my idea of ironing is the dryer

I hate ironing more than I hate doing laundry.  And that’s saying something.

When I go shopping, I will search out clothes that don’t need to be ironed.  Because if they need to BE ironed then they will not BE WORN unless Tim offers to iron for me… which isn’t often, because even he, KING OF THE IRON, has a hard time with them.  You see, Tim can iron so well even his mother liked him to iron her clothes because his creases were so crisp and perfect.

I don’t even attempt that kind of advanced maneuver when I iron.  I tried once and ended up with about four separate creases all within a centimeter apart from each other…never could figure out how to get the iron on the SAME crease each time.

Tim irons EVERY MORNING.  I have no idea how he stays sane.  Probably because his clothes are straight and easy to iron.  Women’s clothes, on the other hand, are all crooked and curvy and every time I try to iron the front I wrinkle the side because it folds over on itself.

Stupid design, really.

But, because of my severe aversion to the iron, I have a closet FULL of great shirts for work…but I never wear them because to do that  means I have to use the iron.

And I don’t like the iron.

DSC_5177smaller

But this weekend, I decided to take action and iron EVERY LAST SHIRT.  I have no idea why because it was one of the most regrettable ideas I’ve ever had.  Worse even than trying to carry home a broken bike while I was still wearing a surgical boot from foot surgery (Why was I even ON a bike in a boot? No reason, really.  Just felt like riding my bike…)  My little project only took an entire day and a gallon of water for the steam option because the wrinkles have been so deeply set.

I  mean really, I’ll just be wrinkled.

Or I’ll wear spandex.  That doesn’t wrinkle.

3 Responses to “my idea of ironing is the dryer”


  1. 1 Breeza June 23, 2009 at 12:37 am

    I’m with you. I hate ironing.

  2. 2 Sarah@callmemama June 23, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Haha…I completely agree. I have 4 or 5 shirts that I haven’t worn in TWO years sitting in my closet because I don’t want to iron them in the morning. I will however, iron my husband’s shirts for him every now and then all in one big bunch. It takes me about 3 hours, but I put on a good movie and it’s sorta enjoyable I guess. Saves us on a drycleaning bill…so it’s a little bit worth it, but still doesn’t happen more than once or twice every six months :).

    • 3 Jessica June 23, 2009 at 2:35 pm

      WOW. That’s committment. I iron on RARE occasion for Tim…but it ends up taking me triple the time because I try to get the creases all perfect…


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


