i’m a sucker for sky pictures

I LOVE pretty scenery.  Specifically clouds.  And sunrises…sunsets… dark gray clouds with bright green trees…

What usually happens is I see a sky picture I MUST HAVE and then run to Tim with a pouty look and plead, “Please go take a picture of the sky!”

And Tim will say, “I will, just a minute.”

But that just doesn’t cut it with me when it comes to these things… and I will be all, “HUSBAND, IT IS PERFECT RIGHT.  THIS.  SECOND.  IT CANNOT WAIT.”

So, Tim, good soul he is, stops whatever HE is doing to take a picture.  Because all the manners I learned in kindergarten, like WAIT YOUR TURN, are forgotten.

This morning, I was outside with Maddie for her morning “relief” and Tim was still asleep…so I HAD to run inside and grab the camera when I looked up at the sky and saw whatever it is that results in tunnel vision and immediately blocks everything else except I MUST TAKE A PICTURE.

I ran back outside with the camera, snapped a shot and then looked down at the preview screen.

Nothing.  No picture. 

WHY NOT?  DOESN’T THE CAMERA KNOW THESE THINGS ARE ALL ABOUT TIMING?!  THE SUN DOESN’T JUST SIT AROUND WAITING.

Then I realized I forgot to put in the memory card…it was still sitting on the computer desk.

My bad.

I ran BACK inside with Maddie racing behind me trying to figure out why I AM RUNNING.  To her, people moving quickly usually means there is some kind of game involved. 

I was trying to get a few pictures before the lighting changed…because my camera skills are nowhere near professional…so it takes me fifty attempts to get one shot.  So I guess it technically was a game.

I managed to get these

Sky 1

Sky 2

Sky 3

Then Maddie decided to say “hi” to a person with headphones on, walking down the street.

And Maddie’s version of “hello” is running  as fast as her legs will carry her AT the intended victim her new friend and then JUMPING onto their chest like, “HI-MY-NAME-IS-MADDIE-DON’T-YOU-WANT-TO-PET-ME-NOW?!?!?!?”

I was SCREAMING at her to stay in her yard.  Apparently it didn’t matter today.  She didn’t hear me.  The person with headphones didn’t hear me.

It was a disaster waiting to happen.

And so I watched helplessly as Maddie raced over to the woman and said “hi,” scaring her half to death – because who is expecting a dog to just materialize out of nowhere… and then jump all over you?

I apologized profusely for Maddie’s behavior…asking the woman if was ok.

She said her daughter had a dog.  Which is code for: I’m used to getting jumped on and I like going on peaceful walks BY MYSELF to get AWAY from the constant barrage.

She’s sitting in the crate now, pouting.

Maddie – not the woman walking.

7 Responses to “i’m a sucker for sky pictures”


  1. 1 Cara-Mae July 18, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    I love sky shots too. I take a ton of them and then fill my FB albums with them when I am not taking pics of the kids and our friends.

    I actually took a couple of nice ones today :>

    I loved pic #2 of yours the most though.

    • 2 Jessica July 19, 2009 at 6:33 am

      They are so addicting! My husband will ask me if he can delete any of my fifty shots and I’m usually all, “BUT that one is DIFFERENT! See how that tiny cloud is just A LITTLE BIT to the left?” Then he’ll tell me that isn’t the cloud, but the location of the camera….

      Thanks for stopping by – you had a nice sky shot on your blog as well! Beautiful lighting!

  2. 3 Cara-Mae July 19, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    Yeah my other half does the same, and then 2 seconds later he’s encouraging me to take some more shots. Mixed messages and all that :>

    And it was reading your post that made me decide to put up my fave of the sky pics I took yesterday on my blog :>

    • 4 Jessica July 19, 2009 at 4:48 pm

      I think that’s the key to marriage…mixed messages…because what marriage isn’t fun without the, “BUT I THOUGHT YOU MEANT [fill in the blank]” 🙂

      Yea for more sky pictures! I my eyes can never get enough!

    • 6 Jessica July 21, 2009 at 4:36 pm

      Awesome pictures – thank you for sharing!! I love the one with the single tree bent towards the road and the blue sky and high clouds behind it…and the ones with the sun beams shooting out from behind the clouds. I LOVE SUN BEAMS.

  3. 7 Cara-Mae July 22, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Glad you enjoyed them :>


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


