“i think i need to get you an electric stove…”

I think we’re all clear by now that I suck when it comes to anything technical

Or complicated. 

Or requires forward thinking.

Which is why I have now been banned from using the stove.

I have accidentally left a burner on with no flame…not once.

Not twice.

But THREE TIMES.

The first time it happened, it dawned on me that it had been an extraordinarily long time for the water in the pot I had set on the stove to start boiling.

My clue that something was a little off was the smell. 

Something just smelled…wrong.

And on my exploration to find the source of the smell, I went over to see why the stove wasn’t working and found that the stove WAS working…I just wasn’t paying any attention. 

Instead of boiling water, it was leaching out gas…and had been doing so for about 30 MINUTES.

I freaked out, thinking I was going to blow the place up and ran around the house, opening every window, fanning the doors back and forth, trying to make sure I didn’t touch anything electrical.

Last night I forgot to turn the burner off after I had finished cooking and it remained on through our entire meal.

And that was strike three for me and the stove.

Tim looks over at me, chuckling, shaking his head and says, “I think I need to get you an electric stove.”

But I just don’t know if that will solve the problem.

8 Responses to ““i think i need to get you an electric stove…””


  1. 1 Sarah July 20, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    Unfortunately, it probably won’t solve your problem :).
    I’ve ruined 2 teapots by boiling them until they cracked. Then, I bought one from Wally world that whistled…the whistle malfunctioned and it burnt up. I have an electric kettle now that shuts itself off after it boils :).

  2. 3 Eric Richardville July 21, 2009 at 12:45 am

    OOOH, I bet that was a trippy experience. It is a good thing that you caught it though before anything bad happened. I can picture you running through the house frantically opening windows. At the time I’m sure it was very scary but forgive me for laughing now, now that I know everything is OK of course.

    • 4 Jessica July 21, 2009 at 5:52 am

      Trippy doesn’t even BEGIN to explain it…it is funny now because I didn’t blow anything up. I don’t think a “remember the time when the kitchen exploded” would take some time to be funny. Like, decades.

  3. 5 kkktookmybabyaway July 21, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    Oh man.

    I lived by myself in an apartment for three months. First night I went to work my 14-hour overnight jobs. I returned back. I left the gas stove on!

    • 6 Jessica July 22, 2009 at 5:53 am

      Was that your only offense? I could excuse the first time as just “oops.” After the third time… Tim realized the problem was a bit bigger than “I forgot.”

  4. 7 MyopicPsychotic July 22, 2009 at 3:09 am

    I think I have found my soul mate when it comes to technology/modern conveniences. I frequently leave the iron, oven and cooker hob turned on. I straightened my hair for a wee while (metro, eh) and I am sure I left it plugged in once or twice. I expected to come home to a pile of ashes some evening

    It sounds OK. Tim is looking after you 🙂


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


