the container store

Do you have one of these?

Well if you don’t – no worries.  They’re online.

Even though actually LOOKING and TOUCHING the stuff is so much better.  I’m more tangible than “imagine how this would look and feel and fit into your imaginary cart.”

A warning to those who consider themselves organized: do not go here – online or on foot.

Because I consider myself an organized-each-item-has-an-up-place kind of person and no one told me what kind of grenade field I was about to walk through before I made the mistake of suggesting we visit the store with the unassuming name. 

It isn’t like it’s called the Re-Organize Your LIFE Store.  The Container Store gives no indication of what the interior of its walls are really all about.

I cannot live their “An Organized Home is a Happy Home” motto when I STILL NEED A LETTER BOX and COLORED CODED LABELS and SIX DIFFERENT TYPES OF DRAWER ORGANIZERS.

Oh the things they have to make every space in your house UNCLUTTERED.

Five minutes in the Container Store will send you on a downward spiral.   You  will quickly realize that you really aren’t organized at all.  You don’t even know what it MEANS to be organized.  That you’re really a disgusting, slobby mess who cannot seem to get her act together.  The rows and rows of organizy-items mock you and taunt you, laughing at you because you do not have a special drying hanger for your panties and instead result to laying them out on the dryer.

FINE.  I bought one. 

SO WHAT. 

I couldn’t take the brow-beating anymore.  The “why-have-you-never-purchased-one-of-these-don’t-you-know-how-VITAL-it-is-to-have-one?” guilt.

Now all my little undergarmets have a space to call their own, suspended far above the hot, nasty, unsanitary dryer.

And Tim’s ties have their own hanger.  And makeup has its own little tray and the individual tea packets have a box to sit in all nice and snug and our spices have a rack instead of being thrown into a pull-out drawer where all we can see are the tops… so when we need the cinnamon we pick up and put down jar after jar until we find it – because it is never the first one we grab. If that ever happens, we’re playing the lottery because selecting the right spice jar on the first try is IMPOSSIBLE.

But now with our new spice rack WITH LABELS…we’ll never have to guess again.  They’ll be all nice and organized.

However, we can forget about being behind the organized-house-eight-ball…we can’t even SEE IT.

4 Responses to “the container store”


  1. 1 Shannon July 7, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    I’m laughing reading this because I’m also the complete organized person until I walk into a store like that and the panic sets in. I fall for it all the time. Suddenly I’m buying more containers than I ever thought possible. But it feels so refreshing when you place the extra batteries in their spot in the drawer instead of them rolling all over creation.

    • 2 Jessica July 8, 2009 at 1:56 pm

      I had to stop in the middle of racing down the aisles and throwing things into the cart and tell myself, “If you SEE something around the house that could use help from the Container Store now that you’ve had this organization reality check, THEN you may come back to purchase said item.” Or I would have walked out with half the store.

  2. 3 Lauren July 8, 2009 at 10:09 am

    This post is hilarious. I totally get where you are coming from. For some reason, I feel the opposite when walking into The Container Store… all those neatly lined rows and so much SPACE! I feel like I am in organized heaven and just decide to succumb to at least one environment where everything has a place (because lord knows it’s not my apartment!).

    • 4 Jessica July 8, 2009 at 1:54 pm

      I wish I had your gumption….I’ve yet to recover from the experience….I keep looking around thinking, “yea…I COULD USE [insert organize item from the Container Store from hell] OF THOSE!”


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


