love clothes to death

I’m 26 and married and have loads of life lessons under my belt.

Yet I still do not understand WHY I attach sentimental value to CLOTHES.

I mean, COME ON.  They’re pieces of colored fabric.

And I cannot shake the guily, shameful feeling I get when removing them from the closet – even though the last time I wore said tank top, pair of jeans or baby tee was FIVE YEARS AGO.

Somewhere in my brain a little voice is screaming, “BUT IF I GET RID OF IT, THEN ONE DAY I’LL REMEMBER IT AND WANT TO WEAR IT AND NOW IT IS GONE.”

Then, apparently, the world ends.  And who wants THAT on their conscious?

I’ve  kept shirts so long that I created VISIBLE HOLES.  I thought the holes gave each shirt a little “personality” all its own. Tim, however, felt otherwise, and actually took it upon himself one day to rip each one off its delicate little hanger and relocate them to their new home – the garbage – without me knowing.

I still have no idea what’s missing – save one black shirt that I asked about once and Tim confessed his dirty deed.

I’ve held onto pairs of jeans for YEARS because I’m convinced my boyish high school body will come back.

And I’m still waiting.

But I’m not alone in my attachments.

Tim’s guilty of the EXACT SAME THING.

And every so often, we both go on a crazed I-don’t-care-WHAT-IT-IS-I-haven’t-worn-it-IN-A-DECADE.

IT’S GOING.

TODAY.

16 Responses to “love clothes to death”


  1. 1 vixstar1314 August 3, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Thanks for dropping by my page!!!

    This post of yours is SO true, we will ALWAYS love cloths… Especially us female, we are total suckers for shopping and hence clothes, thats just the way we are made…HEHehehe
    And yes we all get attached to our old clothes I have a few that I have grown out of but I still keep it…

  2. 3 Marlana August 3, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    I do the same thing. I just got rid of a ton of old clothes and it felt great and the extra closet space is a bonus. A friend of mine has a storage unit full of clothes, she has stuff she hasn’t worn for over fifteen years but she won’t get rid of any of it.

  3. 5 Md. Alsanda August 3, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Thanks for dropping by, I’m a guy and I never through away my old
    favorite clothes, Not like you Ladies shopping is something I
    only read about. 😉

    • 6 Jessica August 4, 2009 at 5:07 am

      Md Alsanda: That’s because you “guys” hold onto things YOU think are justifiable….like old, rusty tools or a pair of “work” boots that have seen too many parts of your life to just be “thrown away.”

      Same thing. Different attachments. 🙂

  4. 7 Sarah August 3, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    You love clothes, I love purses. Oh to have to give up one…and never know if at some point in the distant future the perfect occasion will arise. *sigh* But I notice more and more that it isn’t so much having the purses that gives me comfort. No. It’s the hunt for the perfect one that has me enthralled.

    Still. Its good to release.

    Love your blog. Plan on reading regularly =0)

    ~~Rebel Cat~~

    • 8 Jessica August 4, 2009 at 5:05 am

      Rebel Cat:
      PURSES! Those are definitely right up there with clothes…my attachment is still forming with them,though. I still don’t like toting an extra piece of material around…but the accessory is growing on me…

      And thank you! Your reading and comments are always welcomed -good, bad or ugly…. 🙂

  5. 9 Breeza August 3, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    I do the same thing because I never know, I might want to wear it someday…

  6. 11 ifbyyes August 4, 2009 at 2:29 am

    I have shirts so old that they have become part of my identity. There’s the wolf T-shirt that my best friend from grade 4, long since moved to Holland, sent me when I was SIXTEEN. My husband has recently convinced me to stop wearing it in public, since it now has several holes in the chestal area.

    Then there’s the Greek shirt I bought in Greece when I was… yes…. sixteen. It reads (in Greek) “I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free – Kazanzakis”. I loved answering people in Greek when they asked me what my shirt said. It has a rip in the seam that my husband hasn’t noticed yet AND I HOPE HE NEVER DOES.

    I figure I can save em all for a quilt or something… someday.

    • 12 Jessica August 4, 2009 at 5:28 am

      ifbyyes: I applaud your efforts with your husband. I have old basketball shirts from eighth grade that I refuse to remove from the rotation. Funny you should mention a quilt, because I thought about that… I just have no idea how to do anything regarding sewing. In grade school, my home ec class had to make a checkerboard pillow… And I managed to crookedly sew EVERY SINGLE corner (you’d think I get ONE right…).

      And I LOVE that Greek shirt saying. I wouldn’t give that up for ANYTHING!

  7. 13 colleenincairns August 4, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Yes they are JUST pieces of coloured fabric but I do think what we choose to present ourselves to the world in IS important as our reflection of our sense of self and self-confidence. So I say hang on to the sentimental stuff. I love perusing second hand stores these days for the adventure of finding a treasure at a bargain price…like some shoes I recently bought for $25 that would cost over $125 in the stores !!!

    • 14 Jessica August 5, 2009 at 5:30 am

      colleenincairns: That’s a GREAT deal for those shoes! I think my problem…and Tim’s problem…is that we attach sentimental value to TOO MANY things…so everything from a movie ticket to an old shirt MUST REMAIN.

  8. 15 shannon August 5, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    I do the same thing. Only because I HAVE remembered things I threw out, and was very angry about it. I still have clothes from high school…and occasionally, I still wear them. I did recently toss out about 35 pair of worn out running shoes. Seriously. OVER 30!!! I had been collecting for about 8 years…

    My husband (Ben) has (er…had) these really light blue, worn out carpenter jeans. I called them his “ugly 90’s jeans” but he loved them and still wore them all the time (and I let him since I love him–but I told him how gross they were EVERY TIME he wore them.)
    Last week he was riding his bike to work, and RRRRRRIP! Right up the rear end next to the pocket. He finally got rid of them, but told me there is another identical pair somewhere at his mother’s house. I swear I am going to call her and tell her to get rid of them before he goes over there.

    • 16 Jessica August 6, 2009 at 5:04 am

      shannon: I’d definitely make sure his mom rids her house of those… though she may still be on TEAM SON and keep them despite your plea AND let him in on your request…But I have no idea what your relationship dynamics are… I’m just imagining what would happen if it were me in that situation….

      And THIRTY pairs? Wow. That’s an impressive lot. But I do understand how difficult it is to toss out a pair of running shoes that fit great and were with you on memorable runs…


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


