really? it’s not wood?

For our first wedding anniversary, we did the traditional “paper” gift theme.

I made Tim a scrapbook of old emails and tickets and little keepsakes we accumulated over the years.  I thought it was so unique…so different…

scrap book cover

inside of scrapbook

 

Ok so…TINY confession: technically… I never FINISHED it…I was supposed to get metal rings instead of ribbon to bind it together…

Which Tim reminded me of the other day when SOMEHOW his gift from A YEAR AGO came up.  He was all, “Babe, aren’t you supposed to FINISH MY GIFT?  I mean, I love it and all but you know, you aren’t done yet…with MY GIFT.”

Me: “What year is metal?  Year seven?”

I mean, he has every reason to complain, because he blew my little scrapbook right out of the water.

What I thought was THE PERFECT GIFT, with sweet memories plastered everywhere….an idea I thought was SO CREATIVE and thoughtful…and BAM! 

My gift exploded. 

Right there on the spot.  Realized it wasn’t up to snuff and figured the better option was to create a dramatic scene rather than sit on a counter collecting dust, with comments like, “stupid, unfinished GIFT…” being thrown its direction.

Because of this:

flatts cover

I opened it…thinking there was NO WAY Tim could out-do me.

A CD?  REALLY?  A CD??…that’s not even PAPER.

Then I opened the case and see a pair of tickets laying on a CD.

A pair of tickets to my most favorite band. EVER.

I shot off my chair and started running around and jumping up and down and then came back to reality and took a second look at the CD, making sure I wasn’t imagining things.

And I realized something was amiss.  Something wasn’t QUITE right.

Then I see it.

flatts cd

flatts back

It wasn’t the actual CD or CD cover or even the BACK of the CD.

No…that’d be too boring..too obvious…too simple….

So, Tim MADE ON HIS OWN.

JUST. FOR. ME.

I looked up at him all, “isn’t this the kind of stuff you READ about in all those magazines and books but it never really happens??  Who did this??”

Just Tim.  He thought of it all by himself.

And boy was he BEAMING.  Puffing out his chest like a proud peacock.  He just smiled and said “Happy Anniversary.”

Flash forward to this year…our impending anniversary.

I refused to be out-gifted…so we decided to purchase a gift together (mentioned here).

Now, I have to stop and say first that Tim and I LOVE tradition.

We like to follow it.  We like to make our own.  We like  to do things IN ORDER.

ACCORDING TO TRADITION.

Which is why we purchased the dresser.  Because year two was wood.

We were certain.  We looked it up.  WE RESEARCHED.  We triple-checked.

And last night, I was curious as to what year three would bring…since I’d have to start planning early…come up with something that would out-shine anything Tim could possibly conjure up.

So, Tim starts googling traditional wedding gifts and in the process of doing so, stops.  His eyes get wide…and he looks up at me.

I’m all, “WHAT?!?  SAY SOMETHING.  WHAT?!”

Tim: “Well…. year three is leather…”

Me: “And this realization resulted in THAT LOOK?  I don’t think so.  What?”

He hesitates…almost as if he’s trying to decide between the truth or a little white lie…

Tim: “Year two is cotton.”

Me: “What?!?! Noooo..it’s WOOD!  We checked!”

Tim: “Year five is wood.”

I sat there and stared at him.  How could we have missed that?  Mixed up year two and five?  They aren’t even in succession.

Me: “Well, we put COTTON in the wood.  Does that count?”

Tim: “Umm….sure, sweetheart. That counts.  What about year five?”

I just shrugged.

Now we’re all screwed up.  Somehow we’re going to have to remember year five is now COTTON instead of WOOD.

And we already have a hard enough time remembering what the other person said five minutes ago.

Damn.

18 Responses to “really? it’s not wood?”


  1. 1 jen August 15, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    I have read somewhere that there are traditional traditional lists and new traditional lists for wedding anniversaries so maybe you were looking at one or the other and something was switched around?

    Also, wow, that is one amazing one year anniversary gift! Is it sad that I can’t even remember what my husband and I did for our one year anniversary? Today is the 6th and we aren’t doing anything…no gifts, no night out. I guess they get like birthdays for us after a while.

    I say create your own list and just flip flop the cotton and the wood…

  2. 3 Ellen August 15, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Omigosh! Thank goodness I’m not married — I don’t think I could keep up!

    • 4 Jessica August 15, 2009 at 6:48 pm

      Ellen: We’re married…and we can’t even keep up…hopefully this doesn’t happen with kids birthdays…”oh? SIXTEEN WAS THE BIG ONE!….Not 14?..”

  3. 5 anewbadwolf August 15, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Aww the scrapbook was a sweet idea…you two are CUTE!

  4. 7 joz1234 August 16, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    LOL! You two are so funny! I wish my husband and I were as creative. Have fun!

  5. 9 lifestartsnow August 16, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    oh, sounds way too complicated. old list, new list…i’m all for making your own list. put all the options together and draw!

    franzi

  6. 11 Kelsi Nibbana August 16, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    awww! Both of your gifts are sweet! My husband is the type that could give both of the gifts you guys did – I’m the type that would forget or ask him what he wanted. I kind of suck at gifts!

  7. 13 justagirlinvegas August 17, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Ok that was just too sweet and creative…where did you find him and will he give lessons to my current boyfriend? 🙂

    • 14 Jessica August 17, 2009 at 5:21 am

      justagirlinvegas: I’m not sure if those are things that are learned as much as they are trial-by-error-that’s-probably-not-the-best-idea-try-something-else-next-time…

  8. 15 lifestartsnow August 17, 2009 at 10:06 am

    go ahead and steal! one thought just came to mind, maybe you should keep the very traditional years such as the 25th and 50th and whatever year is the diamond as a given (just in case it’s in there, you know).
    it would be weird to celebrate the 25th anniversary and it’s not about silver (that’s what it is in germany at least) but…you know…cotton or something. 😉

    franzi

  9. 17 mrssoup August 17, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Love it! And I’m sure you’ll figure something out….


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


