the sacrifice

Remember how I said Tim and I used to go camping a lot? 

Well, with camping comes mischief.

Because there is only so much to do with a tent and fire that doesn’t result in Smoky the Bear chasing you from the forest with his big, hunter green hat.

And we’re not afraid of utilizing our surroundings to create our own fun.

Once, when we came back from a hike, we found a mean note from the “camp patrol” tucked under our lantern on the picnic table. See, we wrote on the metal fire pit ring with tips of burned sticks.  Apparently hearts and letters are not acceptable as part of the outdoor decor.  I mean, it WASHES OFF.  Geez.  So, in retaliation, we made a little “Welcome Home” type sign on a piece of bark and set it out right under our campsite number.  JUST SO EVERYONE KNEW WHO LIVED THERE. FOR THE WEEKEND.

The morning we left, Tim climbed the tree on our site and stuck the sign as high as he could, wedged between branches.  And yes, the “J” is backwards on purpose.  Tim was trying to be cute once during a date night and started drawing a “T&J” with his fork on an empty dessert plate with leftover sauce.  However, he was drawing upside down…so the “J” ended up backwards.  I looked at him all, ” You know that’s backwards, right?”  And he was all, “NO IT’S NOT!”  He turned the plate around…sure enough.  Backwards.  It stuck.

T&J Sign

 

On a different camping trip, we had a moment of creative genius and decided to create Twinkie the Kid.  Along with his trusted Steed, Cupcake.

The creation

Twinkie & Cupcake

 

Who were both then sacrificed to the camping gods that evening.

the sacrifice

 

And…the scary part…Twinkie Twinkie Firenever…burned.  He just blackened.

Blackened Twinkie

15 Responses to “the sacrifice”


  1. 1 lifestartsnow August 12, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    help, i can’t see the blackened twinkie. i feel like i’m really missing out!!!

    franzi

  2. 3 mrssoup August 12, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Oh My Goodness. I guffawed at Twinkie the Kid. Once again, I am so glad that no one works immediately around me…

  3. 5 Breeza August 12, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Wow–I never want to eat another twinkie again! If they don’t burn, imagine what they do inside your stomach. Sick!

    • 6 Jessica August 13, 2009 at 7:48 am

      Breeza: We haven’t. After that little experiment..little debbie was banned from our house. We used to only buy them for things like camping trips…but now we make our own desserts and bring them.

  4. 7 Shannon August 12, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    I got all excited thinking this was the engagement story. I sat up all straight and got a goofy grin on my face and you totally teased. Not that I didn’t laugh,just a total tease:)

  5. 9 mcwillis August 12, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    OK this is seriously the funniest thing I’ve ever seen. I’ve made little things before…but nothing compared to this. And black twinkie! HAHA! Seriously funny.

  6. 11 alainnneart August 12, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    wow. makes burning man look lame.

    🙂

  7. 12 bevchen August 13, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    I love Twinke the Kid. After reading about them in American books all the way through my teens I’ve wondered for years what a twinkie looked like. Now I know… and I also know they don’t burn 😉

    • 13 Jessica August 13, 2009 at 7:46 am

      confuzzledom: Twinkes are… well…..not something you want to eat very often. Let’s just put it that way.

      And thanks foe stopping by! Hope to see you back from time to time!

  8. 14 lifestartsnow August 13, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    @jessica, finally saw it using a different browser. can’t believe this stinker did not burn. scary. i guess those preservatives are really working 😉

    my calculation: eating lots of twinkies = lots of preservatives in body = fireproof!!!

    franzi


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


