remind me…again?

Today…is a weird day.

The first day I “officially” don’t HAVE to be somewhere at 5:30 am because, well, I don’t work at a “regular” job anymore.

My body said otherwise a t 4:30am this morning.  Coincidentally, 4:30 was also the first time Lexi woke up and needed to go outside. Which, was pretty good…considering with Maddie we were up EVERY HOUR, rushing her outside in fear of her unloading the contents of her bowels in her crate.

I guess with our second round of puppyhood…we know what kind of cry means, “I’m about to explode” versus an “I’m bored/tired/don’t know what else to do” cry.

I FEEL like I should be at work…answering a million questions and staring at a computer screen with lots of numbers and responding to emails…cause this certainly doesn’t feel like a vacation.

But, instead,  I’m sitting at the kitchen table.  Writing.  Lexi is napping in the kitchen and Maddie’s walking from one baby gate to the other, checking up on any little weird noise she makes.

maddielexi1

The girls? They’ve disowned us.  I haven’t seen Alegre, Chloe or Gracie since yesterday afternoon.  I think Alegre is plotting their escape…as I’ve noticed a sharp decrease in the number of fuzzy mice laying around the house since last night.

And one piece of the morning I was really looking forward to…the sun…well, it rose…but behind a thick blanket of clouds.

I keep repeating to myself…over and over…I am prepared…for no sleep…and lots of boundary setting…

like just now…scolding the telltale signs of counter surfing…two paws on the cabinet.

12 Responses to “remind me…again?”


  1. 1 Breeza August 31, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I think it will be very weird for a few days but then you’ll be okay. I think its funny how the cats have vanished. They hate new animals being brought into their house!

    • 2 Jessica August 31, 2009 at 4:01 pm

      Breeza: You may actually see them come your way…did you ever see Homeward Bound? Yea…they’re going West Coast Bound. So, if you see a white cat, a tabby and a huge black fluff ball walking down the street…kindly send them back my direction. 🙂

  2. 3 lifestartsnow August 31, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    cannot wait for more puppy pictures!

    in a week from now you won’t be up at 4:30 anymore. you actually could be in the “i don’t have to go anywhere so i stay in sweat pants all day and eat because noone sees me”-phase.

    franzi

  3. 5 Breeza August 31, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Haha, I will keep an eye out for them 🙂

  4. 6 Elizabeth_K August 31, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Congrats on starting your new chapter — like having two kids (ACK!), quitting to write a book is scary — but so awesome. I’m really sure you’re going to be a wild success … you’ll live up to your UPS nickname again!

  5. 8 anired August 31, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    From one dog lover to another,

    aren’t they the dearest beings you can have so close to your life. Unfortunately I can’t keep one (living in a condo) and I keep popping into the ‘shake-a-paw’ stores to play with their labs. I think soon they’ll prohibit me since I’m not going to be a customer. But hey I’m glad someones having a good time 🙂

    • 9 Jessica September 1, 2009 at 6:43 am

      anired: awww…cute that you go do that…though I’m sure you get the eyebrow raise more often than you care to. Hopefully soon you’ll be able to live somewhere dog friendly! 🙂

  6. 10 runsinthecity September 1, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Although I work in an entirely different field (I’m a computer programmer), and I’ve never had puppies/kittens (three children instead), I’ve been working at home for the past 8 plus years. Here’s my advice based on my experience:

    1. Have office hours and stick to them. Not only does this set up some sort of routine for you, but it ensures that you will be sitting at your desk and working for parts of your day, rather than scrubbing the bathroom and doing laundry.

    2. Create some sort of morning routine. Shower and dress (and not in sweats), fix your hair, put on your make-up, etc. The longer you’re working from home, the more value you’ll see in this little piece of advice – trust me. Get your coffee, take a quick walk for the morning paper, etc. Anything that makes it feel like you’re transitioning from ‘home’ to ‘work’ mode.

    3. Occassionally meet up with a real, live, breathing person for lunch (cyber lunching doesn’t count). Very important – and as time goes on you will realize how important this is.

    4. Join a group or two so that you are interacting regularly with other adults. This will especially save your sanity in the winter when the days get shorter and colder. No one realizes how much social interaction you are exposed to in an office. I can remember coming home from work (before I worked from home) and not wanting to talk to anyone because I was on ‘social overload’. Working from home is the polar opposite. You don’t want to be the woman barreling down the mailman for some chitchat.

    Don’t want to discourage you. I love working from home. It can be really great – especially when I don’t have to leave my house in a snowstorm or hurricane to get to work. But some of this stuff, I learned the hard way and I thought I’d save you some trouble 🙂

  7. 11 bevchen September 1, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Funny that you’ve just left a full time job and I’ve just started one 🙂
    That’s so cute that Mddie keeps checking on her 🙂


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


