we rearranged our bedroom…for a new dresser

This is where ALL of my socks and bras and lady items have been housed since THE DAY I MOVED IN WITH TIM. 

Three tiny, thin little drawers was all I had.  Which – by the way – I have been utilizing for YEARS because we lived together before we got married (and I don’t want to hear the whole cohabitation research bit.  I’m a Psych major – I’m well versed, thank you).

Old Dresser

Every time I’d ask about this hunk of wood with a mirror, Tim  would tell me, “It’s an ANTIQUE.  It is STAYING.”

I eventually gave it up.  And now, I’m fine with it staying.  But MY THINGS don’t exactly fit very well in THE ANTIQUE. 

It can STAY somewhere else.

Our second anniversary is coming up in September…and in following with the traditional second anniversary gift that must contain “wood” – we bought our present for each other early.

A BRAND NEW DRESSER. 

WITH SPACE.

LOTS AND LOTS OF SPACE.

We found out on Friday that the dresser would be delivered sometime this week, so over the weekend we played move-the-furniture and relocated the old antique dresser in the spare bedroom, which left our bedroom with this huge, open space, of which Maddie took full advantage.

No Dresser

Thankfully, that gap was filled yesterday when two huge mover-type guys came over and presented us with this:

New dresser

Gracie is still pissed at us because we moved her dinner table TO THE FLOOR of another room (Excuse us, Gracie. We’re upgrading and you cannot JUMP HIGH ENOUGH to get to the would-be location of the new dinner table).

But, I’m happy because now… MY GIRLY THINGS HAVE PLENTY OF SPACE.

Tim asked if I wanted to “christen” our new dresser this weekend.

My first thought was, “ummm it looks a LITTLE tall….”

He meant put clothes in all the drawers.

My bad.  The brain didn’t go there.

6 Responses to “we rearranged our bedroom…for a new dresser”


  1. 1 Breeza July 24, 2009 at 12:13 am

    I love it!!! Congrats.

    • 2 Jessica July 24, 2009 at 2:40 pm

      Thank you! It smells all new and cedar-y inside. We had cedar chests when I was a kid… and I always loved pulling blankets out because they had *that* smell…not sure how I’ll feel about clothes smelling like that…but hopefully they won’t be in there long enough to cling onto that odor….

  2. 3 Shannon July 24, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Ooooh very pretty. My mind would have completely gone there on the whole “christening” thing too. This would also be my excuse to go by more fun girly things to fill some of that new space:)

    • 4 Jessica July 24, 2009 at 6:08 pm

      YEA!! for the girly things. And you better believe that I’ve already laid claim to the middle drawer. Tim says his biggest mistake was turning me on to all the girly things (for my old self, a sporty, tom-boy, didn’t much care).

  3. 5 Shannon July 25, 2009 at 11:20 am

    I used to be the same way and then one day I discovered I really did like Victorias Secret. The tom-boy still lies in me quite a bit.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


