my bouquet…is a painting

During the crazed year of planning my perfect wedding, I decided that preserving my bouquet in formaldehyde and sticking it in a shadow box was just…gross.

So I searched…for MONTHS for a solution. A nice, functional way to forever preserve my flowers.

Press them and put the flattened calla lilies and roses in a scrapbook?  

No.

Throw them away?

No.

Pull all the petals off and stick them in a jar?

No.

Make a PAINTING out of your flowers?

Now…we’re on to something,

Enter genius artist from Louisiana who turns bouquets into art.

The only negative: your flowers must be OVERNIGHTED.

And if you’re off on your honeymoon like we were, SOMEONE ELSE will be responsible to make sure the flowers get to the artist EXACTLY AS DIRECTED.

She gives you a detailed, step-by-if-you-don’t-follow-my-every-word-exactly-as-I-say-it-will-ruin-everything step.

Not following directions means your flowers will wilt and die and you’re left with nothing.

NOTHING.

My mom got the bouquet. She drew the short straw.

And I learned later that this ONE TASK – the shipping of the bouquet – was so riddled with pressure, she almost decided to pack up and drive the bouquet to Louisiana herself.  She didn’t want to be the one to tell me that my flowers were shipped without enough cooling packs and they arrived at the studio as potpourri.

My mom ended up shipping them.  And whatever she did, it must have been exactly right because the artist had PLENTY of semi-fresh flowers to work with.

My bouquet went from this:

 bouquet before

 

To this:

bouquet painting

18 Responses to “my bouquet…is a painting”


  1. 1 Shannon August 29, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    that is so cool! I also dont like the whole shadow box idea. Someone stole my bouquet from the reception site. (we were in a hotel) i wasn’t to upset except for the fact that it had a fake flower in it that Dust gave me the week we met.

  2. 3 bevchen August 29, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    That bouquet is gorgeous! The painting’s not too bad either 😉

  3. 5 lifestartsnow August 29, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    oh gosh, again totally creative!

    franzi

  4. 7 Kara August 29, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Wow! How cool is that! Makes me want to get married so I can have a bouquet painting!

  5. 8 Kara August 29, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Ooops…I mean married AGAIN!

  6. 10 Lauren From Texas August 29, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    oh my GOSH that is awesome. I wish I had known about that when I got married!

  7. 12 Ali August 29, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    I’m so jealous. I dried my entire bouquet but they are now dying a slow death as they are moved from place to place in the basement.

    • 13 Jessica August 29, 2009 at 8:32 pm

      Ali: Maybe…the next time your hubby sends you flowers for a special occasion…you can send them to be painted?…I was worried about exactly what is happening to you now…and that completely sucks – I’m sorry you’re losing the bouquet memory, petal by petal.

  8. 14 thebakerbee August 29, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    That is really neat! I couldn’t figure out what to do with mine, just I threw them away. I really wish I had done something like this though… they were really beautiful mango callas 😦

  9. 16 sgaissert August 30, 2009 at 11:39 am

    That is incredibly wonderful. All I have left of mine is one flower pressed in a book, and it’s not looking too good!

    • 17 Jessica August 30, 2009 at 12:03 pm

      sgaissert: maybe… you could incorporate the flower into something…I have no idea..my creative skills are lacking in the floral department – hence the hired help…

  10. 18 mrssoup August 31, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    That is fantastic!

    I took preservation into account when planning my wedding and had my Aunt’s mom do our flowers. She does AMAZING fake florals, so I still have my bouquet and it looks perfect.

    I love it and highly recommend anyone do fake flowers if they can, they are so well worth it and can look so beautiful!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


