enchanted groom.

    What a wonderful day. Congratulations on year 2.

    • 14 Jessica September 8, 2009 at 7:39 pm

      Elaine, davis, Daphne, Breeza, thebakerbee, Belle, Finn, beth (confused homemaker), Shannon, Hay, Meredith, Jenera and Love:

      THANK YOU! We just spent an entire day doing…nothing. Which was AWESOME. We went to one of our “regular” places for dinner and before we went, Tim looks at me and says, “WE ARE NOT TELLING THEM IT’S OUR ANNIVERSARY. NOT. A. PEEP.”

      So, when we get there, I look at him all, “Thanks for a fantastic shhhh! It’s our anniversary dinner!”

      He shoots me a sly smile and goes, “You’re such an ass.”

      I love you too, honey. That’s why we work so well.

  13. 15 DebbieQ September 9, 2009 at 5:02 am

    This is what I get for not checking blogs yesterday. Happy Anniversary one day late!

  14. 16 ToolBoxGirl September 9, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Happiness and blessings!

  15. 17 Hanie September 9, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Jessica, wishing the both of you the best wishes there is. Love the pix at the altar and in the car.

  16. 19 lifestartsnow September 9, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    happy anniversary!!!

    franzi

  17. 20 kimert September 9, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    thank you for stopping by and the encouraging words you posted! happy anniversary to you. 🙂

  18. 22 Chit Chat and Chai September 11, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Though, I must admit, I had no idea what to expect with marriage…it is more complex and exhausting and time consuming than I ever imagined

    TELL ME ABOUT IT!! I recently got married, its a lot of work, but like you said its all done with your best friend.

    and many congrats!! 🙂


  1. 1 four years. of marriage. it’s a record. « booshy Trackback on September 10, 2011 at 9:40 am

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


