why didn’t i think of that?!

We went to a wedding last night.  A family friend, from when everyone was waddling around in diapers, got married.

This was her guest book.

Guest Book

Everyone got to paint a square on the canvas as their “signature” (that’s me painting mine).

That is only The. Most. Creative. Idea.

EVER.

After I saw it I kept commenting on how much I liked it.  My brother, Jeff, painted the picture in black and put thin, penciled grid lines like a paint-by-number so we all knew where to paint.

Tim looked over at me after my tenth time of gushing over it and was all, “You’re just jealous of her guest book.”

No…not jealous.  Insanely Envious.  Kicking myself repeatedly for not thinking of something unique like that for our wedding.

This was what it looked liked BEFORE everyone started painting with brother Jeff in the picture.

Jeff & Painting

After a few more minutes of drooling over the idea, we were ushered outside by one of the worker-bees.  I understand they have a job to do…I do…I’ve been there and have been bossed around at my own reception by the Wedding Coordinator Nazi (not you, Michelle, you were awesome) – but there is a nicer, less harsh way to ask us to go outside for the ceremony other than to make us believe we just committed a heinous crime because we are not already seated and sitting up straight and behaving like perfect little angels.

Using “please” would be a good place to start.

Tim, Jeff, my two other brothers, Mason and Troy and I were shooed outside like we had just been scolded.  We found an empty row…because we are five strong and need an ENTIRE row…and were then joined by two of Jeff’s friends.  However, once the seats started filling around us, we realized we didn’t KNOW anyone…then looked across the aisle and saw the error of our ways.

We were on the groom’s side as friends of the bride.

We stayed anyway…because that’s just how we are…and who will even remember that we SAT ON THE WRONG SIDE?  If they do, it will be completely acceptable because our family is known for NOT following directions but instead going along to the beat of our own drum.  At this point it has become common knowledge to all those who know us and those who don’t catch on pretty quickly.  If we want to go in the door designated as “out” or speak out of turn or run around naked or wear moccasins instead of dress shoes to a wedding, we’re doing it, as Jeff demonstrated clearly during the ceremony last night.

Shoes - Jeff

We made the time-before-the-ceremony-begins-and-everyone-is-waiting-in-anticipation pass by making the guitar player – a brother of the family-friend bride – lose his solemn face, stop playing, duck his head below the music-reader stand, shove his face behind his hands and start laughing.

Oops.

Where was my mom when during all the ruckus?  

She was the minister.

Mom

She didn’t toil through seminary school to become a lifelong minister.  She became one JUST for this wedding and enjoyed it so much that during the reception declared that all unwedded must immediately join in holy matrimony and SHE WILL BE THE ONE WHO FOREVER BINDS THIS UNION.  AMEN.

Jeff almost ended up in an arranged marriage to a friend-since-diapers-turned-party-girl had the bride and groom not walked into the reception and interrupted the parental discussion regarding minor details, like waiving dependent consent.

Congratulations, Emily and Zach.  We wish you the best. Your wedding was absolutely beautiful.

And, by the way, I’m stealing your guest book idea for Tim and my 5-year anniversary.

Your first dance song was the same as ours. 

And we got married two years ago.

Fair’s fair.

6 Responses to “why didn’t i think of that?!”


  1. 1 lifestartsnow July 12, 2009 at 9:51 am

    i LOVE this idea! this is beyond creative – no wedding in sight for me, but i’ll remember this! 🙂

    franzi

  2. 3 Mom 2 July 18, 2009 at 10:51 am

    That was a fun evening! Anyone out there who needs a minister to wed…. I’m available!

    • 4 Jessica July 18, 2009 at 11:04 am

      MOM! YEA! This is my amazing, wonderful mom, everyone. 🙂

      Wait – edited to say: When did you learn how to comment on blogs? Wow. I’m impressed.

  3. 5 GinaBina July 18, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Well Jessica. . . here I am as instructed !! Love your “telling” of the wedding, it was a beautiful one and unique, I loved it! Ross has the same shoes as Jeff, can’t believe there are two people I know with those shoes. . .sorry Jeff and Ross, but those are UGLY shoes! Is your mom looking for a husband, because that’s what it sounds like ~ Sorry Rachel, couldn’t resist!

    • 6 Jessica July 18, 2009 at 8:05 pm

      Thanks for visiting!! 🙂 Did you find the flickr link on the side??

      As for the shoes….tell me about it. WOW. To a wedding, no less.

      And as for my mom…I think she just wants to MAKE boys into husbands…sounds like her forte… 🙂


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


