i’m in love with my purple flowers

I know I’ve been changing flowers in my header every month.

But…

I’m having a REALLY HARD TIME giving up on my purple flowers from London.

REALLY. HARD. TIME.

Maybe…just one more month? I mean, they look kind of fallish, right?

Yea, ok. FINE.  So red or orange or yellow flowers would be more “in season.”

I’m sure whatever these are don’t even bloom past May…they were growing in this little flower box near the Tower of London…next to the Thames (do not try to pronounce “Thames” phonetically…already learned THAT lesson the hard way. It’s Tems! SAY TEMS!).

This is the WHOLE picture. Aren’t they so unique?  I have no idea what they are…so don’t ask.  I just saw them and said, “HONEY! PICTURE!”

purple flowers

Anyhow, I’m going against the grain and breaking my own rules.

And that’s really nothing new.

When have I ever followed directions? 

I moved out of my college dorm after my freshman year…cause I just could not cope with the whole “community vibe.”  TECHNICALLY, no one was allowed to live off the small, private college campus until their senior year.

Uhh… oops?  Guess I purposely missed that byline.

So, enjoy the flowers for another month…not that you’d NOTICE they didn’t change.  I think the whole not-changing-flowers is my anal-retentiveness more than it is your growing boredom with my header…did you even make a mental note it changed at the beginning of every month?

Exactly.

20 Responses to “i’m in love with my purple flowers”


  1. 1 Daphne September 2, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    I have a present for you!

    Those are alliums!

    I typed purple ball flower into Google and that’s actually a common name for them!

    For you!

  2. 3 backstripe September 2, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    that’s right. allium. A member of the onion family.

    purty.

  3. 5 thebakerbee September 2, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    I keep trying to grow these… evidently they don’t like Florida. Makes sense since they are so purdy in England.

    • 6 Jessica September 2, 2009 at 4:21 pm

      thebakerbee: do they come in other colors or just purple? I had never seen them before…all those tiny flowers making one big ball…I thought it was the most amazing thing ever. I need to get out more, I know…

  4. 7 ToolBoxGirl September 2, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    I like your purple flowers.

    I’ve tried changing my beach header on my blog, Serendipity Smiles. Seems my readers like my beach picture. So…I guess it’s permanent.

  5. 9 mrssoup September 2, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    I love this header. And if you do too, don’t change it!

    I adore my header too, it’s one of my favorite photos of my daughter…maybe someday I’ll change it. But not anytime soon!

  6. 11 Mindy September 2, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Oh, I’m in love with your purple flowers too! One – because they are seemingly alive unlike all of the flowers currently dying in my flower boxes. And two – because they make me feel happy. Keep ’em there.

    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

    • 12 Jessica September 2, 2009 at 8:25 pm

      Hi Mindy! Yes, I think they’ll stay for now…I’m on the hunt for those in a different color…

      I hear you on the dead flowers – I suck at growing things…great at killing them – even the healthy ones.

  7. 13 audreypettit September 2, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    And here I was going to tell you that those flowers are Alliums. Guess I’m a day late and a dollar short on that. 😉
    They are sure beautiful, though!

  8. 15 princessofsomething September 2, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Those are so pretty! I don’t blame you for leaving them in your header! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by Together for Good today. 🙂

  9. 17 Angelia Sims September 3, 2009 at 7:35 am

    I’m in love with flowers period, so I feel your adornment. They are beautiful! I haven’t seen those here in Texas. I have a moon flower, at my boyfriend’s house, I planted. Big white blooms open at night. I hope to post some of my flower pics one day. I think it’s cool you change the header with them every month.

    • 18 Jessica September 3, 2009 at 8:01 am

      Angelia: A moon flower? Wow! I have a hard enough time with things that grow in the DAYLIGHT. I don’t think I’m ready for something that advanced…but, I’ve got to find SOMETHING…some kind of unique flower for next month…


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


