you are now my (only) friends…

You do realize…you are now my main source of entertainment.

And conversation.

And for what’s going on in the world.

After Friday, I will have officially shed my title as Registrar of Absolute Chaos.

And that means I no longer have an army of people around me…five days a week…walking into my office and plopping down in a chair and uncasing their current iriritations.  No, instead I’ll have Maddie…who dumps Tigger and Pinky and ten thousand other toys in my lap.

I told Tim I was going to be all lonely…no more office gossip after this week….and since he only works FOUR MILES AWAY, he needed to come home for lunch from time to time to visit me and feed me juicy office drama tidbits.

(Never mind he’ll be home every evening around five and could do it then).

Problem is…see…I just cannot go from 7:00am to 5:00pm without some kind of verbal stimuli.

He looked at me with this blank expression…thinking over my nooner proposition….then was all, “you better start learning how to speak cat.”

23 Responses to “you are now my (only) friends…”


  1. 1 Sarah August 24, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    Congratulations on your soon approaching last day of work! I’m a little bit jealous, I will admit. I’m dyyyying to quit my job. Ugh.

    My sister likes to listen to audio books on Librivox – it’s not human interaction so much, but may give you something to listen to while you’re sitting at home with your cat and eating bonbons :).

    • 2 Jessica August 24, 2009 at 4:16 pm

      Sarah: What is your job? What do you do?

      Librivox? Never heard of it – but will have to check it out for one of those rainy days where all you want to do is curl up in bed. With bonbons.

  2. 3 Shannon August 24, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    I soooo know the feeling. I’ll talk whenever! But I’m sure Tim will give better nooners than anyone:) had to go there sorry:)

  3. 5 bolognaball August 24, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    We will toast your last day this Friday, although friends will wonder who and what a booshy is 🙂

    Away from office drama and trauma, fabulous! Seriously what do you think goes on with Maddie and the kitty while you guys are out? No doubt theres a world of stuff going on you dont know about and thats much better then office cow plops!

    Enjoy

    • 6 Jessica August 24, 2009 at 4:19 pm

      bolognaball: Yea for the toast! Um…you can tell them…that booshy is definitely female. That may be all they need to know… they could read me? Maybe?

      And, you’re right about the “goings-on” around here. I know those little toy mice don’t end up in weird places…like inside the plants…all on their own.

  4. 7 Breeza August 24, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    I’m sure you’ll find people to talk to right? There’s always stores and phones and you so won’t miss the office drama!
    4 more days!

  5. 8 mrssoup August 24, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    You are going to just have to make up some invisible coworkers. Ooo! And you can write them off as employees!

    Or just use Twitter.

    We’ll be your friends. 😀

    • 9 Jessica August 24, 2009 at 6:38 pm

      mrssoup: TWITTER! Great idea…I’m not so great at updates…but it may get a little more interesting now… 🙂 And that is a FANTASTIC IDEA…write them off as employees! Perfect! Love it…great “friendly” advice 🙂

  6. 10 Hillary August 24, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    no office gossip? i would go nuts! that’s how i earn part of my paycheck – chatting with coworkers.

  7. 12 kevmoore August 25, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Hello Jessica,

    Discovered ( is that the right word? -wouldn’t want to make you sound like a continent…) you following your comment in our Cafe Crem. I do like your humour, and I’m sure I’ll stop by again.

    With reference to your problem, perhaps you could offer your services as an online office gossip? if you can convince a firm to allow you to plug into their office network, it’s like you’re actually there, and you can join in on all the juicy details. heck, You could talk behind everybody’s back, and they’d never find you! Perhaps this isn’t a good idea….I’ll get my coat.

    • 13 Jessica August 25, 2009 at 2:27 pm

      kevmoore: I think discovered works…works for me, anyway. As for the online gossip…hmm…you may just be on to something…if it wasn’t for the PC protocol…damn.

      Definitely hope to see you stop by again.

  8. 14 Sarah August 25, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I’m an operations mgr for a small business (gvt contracting type stuff). Ops mgr, but that includes HR, accounting, procurement, shipping, you name it. I am stuck doing EVERYTHING, and my boss is a complete jackass. Horrible, horrible man.
    And he decided this year (record sales for our company) is a good year to stop giving bonuses. Turns out he decided to pay himself a ridiculous f*ing salary instead. WHAT A JERK.

    Thanks for letting me rant 🙂

    • 15 Jessica August 25, 2009 at 6:48 pm

      Sarah: Do you work for the same company I do?….Cause that all sounds a bit too familiar….

      And do feel free to rant any time you’d like…after Friday…It’ll be welcomed. 🙂

  9. 16 Calamity Anne August 25, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    That was the hardest part with me not working…not having a single soul to talk to most of the day…that is if you don’t count the 3 dogs, 1 cat, and a tank of fish! Then when my poor husband got home he was slammed with my blabbering. By the way…learning to speak ‘cat’ gets easier with every day! Man, that doesn’t sound like much of an upside!

    • 17 Jessica August 25, 2009 at 6:50 pm

      Calamity Anne: My husband…oh lets just ask for the powers that be to help him now…because I’ll probably end up the same as you, speaking incoherently…rambling on about fuzzy mice and dog food and how I almost blew up the stove…

      I’m practicing my cat…

  10. 18 Amanda August 25, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    No more daily grind for you? Wow what a huge change! You know I always thought “I could so just stay home all day” Then i went on maternity leave for 9 weeks and became stir crazy. I needed human interaction, don’t get me wrong I love my daughter more than life its self but it was a challenge. I found myself resorting to way too much retail therapy to pass the time, what could I say? Sorry honey, i was bored i did a little shopping…again and again…. So it was expensive for me not to be working. I hope you are stronger than i was!

    At least you have wordpress to occupy your time, oh and twitter of course, it is quite entertaining to see what people all over the world are doing at any given moment.

    • 19 Jessica August 26, 2009 at 4:33 am

      Amanda: I’m going to be writing a book… Hopefully that’ll occupy SOME time… we’ll see how it goes… I can see the danger in retail therapy…and I better get that under control….

      Kids haven’t even entered the picture…yet… That will be a whole new experience…

  11. 20 Daphne August 26, 2009 at 10:19 am

    I agree with Calamity Anne’s perspective. I worked for a while doing fieldwork, driving to new places all by myself, with little to no human interaction. My husband would come home and I would talk for a solid hour when all he wanted was to relax and decompress from a stressful work day. We definitely had to figure out a different way for me to share my thoughts. I ended up writing a blog about my observations of stupid driving habits since I drove so much for work. That way, I could talk to Donald about normal things instead of how people don’t understand how to merge onto a freeway. How could that not be interesting day after day?

    I’m always happy to chat if you need someone to listen. And I promise not to talk about driving.

    • 21 Jessica August 26, 2009 at 12:41 pm

      Daphne: Really? You PROMISE? We just may have a deal, then. 🙂 Though, my babbling will probably consist of the lawn people being too loud, the mailman running late and the cats running around like horses upstairs.

      So, I think you can sneak “driving” frustrations into the mix now and then…I live in Atlanta…and traffic is TERRIBLE…so I like to hear how people get to deal with the crazies that somehow managed to obtain both a license AND a car…yet forgot…insurance….

      I digress.

  12. 22 Daphne August 27, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Oh yes, I promise. 🙂 And don’t worry about the content of your “babbling” – it’s about being heard.

    You’re welcome to open the door to my driving rants. Just don’t say I didn’t warn you. Digressions welcome.

  13. 23 Heather August 29, 2009 at 9:53 am

    I left my job over a year ago due to illness, and have been in the house myself since then. It was forced upon me. Believe me when I say that there will be times when you will go stir crazy. I know I did, but I actually now enjoy being on my own. I had to rely on online friends to get me through the day, but I have relied less and less on them over the past 6 months. I still talk to them often, however, creating my artwork has made me less dependent. And now I’ve started college, where I will be surrounded by people: all day, every day. That’s going to take some getting used to…ok maybe it won’t as I’m a real blether! You’ll get used to it, and you have your dream to pursue. That will help a lot.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


