missing: sour cream

On Tuesday we made a taco-style salad for dinner – minus the actual “taco” part…everything BUT the taco part, actually…

My job was to pull out all the “sides” like sour cream, cheese, salsa…and put them out on the counter.

I was fine with that.  I can do that.

Until I couldn’t find the sour cream. 

And I DO NOT like asking Tim to find anything I’ve been searching for because I usually just overlooked the missing item and he will inevitably ask me, “Did you even LOOK for this?”

Of course I did.  It wasn’t there before.

So I searched IN VAIN for the sour cream…I even looked in the vegetable drawer and the cheese drawer and behind the milk…in the freezer… it wasn’t anywhere. 

And I KNEW we purchased some because I JUST SAW IT the other day.

But, of course, today… it is missing.

I had to ask.

And to my amazement, Tim couldn’t find it, either. 

It was gone.  Disappeared into the great void.

So we mourned our loss and puzzled over where it went and then used greek yogurt instead.

In my book, case closed.  I didn’t give it another thought.  Things happen.  Stuff gets lost.

Then, this morning when Tim called me on his way to work,  the first thing he says to me is, “that whole sour cream thing was driving me crazy last night because I KNOW we had some.  I KNOW I wasn’t imagining things.”

Now, you have to understand, when Tim is certain of something, his brain will not rest until the answer is found.

Me: “I know.  It just vanished.  Weird.”

Tim: “No, I found it.”

Me: “Where?”

Tim: “On the dining room table.”

Me: “ON THE WHAT?”

Tim, ignoring my shock: “Remember when I was taking pictures for the grocery app?  Well, I took out the sour cream and never put it back.”

This grocery app picture taking thing happened on SUNDAY.

We had sour cream SITTING OUT for two days.

And NO ONE NOTICED.

8 Responses to “missing: sour cream”


    • 2 Jessica July 16, 2009 at 6:34 am

      Not enough to notice…I’m not sure what that says about the preservatives…fresh food usually doesn’t last long when not refrigerated…

  1. 3 lifestartsnow July 16, 2009 at 11:45 am

    i tend to overlook things as well – life, chapter closed.

    franzi

  2. 4 Ching Ya July 16, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    It’s one of those ‘A-Ha!’ moments. ^^
    I had a fun time reading this, imagining myself with the similar situation with the ‘thing’ I was looking for sitting still on the living room table, while I ransacked pretty much every corner of the house. It happens. We just thought ‘no way’ it’s going to be that easy, yet it is.

    @wchingya
    Social/Blogging Tracker

    • 5 Jessica July 17, 2009 at 6:33 am

      It always seems like you miss the MOST OBVIOUS place – not necessarily the place one would think the object is supposed to go… but a location you look at or walk by EVERY SINGLE DAY.

  3. 6 kkktookmybabyaway July 16, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Last year I left some chicken breasts out in the basement on top of the washing machine. Man did the basement smell awful.

  4. 8 Alex James July 17, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    This happens to me CONSTANTLY. My life is in a never-ending state of “oh shit, where was I supposed to be right now” and “what did I forget”. Sunglasses are the worst. I’m incredibly light-sensitive — I need those damn glasses. And it’s as though Murphy follows me around — if it’s night time, there they are. Blinding summer days when I’m running behind (as usual)? Nowhere to be found.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


