i’m not that picky

I have this really…unfortunate habit.

I like to eat dinner early.

Early as in, as soon as it is even SLIGHTLY FEASIBLE to call it dinner.  Or even Linner (you know, lunch and dinner all mashed together).

I have yet to learn that this is not a good plan.  That, in fact, it is a terrible idea.  The conversation almost always ends up the same.

Me, at about 6:00pm:  Honey…I’m HUNGRY!”

Tim: “This is why we don’t EAT DINNER AT THREE IN THE AFTERNOON.”

Me: “Oh….right…”

And then, seeing my displeasure, Tim goes around and around, trying to figure out something for me to eat.

Tim: “Cereal?”

Me: “No..don’t feel like cereal.”

Tim: “Popsicle?”

Me: “That isn’t substantial enough.”

Tim: “Salad?”

Me: “I don’t feel like making one…”

Tim: “A cookie.”

Me: “Nooo…shouldn’t have a cookie!”

Me, after Tim fails to provide another option: “Well?  That’s all you’ve got?!?”

Tim: “You and your finicky palate need to have a little meeting..work it out.”

13 Responses to “i’m not that picky”


  1. 1 lifestartsnow August 9, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    i have never heard of “linner” – that’s my new word of the day and i will pass it on to my norwegian friend who eats a ridiculously early dinner. for me, her dinners qualify as late lunch!

    franzi

  2. 3 Breeza August 9, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    That’s awesome. I usually eat dinner around 530. I can’t imagine eating dinner at 8. I can when I’m out with friends, but on a daily basis? That’s crazy!

  3. 5 mcwillis August 9, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Lol! I do the same thing…sorta. Except I will eat about 3 more times after “linner.” As in, I basically get hungry every 3-4 hours. A fact very much despised by anyone I spend more than that amount of time with.

  4. 7 lifestartsnow August 10, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    don’t you get hungry again though? i totally get hungry 4 or so hours after i had dinner. that’s when i go to bed. i couldn’t picture going to bed at midnight and my last meal was at 3pm…

    franzi

    • 8 Jessica August 10, 2009 at 1:19 pm

      franzi: That’s exactly the problem. The problem Tim ATTEMPTS to fix by poo-poohing my pleas for an early dinner… I suppose I’m kind of a stick-in-the-mud when it comes to this…chalk it up as a minor personality flaw…

  5. 9 ieva {yay-va} August 12, 2009 at 9:44 am

    why not to eat 5-6 times a day and have as many tiny lunches and dinners and brunches and linners as you want? : )

  6. 11 John Kanadu September 8, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Eating dinner at 8:00pm is okay if your bed time is 2:00am. People with weak stomach will end up tossing here and there in their beds…..all night. Hey Jessica,, this John (LCB-Atl). I like the photos. They look real.. Best of luck to you and Tim.

    John


  1. 1 our trip to charleston got cancelled… « booshy Trackback on August 30, 2009 at 4:41 pm

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


