tim’s logic = my insanity

Tim and I don’t solve problems or tell stories or give directions or plan things the same way.

EVER.

I start at the big, bright, beautiful end where the angels are stacked twenty deep, glowing in the clouds and singing hallelujah.  That’s the part I focus on to give myself the energy to get through the dull, ancillary details. 

I’m not a patient person.  AT ALL.

Mr. Logical, however must do things STEP BY PAINFULLY SLOW STEP.  There is no “starting at the end.”  We must WORK OUR WAY THROUGH.

And it makes me INSANE.  I’m all, WHY NOT?  Why do we have to measure first?  Why not just throw it up there and see what happens?  And, IT WILL FIT even though the space looks too small. TRUST ME.  Did I measure? Sure, with my eyes…and they say it fits.

All projects taken on as a pair – as in Tim and I – consist of LOTS of huffs and sighs and hair pulling…plenty of stomping and slamming things and the comment through clenched teeth, “WHY ARE YOU SO DAMN DIFFICULT?!?!”

We’re two of the most stubborn people I have ever met.  Once we set our minds to something, we don’t change them without LOTS AND LOTS OF DEBATING.  Cause my idea IS THE SHINING EXAMPLE of a brilliant plan. 

And his takes too long.

Then,  he who cannot figure out why I would FATHOM hanging a picture frame without the use of a tape measure or discount the use of modern equipment like measuring spoons and instead toss in what I THINK is about a tablespoon, pops my idea balloon.

He doesn’t even have to say anything.  It’s the LOOK.  He gets this “you-are-crazy-or-just-damn-clueless” face and I already know – questions are formulating and I’m about to be bombarded with something along the lines of, “Why-are-you-doing-it-this-way-shouldn’t-you-do-this-first-what-is-going-to-happen-if-this-goes-awry-or-you-blow-something-up?”

Wellllll…..

I didn’t exactly think about…ANY OF THAT. 

Yet.

I tried to explain it to him once.  In the initial “bringing up of the plan,” I just give him MY ULTIMATE GOAL.  Then I’ll figure out the rest. 

I’m giving him the most important part: WHAT I WANT.

Details later.

That doesn’t fly in this household.

Details now. THE SAME TIME AS THE GOAL.  He needs the solution or ideas to reach the solution or SOME SEMBLANCE OF FORETHOUGHT.

But…I DID have forethought.

That was the goal.

4 Responses to “tim’s logic = my insanity”


  1. 1 Natasha August 2, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    doesn’t it feel like you’re already five steps ahead because you jumped forward and you’re waiting for him to catch up?

    men and women just won’t think the same way, I don’t think. Especially not your other half, otherwise personally I don’t think that works.

    good luck!

    • 2 Jessica August 3, 2009 at 6:46 am

      Very true…I suppose without his “steps” I would probably wind up on a path leading to the blackened abyss…yet I still never change how I approach goals…so he definitely earns his keep by being the navigator who is chastised incessantly….

  2. 3 joz1234 August 10, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    sounds like my mom and I working together…she doesn’t look at the instructions…I work them step by step. I’d rather work alone

    • 4 Jessica August 10, 2009 at 4:44 pm

      joz1234: I’ve got to side with your mom…:) as I just plow right through. Half the time I forget to even LOOK at the directions…it’s a patience thing, I think…


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


