picking out my favorites lends to guilt…

I have this really bad habit.

I pick out the pieces of things that I particularly enjoy.

Like in mixed nuts I’ll pick out all the almonds or in Lucky Charms I’ll pick out marshmallows…

It isn’t a bad habit to ME…but to anyone else who wants cookie dough ice cream with cookie dough…not so enjoyable.

Because the cookie dough part has already been eaten.

This isn’t something new.  I’ve been at this for a LONG time.

My vice as a child was Moose Tracks ice cream.  I’d dig through the carton and pick out the mini peanut butter cups and chocolate ribbon pieces and put them into my bowl of ice cream…or I’d grab a spoon and the carton and pick through to find my heavenly peanut butter pieces.

Because without the peanut butter cups and the chocolate ribbons…it’s just plain vanilla ice cream.  And I’m no fan of that.

Jeff really liked Moose Tracks, too.  Almost as much as me.

One afternoon we were sitting at the kitchen table with a bowl of the stuff and all of a sudden, Jeff drops his spoon, stops eating and looks at me with utter shock and disbelief on his face, smiling like he had just discovered THE BEST KEPT SECRET OF ALL TIME.

“Jessica!  Did you know that they put THESE in HERE?!?” 

He opens his mouth and shows me a mini peanut butter cup, melting  on his tongue.

I was all, “Yea! Of course!  Haven’t you had one before??”

He shakes his head no and then continues to savor his lone chocolate peanut butter treasure amongst all the vanilla.

Talk about a guilt trip.

I cut myself off from digging for moose tracks – cold turkey.  No more spoonfuls, no more piles of peanut butter cups.

We had been buying that ice cream for YEARS.

And that was the FIRST TIME Jeff experienced the namesake of the ice cream.

5 Responses to “picking out my favorites lends to guilt…”


  1. 1 Breeza July 13, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    I pick out the cookie dough too but then I eat the ice cream. Good thing I stopped buying it although there is no one else who would eat it anyways.
    And when I was a kid, I picked out all the marshmallows from Lucky Charms–so delicious.

  2. 3 Shannon July 13, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I thought that was the most amazing thing about moving out of my parents. There was no one to tell me I was wasting. I could just eat the berries in my captain crunch berries and the marshmallows in my lucky charms. I could pick out the cookie dough in the ice cream! My food was mine to eat as I pleased with no one to holler. Sometimes inpolite and rude but I do it!

    • 4 Jessica July 14, 2009 at 11:40 am

      I remember my first night alone in my college dorm…and I needed to go to the store for something. I stood there in my half-finished room, thinking “I don’t have to TELL ANYONE I am LEAVING?? ” such a freeing moment.

  3. 5 Shannon July 14, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    First of all for awhil they made just berries wtihout the captain crunch and it was wonderful. Who told them to stop, I don’t know? I completely remember that feeling in college too. “you mean no one knows?!”


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


