it finally happened!

We’ve learned that Lexi’s stomach and bladder are interconnected. 

The SECOND she finishes eating, she pees.

EVERY TIME.

It took two rather large accidents to teach Tim and I the routine.

So, this morning, the instant she swallowed her last piece of kibble, I swept her up, climbed over the baby gate and made my way to the front door to take her outside. I always look out the window first…just to see what’s going on or if there are cars…people…a unicorn…you just never know.

And I stopped…mid-reach for the door knob and was all, “OHHHHHHHHH HONEY!  CAMERA!”

“Honey” stopped listening after hearing his “honey” call, threw down his cereal bowl and half slips, half skids across the kitchen floor in his socked feet, almost forgetting the part where he either has to clamour over the baby gate or do a face plant onto the carpet, saying, “What? WHAT?!?  WHAT IS WRONG!?!?”  

He’s been conditioned that a sharp, quick inhale followed by “HONEY!” doesn’t equate to something good. It means DANGER. ACT. NOW.

It was not my intention to create a mini-panic, resulting in Tim morphing into the Hulk, ready to pound anyone within two feet.  It’s just what came out.  I didn’t exactly think about the result of my words.  It’s one of those things I’m working on…thinking before I speak.

It’s just…this doesn’t happen every day.  And when it DOES happen, I lose all sense of self control.  The brain blocks everything out and goes into one mode: MUST CAPTURE.

9.3.09 sunrise29.3.09 sunrise39.3.09 sunriseI mean really, can you blame me?

23 Responses to “it finally happened!”


  1. 2 ToolBoxGirl September 3, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Awesome! Beautiful sunrise!

  2. 4 Nichole September 3, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Wow! I love shots of the sky especially at sunrise and sunset. The pink spot almost looks like pink northern lights. Great shots!

  3. 6 beth aka confusedhomemaker September 3, 2009 at 11:07 am

    I create mini panics like that too, but for a picture like that I can’t blame you.

  4. 9 Breeza September 3, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Beautiful but man you must be up early!

  5. 11 stargardener September 3, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    I can most definitely relate! (To both the bladder/stomach fur-kid thing as well as the “must-capture-this!” mode.)

    What a perfect watercolor sky shot!

  6. 13 Jenn September 3, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Can’t blame you a bit! This is magical!

  7. 15 Hokie Deb September 3, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    –>That’s beautiful. I bet your neighbors would love a copy of their house with that back drop.

    Thanks for sharing.

    http://www.websavymom.com

  8. 17 finn644 September 3, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Scout was EXACTLY like that as a pup – eat then PEE!!! like right that second

    gorgeous sunrise

  9. 19 thebakerbee September 3, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Almost makes sunrise worth getting up for 😉

    • 20 Jessica September 3, 2009 at 2:06 pm

      thebakerbee: I usually drag Tim out BEFORE the sun rises when we’re on vacation JUST so we can capture a shot…he hates it…but does it anyway, good husband he is…and usually says something like, “I’m glad we did that” afterwards. Really? You’re glad? No kidding…cause I TRIED to tell you you said that the LAST TIME. He never remembers, though…

  10. 21 Emily September 3, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today! Yes, they had elephants there. AND camels! AND Llamas and pigs and Border Collies. I’ve never had the turkey leg. I go for the cheese curds. Lol!

    No, I dont blame you for your actions if it got these shots! They are beautiful!!! The colors are amazing! That doesnt happen every day.

  11. 22 heartscape September 4, 2009 at 11:04 am

    GORGEOUS skies!! I don’t blame you! One of my best friends and neighbors had a similar experience when she was out running. Check out her pictures here: http://kamarah.wordpress.com/2009/08/22/glory-in-the-clouds/


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


