i got promoted. yea?

I never write about work.  Actually, I think there is ONE other post about it.  That’s it.

I don’t like to mix the two…because work is a draining, mundane experience that I loathe.

And I like my blog…so why ruin it with the other part of my life that takes up…80% of my week?

But this is a special occasion that deserves recognition. 

 A promotion. 

 A step up.

An acknowledgment that yes, we know that you’ve been doing the “work” required of a Registrar for A YEAR. 

With no extra pay.  No raise.  Nothing.

Just do the job and rearrange your life and your schedule because we say so.

Oh – and remember to smile.

Fast forward to Monday when I was told that I’ll finally get the promotion and “official” title of Registrar on July 6th.

And here, to make it EXTRA SPECIAL since we know that you’ll now be working 50+ hours a week, we’ll up your pay by $3000 spread over the next 365 days.

Just for good measure.

Even though a Registrar typically earns…around $8000 to $10,000 MORE than what I currently make.

So they shorted my salary $5000 – $7000.

But I’m supposed to be excited about the promotion.  About the pay.  About dealing with MORE shit and working an additional billion hours for around $100 more per paycheck.

Sorry about not jumping up and down and screaming with joy.

I’d rather keep my old job, old title and be maxed at 40 hours a week.  At least I have some semblance of a life with that.

Where I work…those I deal with on a daily basis have been there since the school OPENED.  So everyone is set in THEIR way of doing something and suggesting a change – something as simple as asking for all the approval signatures to be completed BEFORE a request comes to me so I can actually process the change – is like starting World War III.  I think the response I got was, “But I have to go and CHASE people!  And that is too HARD.”

I told them I wouldn’t process it until all the signatures were there.  Period.

No one actually wants to DO their job.  They just like to complain about other people NOT doing theirs.  And when something needs to be done at the last minute – because no one seems to want to PLAN…they prefer procrastination – it is an all out emergency and EVERYTHING MUST STOP until said task is complete because it was supposed to be done a week ago and they just forgot.

I told Tim he better enjoy my company this weekend…because I’m going to end up with a cot in my office and bathing in the sink.

4 Responses to “i got promoted. yea?”


  1. 1 Sarah July 3, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Yeah, I’d turn down that promotion SO FAST. Of course, I’m two seconds away from being able to quit my job that I hate, so I’m not a good one to give advice :).

    Congrats?

  2. 3 kkktookmybabyaway July 4, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    “So everyone is set in THEIR way of doing something and suggesting a change…”

    Ohhhh, man.

    Are you salary or hourly? I’ve never had a salaried job and I don’t care to start.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


