pictures of food

I take pictures of my food disasters.  Like my mayonnaise cake.  Or things I know I shouldn’t eat.  Like ginormous cookies.

But Tim…takes pictures of perfectly normal, healthy food.

And I’ve come to the realization I haven’t a clue why.

All these years…and I’ve never once asked, “Honey, why?  What is it about food that just screams TAKE MY PICTURE!!”

We have kabobs

Kabobs

 

And Pizza

Cabin Pizza

 

And Thanksgiving

Tim's Parents Thanksgiving

 

You know, we JUST ATE KABOBS LAST NIGHT.

And no picture.

Apparently photographs are reserved for special occasions…like holidays or cabining trips…the food must look different…or something…

It’s one of those things where I’m all…”Sure, Honey.  Whatever you want.”

Cause I definitely don’t understand…

14 Responses to “pictures of food”


  1. 1 Laura August 18, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Hmm. I rarely take photos of food. It is an interesting subject to take pictures of, I suppose though. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting me! 🙂

  2. 2 Sarah August 18, 2009 at 11:12 am

    We do a lot of smorgasbords at our house (basically when we’re too lazy to cook) – hummus, smoked salmon, cheese and crackers, tomato and mozzarella – and for some reason we always feel compelled to take pictures of them. Not sure why either, but I’ve got TONS of smorgasbord pics :).
    And we take holiday food pictures too. I think that started because we were so proud of our first Thanksgiving cooking alone and then it just ended up a tradition. Kinda weird to think about it now…

    • 3 Jessica August 18, 2009 at 5:03 pm

      Sarah: I’d like that smorgasbord… those to me are better than cooked meals sometimes…my favorite being a few nice cheeses, dried dates, grapes, a loaf of french bread and red wine….I could eat that ALL DAY. 🙂 Good to know we’re not the only one’s capturing our food’s last moments…

  3. 4 mrssoup August 18, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Cuz food is good! And it’s always nice to see what people are eating….

  4. 6 thecottonwife August 18, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    I once took a photo of a chocolate cake that splattered all over the floor. I still wish I hadn’t – it look soooo gross!

  5. 8 helgahi August 18, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    I want that pizza! I take photos of food when I manage to make something that looks and tastes good. I’m always surprised when that happens 😉

    • 9 Jessica August 18, 2009 at 5:59 pm

      helgahi: Hmmm….I don’t even remember how we made it – but if I remember correctly, it was with store-bought pizza dough….and I married an Italian…so that was like blasphemy.

  6. 10 bevchen August 19, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Oooh, it all looks yummy. Especially the thanksgiving dinner.
    I took a photo of the stuffed aubergines I made the other day cos they looked so good and I was so proud of myself for not messing it up. I also took a photo the first time I made cookies because I had never made them before and they actually looked like real cookies. I don’t take photos of all my food though. It does have to be a special occasion. Or something I’m particularly proud of.

    • 11 Jessica August 19, 2009 at 2:08 pm

      bevchen: I should do that – take pictures of the things I’m proud of…instead of the disasters. Then, there’s no proof I messed up…only the pictures showing of my master *cough cough* culinary skills.

  7. 12 ieva {yay-va} August 19, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    that makes you more aware of what you are eating which is a good thing actually 🙂

  8. 14 ieva {yay-va} August 20, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    well, not every night. every second night. all the rest might be little guilty pleasure nights that you simply enjoy 😉


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


