what the hell?

Tim and I are like, the most paranoid pet parents.

EVER.

When Maddie was a puppy, we had signs and warnings up all over the place, screaming at people to take off their shoes and wash their hands BEFORE YOU EVEN BREATH ON THE DOG.

If Maddie made a “mistake” on the floor, we scrubbed the spot with all sorts of pet-friendly cleaners.

We were not bringing parvo or rabies or the plague into this household.

Yet, with all our precautions, we still could not seem to rid ourselves of one thing…no matter how hard we tried.

Coccidia.

That damn parasite has gone through EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THE GIRLS.

TWICE.

Chloe, the poor thing, she had it so bad she was on some special kind of medicine for weeks. And during those weeks…Tim and I drew straws to see who had the unfortunate job of cleaning out the litter box.

So, you can guess where I’m going with this.

We took Lexi to the vet yesterday so they could check her out, give her her second round of shots and get micro-chipped.

And she took that 14-gauge-why-not-just-shove-an-elephant-tranquilizer-in-my-back needle like a pro. Barely made a sound.

We couldn’t get a poo sample though – apparently she’d emptied herself out. So we were given this plastic container thing to get a “core sample” from her morning expulsion.

Guess who drew the short straw on THAT one?

Well, it wasn’t me.

So, last night, Tim went out to the yard, all suited up with rubber gloves, acting as if it was a toxic waste dump, keeping his body as far away from the poo as possible, yet close enough to get a good specimen.

I dropped it off this morning at the vet.

They called me this afternoon with the results.

COCCIDIA.

From now on, there will be none of this “let’s just SEE if she’s got it.” We’re just going to assume they do. Period. Just give us the meds so our entire house isn’t rushing to their “potty place” to unleash the god-awful fury that is coccidia.

Later today, when we go pick up Lexi’s meds, we’re taking a bag of Maddie’s poo for testing…cause if SHE has it…then we’re nipping the pesky little bugger now.

I’m not playing the pass-it-around game like we did the last time.

Cause they’re becoming two little peas in a pod.

maddielexi4

maddielexi2Why am I waiting for Tim to come home and not going to pick it up myself?

Well, because my car is currently at the dealer…the air conditioner stopped working.

They told me that my “blower” is apparently broken.

Whatever that means.

20 Responses to “what the hell?”


  1. 1 Angelia Sims September 1, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Oh MAN, that stinks! Heh. On a cleaner note, Maddie & Lexi look very cute together. I’m curious to see if Maddie becomes a Mommy to that baby as time goes on.

  2. 3 mrssoup September 1, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Oh sadness….that’s the bad part about two dogs, they tend to circle infect each other.

    Hope they both stay super healthy!!

    And they do look absolutely adorable together.

  3. 5 bookbabie September 1, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Oh how awful, I haven’t heard of that one but parasites in general are nasty critters that are difficult to get rid of in people or pets:(

    Nice pics of your babies!

  4. 6 Sunny P September 1, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Hi there! thanks for visiting my blog! i have a little pup named Coda and he went thru Coccidia…ugh, i totally feel your (and their) pain. but HOW CUTE are your little darlings?!?! i love them!!

    i look forward to visiting more often. cheers!
    πŸ™‚

    sunny
    http://www.sunnysideuprecipes.com

  5. 7 bolognaball September 2, 2009 at 5:00 am

    The meds will dispense of that flipping parasite, im sure its not even phasing the girls…Im loving Maddies regal look when next to the pup….Queen Golden πŸ™‚

    Just remind Tim that at least he didnt have to get a sample from Maddie when she was a pup after the dreaded ice cream event!

    I smell puppy breath

    • 8 Jessica September 2, 2009 at 7:07 am

      bolognaball: touchΓ© with the whole “sample.”

      She does look regal, doesn’t she? She’s almost like a proud parent…except when Lexi decides to nip her ears…then she turns into SERIOUS FACE.

  6. 9 Kara September 2, 2009 at 7:18 am

    They are VERY cute Coccidia carriers, though! I’m so glad they’re getting along!!!

    • 10 Jessica September 2, 2009 at 12:45 pm

      Kara: YES, they are like…Bert and Ernie…I think that’s about the best description I can give. πŸ™‚

      I’ll be happy to have the wretched thing OUT of the house, though. UGH. πŸ˜‰

  7. 11 finn644 September 2, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Jessica – thanks for visiting! As for your question about the “puppy”, she is fabulous! Now 18 months old she is almost out of her terrible puppy stage, ALMOST. She is a completely different dog than Maggie, my golden retriever, who pretty much did nothing wrong as a puppy. Scout did/does EVERYTHING wrong, yet we adore her!

    Your two girls are gorgeous!!

  8. 13 ToolBoxGirl September 2, 2009 at 11:42 am

    I’m so sorry your babies have the dreadful parasite!

    I love the pictures you posted of your girls…they are so cute together!

    Keep us posted…here’s to happy, healthy fur babies!

    Peggy

  9. 15 Mindy September 2, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Oh, those poor little furbabies! They’re beautiful, by the way! Hopefully they feel back to normal soon!

    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

  10. 17 Sasha September 2, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Girl!!! Loving your blog, and your great sense of humor! Thanks for commenting today!

    I’ll be back for sure!

    Lemonade Makin’ Mama

    • 18 Jessica September 2, 2009 at 8:31 pm

      Sasha: Hi! Thanks for dropping by, yourself! Definitely look forward to seeing you back! – have a great evening (do you happen to have a good lemonade recipe?… I mean, based on your “title” and all…I’m kinda in need of one…)

  11. 19 Amanda September 2, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    I would NEVER give those up!!! Tooooo beautiful!!!

    Plus you take good pictures.

    Blessings-
    Amanda

    • 20 Jessica September 3, 2009 at 5:13 am

      Amanda: I wish I could take credit…but my husband, Tim, is the photographer around here πŸ™‚

      all my pictures are usually blurry or I cut an important piece out….


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

your favorites (I didn’t pick ’em)

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


