massive news – the pressure’s off!

I’ve got some really big news from THE NORTH! (otherwise known as Rochester, NY).

Tim’s sister had her baby yesterday!

Kristen Baby

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE FIRST OFFICIAL GRANDCHILD.

Everyone is doing awesome…including Tim…who’s been on edge the entire nine months…worried about his big sister.

I know…I know…I’m already preparing myself.  I can already hear Tim…”DO NOT LIFT THAT!  LEAVE IT ALONE!  I TOLD YOU TO SIT…AND STAY AT LEAST TWENTY FEET AWAY FROM THE LITTER BOX!” 

But…then…how am I supposed to rest if I have to PASS THE ROOM where the litter box is located to reach my resting location?…the doorway’s not twenty feet…

I’m going to drive him crazy.  Me and baby-to-be.  It’ll be like…a team effort.

I digress.  We haven’t gotten there.  But Kirsten, Tim’s sister…has.

And thank you, Kristen.  The pressure has been lifted from Tim and my reproductive capabilities.

I know…I’m losing you.  You’re all, SHUT UP!  Tim has a FAMILY?  AND ONE OF THEM WAS PREGNANT?? SINCE WHEN?! I thought he just appeared one day…dropped right out of the sky like Chicken Little…(or was it the sky that fell?…shit I’ll get it right before I have to tell our kid…cause I surely don’t want her walking around with misinformation…all her friends saying she’s a Sesame Street drop-out).

Well the whole “family” thing came about after his mom and dad had a rockin’ good time and produced a few little bundles of joy…Tim being one.

Thus creating THE FAMILY.

That lives in THE NORTH. 

And when I say family, I’m talking parents, siblings, uncles, aunts, nana’s…they all live in Rochester.  And their daily bits of fun aren’t always front and center…we talk to them about how things are going in the town-where-you-only-need-your-air-conditioner-twice-a-year-for-two-hours…but the actual regurgitation of such news doesn’t typically make it THIS far.

We’re going up in September…right after we get back from Charleston…to see the new baby and celebrate Kristen’s birthday and have a party for some relatives visiting from Italy…all that…in TWO DAYS…so you’ll get some serious Rochester-Family-Infusion right along with Tim and me.

Anyhow…I am completely off track here…Congratulations Kristen!

Welcome to Parenthood.

19 Responses to “massive news – the pressure’s off!”


  1. 1 Lori August 26, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Congrats to you and your family in “the North”!

    I’m from upstate NY too (Utica) but now live the hot heat of Northern FL…

    Congrats again!

    -Lori at I Can Grow People

    • 2 Jessica August 26, 2009 at 5:58 pm

      Lori: Utica! I know where that is! Amazing how many people are from that area…then moved 🙂

      What part of Fl? I’ve got family outside of Jax Beach.

  2. 3 Nezzy August 26, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Congratulations Auntie. So glad everyone is doing great. I just love that new baby smell! Ya’ll have a wonderful evening.

  3. 5 Kid Icarus August 26, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Congrats! On the pressure being gone. Can you send some of those pressure leaving vibes to us? We just tied the knot and all we hear now is “when is the baby coming”….and I always respond: When the other siblings push out a pup.” How ’bout them apples?

    • 6 Jessica August 26, 2009 at 4:37 pm

      Kid Icarus: :::sending vibes:::

      We held out just long enough for someone to beat us to the punch. I LOVE to be first…I mean…Tim and I race up the stairs sometimes…but this one competition I certainly didn’t want to win….

  4. 7 Breeza August 26, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Congrats! Being an aunt is fun!

    • 8 Jessica August 26, 2009 at 4:39 pm

      Breeza: I know, right?…actually – are you an aunt? Cause I’m not entirely sure what I’m supposed to DO just yet…seeing its my first time and all…(that kinda sounded like a REALLY BAD movie line…)

  5. 9 Laura August 26, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Hooray for babies! And being a aunt! 🙂

    • 10 Jessica August 26, 2009 at 4:38 pm

      Laura: I’m a first-time aunt. It’s so new…and such a strange feeling. But is does mean I get to spoil them…without having to suffer the sugar crash wrath later… 🙂

  6. 11 Breeza August 26, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Yes. He’s 9. I just spoil him, take him places, do stuff with him, and try to be the fun adult in his life. But I also have to discipline him– I just don’t like doing it.

    • 12 Jessica August 26, 2009 at 6:03 pm

      Breeza: I’d probably be really bad with the discipline, too…more like, “another cookie? After you pikes on the carpet, pulled the cats tail AND drew all over my car with a sharpie?”

      “sure, sweetie. Anything for you.”

  7. 13 bevchen August 26, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Ooh, congratulations Auntie!

    The first offical grandchild. So does that mean there are unoffical grandchildren too?

  8. 15 Lori at I Can Grow People August 26, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    I moved to Tallahassee in ’06 after spending 4 years in CT. Can’t say I love it here, but it is really nice not dealing with lake effect snow!

    -Lori at I Can Grow People

  9. 16 everydaywomanusa August 27, 2009 at 6:12 am

    Congrats to the whole fam! Glad the pressure’s off you . . .at least for a bit!

    And, thanks for stopping by my site. I’d be the LAST one to push someone, asking questions re: babies, etc., I’m just DELIGHTED when it’s the right time for everyone and it happens!

  10. 18 KB September 1, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Hey Jess…errr…Jessica (my little bro’s fault),

    Thanks for including us in your blog. Mama and baby are doing quite well. I still cannot believe I was able to make this perfect little human being inside of me…and that I was able to get it out – lol. He has been such a blessing and I can’t wait for you guys to visit and meet him. I think he shares many qualities of his Uncle Tim besides just his middle name.

    Glad I helped take the pressure off. I can put a stop to any reproductive feelings you may develop once you hold him by sharing the gory details of his labor and delivery – lol. But seriously, I wouldn’t change a thing!!


  1. 1 if there’s one thing I’m good at, it’s entertaining myself « booshy Trackback on September 20, 2009 at 7:24 am

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


